We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
15 Days in Ireland

Excellent! from the initial planning of our trip months before to the Final product Marion helped... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Curiosity623660
via mobile
Best trip ever!

We (me, my husband and 2 adult daughters) had to postpone this college graduation trip for both... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
201tracib
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
via mobile
Read all 103 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Kilkenny
from US$5,152.76
More Info
from US$45.04
More Info
from US$42.89
More Info
from US$138.01
More Info
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
102
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
102
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews driver guide planning process mercedes van extensive knowledge beautiful country wonderful company large bus iconic sites hotel accommodations always on time ancestral home huge success day tour told stories fantastic trip enjoy the scenery experienced guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2019

My family toured around Ireland for 10 days with Small Escorted Tours of Ireland. We went to Kilkenny, Cork, Killarney, Galway, Dublin and areas around those locations. We had the best experience! Paul was our driver and I can not say enough good things about him. He was extremely knowledgeable about all places we toured and the history of Ireland. He was so friendly and personable with all of us. He went out of his way to take us a couple places not on our itinerary which we really appreciated. He was in a great mood with a smile on his face everyday. His love for his job and Ireland was very clear. We could not have asked for a better driver! The vehicle was cleaned every night (which we didn't expect) and he provided us with water daily. It's the little things that really meant a lot to us. All of the hotels he booked for us were lovely. Highly highly recommend!!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank theista527
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Came for family wedding in Kilkenny. Could not have picked a better tour company to travel around wonderful country of Ireland.
Paul with Sm Escort was very informative with history, culture and made one of the most enjoyable trips

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank 153,006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 October 2019

Four of us went on a 7 day tour of Ireland with our guide Maurice. From the moment we arrived at Shannon he put us at ease and made us feel welcome. Indeed , he made the trip! One of the best vacation trips we've experienced. The hotels chosen were excellent. Maurice was a wealth of knowledge concerning the history, geology, language and culture of his country. The itinerary put together by the company was based upon what we wanted to do, but allowed us to be flexible and gave us time to explore on our own. Over all an excellent trip. Highly recommend these folks!

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Meander226224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Six of us spent 10 days in Ireland (Kilkenny, Killarney, Galway, Dublin and areas in and around). We couldn't have asked for a better driver and guide. Paul provided a wealth of historical, geographical, cultural, political, religious and assorted trivial (music, movies, wildlife, word origins and more) information. He answered a ton of questions on just about every
subject. He arranged some of the best lodging in locations that were convenient for shopping and dining in the evenings; suggesting wonderful options for music and the purchase of specific items. We ate great lunches thanks to his familiarity with options. I told him
of my lapidary hobby and we made
an unscheduled stop so I could buy marble for cutting and polishing
(thanks so much, Paul) while
others purchased jewelry. Paul went out of his way to be accommodating and was always enthusiastic. I'm convinced that our knowledge of all things Irish was increased due to Paul's expertise. I'd recommend him and small escorted tours without a single reservation.
PS:. His vehicles were always spotless, he was always professionally dressed and we never ran out of water!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Madelia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

Four of us just spent 8 days with Kevin Corcoran with Small Escorted Tours. What a delightful, knowledgeable man with an incredibly interesting professional life before becoming a tour guide. He does just the right amount of talking and has a wonderful sense of humor.
We were not particularly active in choosing where we wanted to go, so Kevin and the company created a fabulous itinerary. We went from Dublin to Kilkenny to Kinsale to Killarney to Galway, with stops all along the way. This included the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula and the Cliffs of Moher. To illustrate how different this was from other tour companies, Kevin knew of another route to the top of the Cliffs of Moher, which meant that one of our group who is physically challenged was able to view the cliffs without getting out of the car. We saw the usual sights but also less well known ones. We were able to start later in the morning, say 9 or 10, which allowed us to linger over the wonderful breakfasts. The Mercedes van was roomy and comfortable. Our lodgings ranged from a large hotel in Dublin to a small B and B in Galway with the majority of our nights at smaller, lovely hotels. We could have been more proactive in choosing types of lodgings, but I don't know that I would have changed anything. Our favorites were the Ashling in Dublin, the Trident in Kinsale and the Old Weir Lodge in Killarney. All terrific. We arrived in Dublin at 4:40 am. Sailed through customs and got to the arrival hall at 5:15. There was our driver (not Kevin) waiting for us. Lovely man. Kevin met us the next day at our hotel- which allowed us a day to recover. Small Escorted Tours is organized and professional and very willing to personalize- everything you want and hope a tour company will be.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank G11TPlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews