We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How old” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kyteler's Inn

Kyteler's Inn
Ranked #11 of 216 Restaurants in Kilkenny
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Medieaval building in the heart of Kilkenny dating back to 1324. Once home to Dame Alice Kyteler tried for witchcraft. Kytelers Inn is NOT a restaurant but a Pub - which is our main business. Yes we also serve bar food.There are three floors with four bars - cheek them all out for the one that suits.On offer at peak season twice nightly from 6.30pm. is a programme of trad music,balladeer, irish dancers & seanachie. You can watch & eat & drink at your leisure.Weekends and Bank holidays we also have Late Bar extensions with bands & DJ for those that want to party a bit later into the night.As it was in Alice Kyteler's day - Kyteler's Inn is a place for "merrie making" - Come and visit us to find out more..Also check us out - Trip Advisor Bars/Nightlife
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How old”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Great gem in the heart of town. Once inside make sure you explore all the bars and areas. Like many bars around town its like a rabbit warren with new

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank allanmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    633
    170
    57
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
220 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Huge and very popular!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were in here around 6pm on St Patrick's Day - so it was packed! We were lucky and managed to get a seat at the bar downstairs, and there is a big outdoor area out the back there. We probably didn't get the opportunity to soak up the historical atmosphere of the place as it was just so full of young, and rather drunk, people. But there is no doubt that this is a beautiful building in a great location. Staff were super professional despite being absolutely run off their feet - a total credit to the place. Food was also being fired out upstairs - I hope all the people working here get a breather this week!

  • Visited March 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“St Patricks weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our second time in Kilkenny and Kytelers Inn was our first port of call. They offer excellent food very helpful staff and brilliant live entertainment weather your looking for quiet traditional music while eating your dinner, or a full on session to sing and dance the night away. We were in Kilkenny for two nights and ended up here both nights as we love the craic here so much. A must if in Kilkenny.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank w_conroy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Kyteler's Inn is a bar/restaurant. It's located in the heart of Kilkenny City. Established in 1324 it is one of the oldest medieval bars in Ireland. It has the original stone and beams. Make sure to read about Dame Alice Kyteler before going. Interesting story. Enjoy!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun on a Sunday Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Loved our 1st expierence at Kyteler's Inn. Great band playing and we loved watching the dancing couples.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kyteler's Inn also viewed

 
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
Kilkenny, County Kilkenny
 

Been to Kyteler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing