We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaplins B&B

Chaplins B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chaplins B&B
Ranked #46 of 77 Kilkenny B&B and Inns
cork
1 review
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Chaplins was recommended by a friend its was everything she had said and more! We felt so welcome the minute we stepped in, so accomadating, relaxed and friendly! Rooms where very nice and breakfast was fab. Location is perfect just a little outside the city near shops for those small things we all forget! Was brill to be able to come and go as we pleased Would definatly stay there again!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyfunCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    6
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

Stayed for one night as a single person. Room was comfortable and clean but small, and bathroom could have been cleaner. House is a veritable warren of steps, stairs, doors and corners although some rooms are on ground floor so anyone with mobility issues should check this out before staying.
What was striking was the complete lack of interpersonal skills in any of the four people I dealt with during my stay. Not one person showed any interest in me, whether I was happy with things, nor did they volunteer any form of assistance. Hello, Goodbye, Thanks or other such pleasantries were simply not in the vocabulary. I find it quite disappointing that this is the sort of hospitality that we as a country are offering. The multitude of signs warning me against eating in my room, wearing pyjamas or slippers in the dining room, breaking anything, when I must check out by, etc didn't add much warmth. This stretch of road is full of B+B's, chances are that most of these would be more hospitable.

  • Liked — Off street parking
  • Disliked — Poor atmosphere, lack of courtesy and friendliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheThickPlottens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

If you're looking for a bare-bones B&B (a place to sleep and a place to eat breakfast), Chaplin's is serviceable. It's located a mile or so outside of city center, and the walk is tolerable but uninspiring, and a bit sketchy after 10 p.m. I was traveling alone through Ireland, and as a single woman I was made to feel comfortable under their roof. However, the of the three single beds in my room, the one I chose to sleep in was so uncomfortable I had to switch to another at 3 a.m. in order to get any sleep. Then, at breakfast, I found that a bite had been taken out of one of the slices of brown bread served in the bread basket. Two days after checking out, I received an email from the hostess that accused me of sneaking in an extra guest and *not hiding the evidence* (referring to the two unmade beds) and threatening to "file a complaint" about me to the travel agency. Overall, there are enough lodging options in the area that I'd recommend looking elsewhere first, and opting for Chaplin's after other choices have been exhausted. Sure, you'll have a roof over your head, but mild unpleasantries are likely.

  • Liked — The location, the minimal single supplement, the cat
  • Disliked — See my review
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LedaHorticulture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2007

This was my first B&B experience and it wasn't what I thought it should be. We get there about an hour late because I planned the trip in the states without knowing how long it would take to get from one place to another. When arrived we had to stand outside in the rain for about another 30 minutes because she wasn't there. When we get in there are signs everywhere telling us what we couldn't do. They ranged from telling us not to enter a room to how to use the blides. I didn't find it welcoming at all. Although, I did enjoy the fact that she had a cat, but beware if you have allergies.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank carafantastic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2006

Stayed there for a weekend and the host was very welcoming, the food was beautiful, we did not have any restrictions about coming and going. Also we were always given good advice about where to go with regards to restaurants, pubs sights to be seen etc. Would definitely recommend this fine establishments to friends and family alike. Very reasonably priced too.

Definitely look this place up if going to stay in Kilkenny!!

  • Liked — Friendliness of the host family in the B&B
  • Disliked — The rain outside for half a day!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring an umbrella!!
  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny_Unitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
1.8 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
3.5 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.2 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
2.6 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
9.6 km away
Newlands Country House B&B
Newlands Country House B&B
#10 of 77 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaplins B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaplins B&B

Property: Chaplins B&B
Address: Chaplin's Castlecomer Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chaplins B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing