We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great spot for food and drinks!”

Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 230 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant is a perfect location for your meal, private parties and festive occasions. We offer lunch, dinner, lite bites, pizzas as well as an extensive drinks menu, with a high service standards that we strive to deliver in every area of our operation. Recently awarded Ireland's Best Music Pub...We have Traditional Irish Music every evening along with more music on select nights of the week. For private parties, we can put any one of our five bars at your disposal and we are happy to do as much, or as little as you need us to do to make your party a huge success. Every effort is made to ensure that our extensive menus of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages are constantly updated to make sure that every taste is catered for. Our extensive food menu is also available at the bars. So, whatever you're looking for and whenever you want it - you can rest assured that it's waiting for you at Matt the Millers' Main Bar.
Reviewed 23 September 2021 via mobile

We only spent one night in Kilkenny and we were so glad we chose here for food and drinks. The food was delicious and the cocktails and beer were superb. The staff were very friendly too and it’s definitely worth a visit if you are in Kilkenny. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: September 2021
3  Thank IanKir90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,946)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

I’ve visited a few times since the reopening and it’s great to be back inside the doors !! Food , although the menu is smaller not surprisingly, and service is still excellent as always !! I missed the ever welcoming Karina on each occasion but John , Anna and Alan were very accommodating and welcoming !! This industry has had a tough 18 months and are still running on reduced hours but the crew in Matt’s are doing a great job under the circumstances. Well done one and all !!

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank KKgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

We were just waiting for the table that had been promised to us 2 minutes ago, and the waiter just finally decided not to accept us because one of us (the only irish guy) was looking « too drunk for him », what really was not true, at all. (He didn’t even get the chance to say anything) We were so disapointed because we chose that bar thanks to comments on trip advisor… we are very diapointed because we had a very good time 2 hours ago at that same bar… definitely never coming back in that bar again

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank gemeau1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattTheMillers, Owner at Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hi There!

We are very sorry to hear you had a bad experience here at Matt the Millers. We want all of our customers to have a pleasant experience and this is not the service we aim to provide. If you are ever in the area again we would love the opportunity to make it up to you and we hope your next experience will be much better.

Kind Regards,
Matt the Millers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2021 via mobile

Very disappointing, had been before but this time menu didn’t resemble one advertised, Covid blamed but this should have been changed in website, Matts Platter was served, clearly over cooked, ,prawns, chicken crispy and tasteless ,potato wedges cold and I tasty, did tell waitress and subsequently waiter, both said sorry but didn’t demonstrate any level of concern ! Kilkenny has lots of choice and on this quality Matt’s doesn’t meet basic standard unfortunately! Won’t be back and we do visit this city fairly frequently !Wouldn’t recommend to anyone unfortunately although the two members of staff were very nice and friendly but that’s not enough!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Seaside319489
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2021

The place was recommended to us, but we left after one drink. Had planned on staying for food, but our drinks were poor - especially my Guinness! we left and had
dinner at a restaurant a few minutes walk from there. Wont be going back

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
Thank X7242SKkend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.