We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant fun river adventure

Went on a hen party river adventure - in Canadian canoes and sit on kayaks - such fun with only one... read more

Reviewed 11 October 2018
Sonya S
,
Wexford, Ireland
Amazing Adventure on our First Trip to Ireland!

My husband and I spent an afternoon paddling down the Barrow River with Charlie and Nathan as... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2018
vlbkennedy
,
Uxbridge, Canada
Read all 186 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kilkenny
from US$40.29
More Info
from US$17.27
More Info
from US$17.27
More Info
from US$16.12
More Info
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
177
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great fun canoeing experience wild camping amazing adventure canadian canoe life jackets and helmets excellent safety dry bags double lock clean changing rooms capable hands safe hands stag weekend fabulous location beautiful nature great morning all ages
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The barrow river is fantastically beautiful place to canoe, especially if you a fond nature, peace and quiet, and woodlands. Between St. Mullins and New Ross the woodland banks are especially beautiful with ancient trees touching the waters edge on both sides, it feels like a trip back in Ireland's history. Further upsteam between Borris and St. Mullins we had fun navigating the locks and saw 4 kingfishers along the way. Charlie (the boat owner) was also extremely helpful and friendly, and I would recommend this company and trip to anyone. We had a great time, despite a rainy Sunday which you can see in the photo!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank kellyr123199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Go With The Flow - River Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Hi Kellyr ..... Thank you so much for your positive review regarding your canoe camping adventure last weeekend. Well done to ye for sticking with it. A true test of your adventurous spirit and character. Delighted to hear you got to see so much of the Kingfishers. I believe a tour of the NORE might be next. Looking forward to it. Cheers, Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

My teenage son and I had a wonderful weekend in early Sept canoeing on the Barrow. Charlie supplied the canoe and wet gear and we brought the food and camping stuff. The Barrow is majestic and we negotiated the many locks with excitement. A brilliant way to see the peace and quiet of thew river and a good work out too. Thoroughly recommend.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank jondub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Go With The Flow - River Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Hi John

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive review - much appreciated. I hope you can make it down again next year for a bit of R n R and a few spills and thrills also.

Kindest regards, Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I decided as best man to do something a little different and exciting for my brothers stag do, and boy, I was not disappointed - nor was he! It was a miserably wet day on an August bank holiday weekend, so a better activity we could not have done! The guys made us all feel so comfortable and at ease managing the canoes and being out on the water, you can tell that they have a real passion for it.The lads all spoke highly about the activity afterwards, and it set the mood at a great level for the night ahead! The equipment was all supplied and all we needed were a pair of old runners, shorts and top. Paddling down the river Barrow was lovely, and im sure even better on a good day in terms of seeing the sights! But we were being kept busy trying to hold on as we ventured the manageable rapids and trying to avoid someone flipping us out of our boat!! Once again, a fantastic experience and one I would highly recommend - thanks lads for creating a memorable experience! Gerry and the Cavan Stag group!

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank GerryAug2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a great morning with Charlie who is an enthusiast for what he does. The whole thing was a great mix of excitement and serenity. Charlie was good at instructing you on what to do and building your confidence. It is a very beautiful section of the Barrow River and there is interesting history about the river and the canal system here that he tells you about as you go along. It was a great way to feel connected to the natural beauty of Ireland and we did it after a hectic few days in Dublin and I felt it really helped us relax into our holiday in a good way.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank travel14childs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful and highly enjoyable day paddling along the beautiful River Barrow with Charlie. He supplied us with all the required equipment and very patiently upskilled us so that we were able to descend the weirs (without capsizing). Not only is he a very good teacher, but he is also very easy to get along with. As well as this, he has a deep knowledge of the natural and cultural heritage of the area that he shares in a very engaging manner along the way. Journeying along the river with him gave us the opportunity to really see, hear and experience its many riches. If you want to take a break from the bustle of your everyday life, paddle a canoe with Charlie.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David H, Owner at Go With The Flow - River Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi Neil

Thank you for your review and encouragement. As always it was my pleasure. Hopefully the next time you might stay a little longer and enjoy a night under the stars with the murmuring river flowing gently past your camp fire. Until then ...... happy adventures, Charlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews