We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 18:00
Save
Review Highlights
Making Memories in Ireland!

We LOVED working with Small Escorted Tours of Ireland! There were only 3 of us and Paul, our... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Kgavzer
,
Union, Kentucky
Couldn’t be better

Professionally handled, start to finish. Our tour guide/driver, Kevin, was a major plus. He was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
scottlW781KD
,
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Read all 100 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Kilkenny
from US$5,009.51
More Info
from US$1,015.98
More Info
from US$43.79
More Info
from US$41.70
More Info
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
99
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
99
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews driver guide planning process mercedes van wonderful trip extensive knowledge beautiful country wonderful company iconic sites hotel accommodations ancestral home day tour experienced guide history come alive private tour start to finish incredible experience amazing tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Six of us spent 10 days in Ireland (Kilkenny, Killarney, Galway, Dublin and areas in and around). We couldn't have asked for a better driver and guide. Paul provided a wealth of historical, geographical, cultural, political, religious and assorted trivial (music, movies, wildlife, word origins and more) information. He answered a ton of questions on just about every
subject. He arranged some of the best lodging in locations that were convenient for shopping and dining in the evenings; suggesting wonderful options for music and the purchase of specific items. We ate great lunches thanks to his familiarity with options. I told him
of my lapidary hobby and we made
an unscheduled stop so I could buy marble for cutting and polishing
(thanks so much, Paul) while
others purchased jewelry. Paul went out of his way to be accommodating and was always enthusiastic. I'm convinced that our knowledge of all things Irish was increased due to Paul's expertise. I'd recommend him and small escorted tours without a single reservation.
PS:. His vehicles were always spotless, he was always professionally dressed and we never ran out of water!

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Madelia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 October 2019

Four of us just spent 8 days with Kevin Corcoran with Small Escorted Tours. What a delightful, knowledgeable man with an incredibly interesting professional life before becoming a tour guide. He does just the right amount of talking and has a wonderful sense of humor.
We were not particularly active in choosing where we wanted to go, so Kevin and the company created a fabulous itinerary. We went from Dublin to Kilkenny to Kinsale to Killarney to Galway, with stops all along the way. This included the Ring of Kerry, Dingle Peninsula and the Cliffs of Moher. To illustrate how different this was from other tour companies, Kevin knew of another route to the top of the Cliffs of Moher, which meant that one of our group who is physically challenged was able to view the cliffs without getting out of the car. We saw the usual sights but also less well known ones. We were able to start later in the morning, say 9 or 10, which allowed us to linger over the wonderful breakfasts. The Mercedes van was roomy and comfortable. Our lodgings ranged from a large hotel in Dublin to a small B and B in Galway with the majority of our nights at smaller, lovely hotels. We could have been more proactive in choosing types of lodgings, but I don't know that I would have changed anything. Our favorites were the Ashling in Dublin, the Trident in Kinsale and the Old Weir Lodge in Killarney. All terrific. We arrived in Dublin at 4:40 am. Sailed through customs and got to the arrival hall at 5:15. There was our driver (not Kevin) waiting for us. Lovely man. Kevin met us the next day at our hotel- which allowed us a day to recover. Small Escorted Tours is organized and professional and very willing to personalize- everything you want and hope a tour company will be.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank G11TPlisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 October 2019

Four of us traveled with our driver and guide "St. Kevin" who was thoroughly interesting and delightful. We were able to tailor our days to fit our personal habits and interests. For example, none of the four of us were sit down lunch eaters. We ate on the go. When we had seen quite a few castles, Kevin offered us different experiences and options. I'm sure we learned and saw much more about Ireland than if we had rented a car. Besides, navigating those roundabouts from the opposite side of the road we are used to would have been a bear! The only suggestion I would offer is that Kevin learn our first names!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 655jeannines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 October 2019

We had a fabulous time in Ireland especially with Maurice being our guide
We saw every place we wanted to see and Maurice went way out of his way to take us to our ancestral home
I can’t say enough about what a wonderful plan was prepared for us
Will highly recommend Small tours

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Gerrieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

Kevin our driver and guide was very friendly and it was a pleasure to spend 6 days with him. He took us where we wanted to go and we changed up our trip based on what we wanted to see and do.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sheilagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews