We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs flavoured by Irish music”

Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 229 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant is a perfect location for your meal, private parties and festive occasions. We offer lunch, dinner, lite bites, pizzas as well as an extensive drinks menu, with a high service standards that we strive to deliver in every area of our operation. Recently awarded Ireland's Best Music Pub...We have Traditional Irish Music every evening along with more music on select nights of the week. For private parties, we can put any one of our five bars at your disposal and we are happy to do as much, or as little as you need us to do to make your party a huge success. Every effort is made to ensure that our extensive menus of both alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages are constantly updated to make sure that every taste is catered for. Our extensive food menu is also available at the bars. So, whatever you're looking for and whenever you want it - you can rest assured that it's waiting for you at Matt the Millers' Main Bar.
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

This is a great place to eat, it's a huge bar. Prices are middle ranged for Portugal, good beer and the ribs are five stars. My boyfriend had the beef stew and it was also very tasty. After 6pm they have Irish live music. Definitely would eat gere again.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank HelenaN833
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (1,955)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 347 of 1,955 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2018

On our landlady's recommendation we wended our way across the bridge from the castle to Matt the Miller's bar to sample our first pint of Guiness which proved to be the best of our trip. The staff were delightful and full of Irish Blarney, even our Spanish waiter! A duo played and sang some familiar Irish tunes adding to the ambiance. Although we didn't eat there, the food being eaten by other customers looked and smelled very good. Really good craic!

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat and listen to some live music, and this was recommended by the lady at the visitors center. We had a good pub meal, then left and came back later for the music. Place was packed by then, but managed to grab a few chairs and eventually a table. Band was excellent, traditional Irish music that really got the crowd going.
Now almost everyone was drinking Guinness, but if you’re looking for something different try Irish Gunpowder Gin... makes a great gin and tonic.
Highly recommend Matt’s.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank brandall0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Our food was excellent and acceptably priced. We saw the regular musicians Wallop the Cat and really enjoyed their traditional music. Warm atmosphere here.

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank VJS4369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Popped in on a wet Sunday afternoon for a Guinness and we had a roast beef dinner. The food was lovely, great cut of beef and a beautiful Yorkshire pudding. Good buzzy atmosphere in the pub as well, would recommend.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Amyls86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Matt The Millers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.