We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$108
PricelineUS$107
Hotels.comUS$108
TravelocityUS$108
Orbitz.comUS$108
HurbUS$111
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,022)
Filter reviews
1,022 results
Traveller rating
337
371
199
80
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
337
371
199
80
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retail park stayed here city centre reception area lovely hotel ireland taxis castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,022 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2022 via mobile

Clean hotel with a really cosy bar and outdoor seating area. Check in and out was fast and friendly. The room was fairly average but the bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was good!! Breakfast was buffet with a good tasty selection, the coffee was nice.

Room tip: Located in a retail park with plenty of parking. It’s a spin to town or a good walk, nothing else really close by.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Bosschops89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 March 2022

First of all, let me mention the staff were top notch! We got into Ireland very early in the am, and were exhausted from our travel from the US. The hotel was wonderful about accommodating us and letting us check in early. This allowed us to take a nap before checking out the surrounding area and activities of Kilkenny. The restaurant and bar in the hotel were superb! Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kjlimoges
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 March 2022 via mobile

Horrible customer experience. Front desk attendant almost double charged me for the stay. She handed me the handheld credit card machine to pay when she should have directly charged hotels.com. Turned me off quite a bit. Be wary of employees that maybe don’t know how to fully do their jobs.

Room was ok, spacious, clean, no central air, but you can hear everything.

Room tip: The best quality is ample parking.
Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jennleef03
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 March 2022 via mobile

We don't live very far from Kilkenny but decided to book The Hoban for a 2 night getaway due to how reasonable the prices are. "You get what you pay for" certainly doesn't apply here.

The rooms are nice and the beds are really comfortable. The staff through from check in, to the bar/restaurant, and housekeeping are all very polite, friendly and chatty. We booked direct with the hotel and because of that we were given a voucher for the bar for a complimentary drink, which we thought was a really nice touch.

We had dinner included on one night and the food was very tasty with massive portions. Breakfast was lovely too. All self service, including the tea/coffee. They have a coffee machine that makes cappuccinos, lattes, hot chocolate etc and the coffee from it is very good. As well as the usual hot buffet, they have a lovely selection of cereals, pastries and freshly baked scones.

The sound proofing in the hotel is very good and we were never disturbed by other guests. The hotel is set in a little retail park with a few shops, but the city center itself is only a 5 minute drive, so definitely well located..

We were due to go away to another part of the country in a few weeks, but instead we have canceled and booked into The Hoban again. We can't wait to return.

Room tip: Book direct with the hotel to get a complimentary drink voucher
Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ClaireTagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 January 2022 via mobile

Great hotel, warm and welcoming with clean rooms and all covid protocols adhered to. Credit to all the staff, friendly and helpful, food was excellent and location was just outside the town centre (15 minutes walk) will return. We'll worth a visit

Room tip: Plenty of parking, only 15 minutes walk to kilkenny centre, 5 mins in a taxi.
Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lcpp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews