We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent rooms..”
Review of Hotel Kilkenny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kilkenny
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms..”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was an overnight stay. We arrived early and expected a wait for our room. But no, at 12:30-13:00hrs the room was available straight away which was appreciated after a rainy ride from Dublin.
The bar food (Pure Bar) was very good. had a cooked lunch and a later sandwich later that day.
The Breakfact was my only disappointment. It seemed like the contents were on the cheaper side. Hence the rating was not "Excellent"
Would stay there again...

Room Tip: We stayed in room 236? Has a small outside balcony. Very useful for a breather....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJD1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments, we appreciate all feedback and I will ensure that our Chef is made aware of your comments with regards to breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Kilkenny again very soon

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    573
    266
    101
    52
See reviews for
404
867
51
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

No problems with this hotel, except after staying in the WoodenBridge Hotel ( a hotel with character)last night, this was just another cloned hotel... same....same..same, functional, really no problems .. just not for us.

Room Tip: Really cant comment as I am sure that they must be all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest,
I am genuinely surprised to hear that you think our Hotel is without character, the old house section of Hotel Kilkenny which plays host to our Pure Bar and some small meeting rooms, dates back to the early 1800's and in 2006 we married this old house to the new section which is now the main entrance of the 4* Hotel Kilkenny and it encompasses our 138 guest bedrooms, Restaurant and Conference suites that can accommodate over 800 guests.
The Team at Hotel Kilkenny's daily focus is to ensure our Guests receive the very best customer service at all times and as you have given us 5 stars for our customer service I think you probably saw this first hand.
Many thanks for your feedback.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed in Hotel kilkenny for a 3 night weekend break. We got a really good deal so I wasn't expecting too much to be honest. We were so suprised! We ended up having dinner in the restaurant 2 nights in a row as the food was a really high standard. The waiting staff were very professional but we still had a bit of fun with them. I usually hate hotel breakfasts - (mountains of food left sitting in hot trays etc) but we were delighted to discover that they make your breakfast to order each morning & you have a few options too which are served to your table. The bar had music on the Friday & saturday night and it was nice and comfortable to relax in after dinner......eventhough I am pregnant i was still happy to sit there for the night while my boyfriend had a few pints! We used the leisure centre after breakfast every day which is lovely, it had a big stone effect wall with water jets coming out of it which is a nice touch, dressing rooms were spotless too. To top it all off Kilkenny is a great town - lots of outdoors things to do too like Dunmore Caves, Discovery park and of course The Castle were amoung the few things we did on our weekend. So all and all, a great success of a weekend and we will definitely be recommending Hotel Kilkenny to friends and can't wait to return for another break when our little one arrives!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leenieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your great Feedback, the Medieval City of Kilkenny is great for a short break away and ideally located. I am delighted both yourself and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to us again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at Hotel Kilkenny for two nights. We arrived a few hours earlier than 4pm check in time and were booked straight in and as room was ready. Deluxe room was very impressive the bed in particular was extremely comfortable. Hotel staff were what really stood out for us, service was excellent from front desk to bar staff they couldn't have been more helpful. On second morning there was a lot of people for breakfast so rather than keep guests waiting the hotel had a second room open for breakfast. We had bar food on second evening and was very impressed with food and again the service. Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel & not only will we be returning I feel many other hotels could take a leaf out of the Hotel Kilkenny especially when it comes to staff training.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philbert123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Your comments are very kind and we are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. We price ourselves on our Customer Service and ensure that all our staff are trained as highly as possible at all times.
Again thank you and we hopefully will see you again very soon at Hotel Kilkenny.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My wife and I and some friends booked The Hotel Kilkenny for one night to take in the life of Kilkenny. The hotel was excellent and busy. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is travelling to Kilkenny. It was just 5 m ins by taxi from the city centre. The facilities were excellent.

Room Tip: For an extra 20 euro, we upgraded to a delux room - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotekilkenny, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kilkenny, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind comments on TripAdvisor everyone is delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and indeed we are perfectly located within walking distance of the city centre. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards the Management and Staff of Hotel Kilkenny.
__________________________________________________________________________
Hotel Kilkenny employs a team of 150 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve through our customer care and service review programs. Each member of our Team is aware off all genuine posts on TripAdvisor and we are proud to say that we do not in any way advocate or engage in posting fake reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kilkenny hotels
2.5 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#4 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
1.0 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#2 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
1.3 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#10 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
3.8 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
1.5 km away
Langton House Hotel
Langton House Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kilkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kilkenny

Property: Hotel Kilkenny
Address: College Road, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kilkenny
#6 Business Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Family Hotel in Kilkenny
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kilkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kilkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Hotel Kilkenny with 138 bedrooms is less than 10 min walk from the City Centre. Free ultrafast wireless broadband in public spaces. Facilities include: 20m swimming pool, superb gym, beauty lodge, onsite hair salon, in door golf swim analysis room and superb kids club. Live music three nights a week in Pure Bar. State of the art conference and wedding facilities. Free car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kilkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Kilkenny
Kilkenny Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing