We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant staff, delightful food, drinks and music”

Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 233 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: US$10 - US$31
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant is a perfect location for your meal, private parties and festive occasions. We offer lunch, dinner, lite bites, pizzas as well as an extensive drinks menu, with a high service standards that we strive to deliver in every area of our operation. Recently awarded Ireland's Best Music Pub...We have Traditional Irish Music every evening along with more music on select nights of the week. For private parties, we can put any one of our five bars at your disposal and we are happy to do as much, or as little as you need us to do to make your party a huge success. Every effort is made to ensure that our extensive menus of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages are constantly updated to make sure that every taste is catered for. Our extensive food menu is also available at the bars. So, whatever you're looking for and whenever you want it - you can rest assured that it's waiting for you at Matt the Millers' Main Bar.
Reviewed 24 November 2022 via mobile

Three in our party, had stew, steak and burger. Drinks and food were served promptly with a smile from a young man who told me he was from north Kilkenny. There was a duo playing Irish music in the background and were not too loud, we could have a chat without shouting but the choice of folk/Irish music was delightful. We could spent an evening listening to them. A lady came round to check if everything was fine. Well the food in all three cases was delicious, the stew one of our party loved, as far as the steak goes the taste of the brandy/pepper sauce was also quite pleasant. Three empty plates went back. All in all this was a most pleasant experience after a long drive heading home.

Date of visit: November 2022
2  Thank kittytwister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2022

Fabulous place, good food and a great atmosphere. We were there quite early and they had a folkish duo playing. Food was good and a good choice on the menu.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JanetSmith95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 3 November 2022

food was nice but small flies over our heads chasing around the lights .service and food were good so would call in again

Date of visit: September 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shellsirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

Busy night, 5pm on the festival weekend. We (a party of 5 ) arrive for a drink, lady that met us at the door said ‘oh yes, you can just sit at the bar and order a drink’ excellent, we thought, found a lovely space at the end of the bar. Shortly after we got ourselves settled we tried to get catch the barman’s eye …. No joy ! In fairness he was busy …. Not very long after we arrived 2 parties of ‘hens’ arrived … all happy in their fine attire that those who are young and gorgeous can wear … we, however, are not young and gorgeous! But we are thirsty ! Barman continues to ignore us and goes ahead and serves all the young hot ladies …. These older ‘hot and bothered’ ladies get a little frustrated and start waving at the barman … seriously, we’re 10 minutes waiting at this point ….. so the barman (let’s call him ‘grumpy’ to ensure we don’t get confused) marches over, and I mean strongly marches over and only thing he says …. I kid you not ‘I suggest if you want to get served, do not wave at the barman…. It’s very rude, just don’t ever wave’ …..SERIOUSLY, are you kidding me …… we look at him in totally shock, can’t believe he just said that … he walked away … yes he actually walked away ! And not ten seconds later, over grumpy strolls and says ‘what do you want’ no politeness, not a sign of an apology nada …. My pal orders a drink and politely informs grumpy ‘you made me feel like a 2 year old’ …. He didn’t acknowledge the comment, didn’t say a word ! So I say to you ‘Mr Grumpy’ if you wish to work in the service industry, wind your neck in, have a little respect and even a little acknowledgement when a customer comes in, just to let them know you’ve seen them, you’ll get to them as soon as you can ! Until this ‘grumpy’ is no longer behaving like a total prat we will not return ! Happy to report we went up the road to the Left Bank, which was mental busy, spent an obscene amount of money and not once were we treated to anything but good service and great drinks ! Despite being run off their feet the staff were brilliant ! I shall now pop over and leave them an amazing review !

Shame I couldn’t do this for Matt the Miller

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 October 2022

We ate here twice. It was all good tasting food at good prices.
We tried the (Fish/Chips), (Stuff Chicken wrapped in Bacon Specialty), (Chicken Pesto Pizza), & (Vegetable Soup). We truly enjoyed all of it. Happened to have the same waitress. She was delightful and helpful.
The music playing both nights was authentic and peaceful.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank brianlZ9297HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.