We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tralee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We only got to spend one night in this hotel, but our short stay was indeed lovely. Full of amenities- the spa, the garden, the incredible bedroom/ bathroom- it was so posh. Even the lobby and the stairway leading to the second floor were grand! Everything was carefully planned and I truly appreciated the attention to detail they showed. It was the most traditionally luxurious room we'd had in Ireland.

The hotel is very close to center city Tralee, teeming with restaurants. Seemed as though most placess closed early, but there were still a few options later in the evening.
The staff was polite, but the only problem was we had a very early checkout and, because there was a problem with my credit card, we had to wait until the front desk staff came in at about 6am. to resolve the issue. But it was most definietly a great deal; one would expect to pay a lot more for such luxury.

It was a memorable experience and I would absolutely go back!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the expansive garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Matanda28,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I do hope you will get to return again in the future.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,303 - 1,307 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2012

Reception staff very nice and friendly. Room was very comfortable and spacious and dining room comfortable and food was good. However, attention to some areas of cleaning needed work. The bar area which serves more casual food options was very small and was crowded and the staff were under pressure to seat people. For such a large hotel this needs improvement. Food in the restaurant was very nice but at €40 for the set menu I thought it a bit pricey. Breakfast was very nice but there was no encouragement to take the irregular options of fish. We were not offered a menu for breakfast and only knew there were other options by studying the menu in the foyer before entering. We were there over the bank holiday weekend and there was no entertainment of any kind in the hotel. For Kerry, which is so into tourism, I thought this unusual. For a 4* hotel I would have expected better. Cannot fault the staff though, they were always courteous and kind but definitely no small talk from anyone other than the reception staff. Didn't use the spa so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: We were at the front of hotel facing the main road but once you closed the windows it was perfectly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCBunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear DCBunty,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you were overall happy with your experience. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, our staff and our food and to read that there were aspects of these that dissapointed you is unfortunate. As a destination for Spa breaks and restful stays we have found from previous experience that our Hotel guest enjoy the peace that our bar has to offer.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed in Ballygarry House Hotel and Spa with my friend for a special occasion. We stayed on an offer which included Bed, Breakfast, Evening Meal and Treatment. From start to finish the night was was wonderful. The staff were extremely friendly. I had emailed the hotel before we arrived and told them of the occasion and when we arrived at the hotel we were given a suite which as fab. The views over the Kerry Mountains were terrific. The dinner on the night we arrived was excellent and the glass of champagne before dinner was a lovely touch. Breakfast was also excellent. We had our spa treatments on Sunday morning. The whole experience in the spa was wonderful. The relaxation room was the best I have ever been in and the views over the Kerry Mountains were terrific. I would highly recommend Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to couples looking for a romantic getaway or for friends just looking for a break. I will be returning!

Room Tip: The suites are large and bright. Do book a treatment during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Trish1959,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay for you special occasion. The Spa is always such a lovely treat and is always a great way to celebrate something special.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Best wishes,
Padriag McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel at the weekend for 3 nights, attending a family wedding on Friday 09-03-12. What stood out most was the excellent staff and the service, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very modern, large, comfortable and had everything we needed. The wedding meal was lovely with extremely large portions. The gardens are very nice and I can imagine that in summer they will look stunning.

What chance of having roast potatoes, jackets or new potatoes on the menu for next time. Not a negative, but would like more choice.

Overall a fantastic time was had by all. Thanks to all the lovely staff at this hotel.

Tess & Tony

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear on the first floor - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Teresa M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding reception here at Ballygarry House and that you enjoyed your overall stay. We are very proud of our staff who carry out their duties with the utmost of service and attention that we always pride ourselves on, and it is always a great boost when they are acknowledged for this.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After two glorious nights at this beautiful hotel, we are full of admiration for the amenities, friendly staff, excellent food, a comfortable and spacious room and great surroundings. It is a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: A room with a perfect view of the Slieve Mish mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Liam F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you will get the opportunity to return again soon.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
2.8 km away
The Rose Hotel
The Rose Hotel
#7 of 14 in Tralee
746 reviews
3.3 km away
The Ashe Hotel
The Ashe Hotel
#2 of 14 in Tralee
753 reviews
12.4 km away
Manor West Hotel
Manor West Hotel
#4 of 14 in Tralee
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Meadowlands Hotel
Meadowlands Hotel
#6 of 14 in Tralee
574 reviews
3.2 km away
The Grand Hotel Tralee
The Grand Hotel Tralee
#8 of 14 in Tralee
905 reviews
1 km away
Ballyseede Castle
Ballyseede Castle
#3 of 14 in Tralee
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa

Address: Leebrook, Tralee V92 W279, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tralee
#1 Family Hotel in Tralee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tralee
#2 Business Hotel in Tralee
Price Range: €99 - €190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named in the top 10 of hotels in Ireland on TripAdvisor, the 4 star Ballygarry House Hotel in Tralee Co. Kerry has been in the same family for over 50 years & owner Padraig McGillicuddy knows how to make you feel at home. The hotel's warm interior offers plenty of corners to hide away with a good book to indulge in afternoon tea, and Brooks restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine using the best of local Kerry produce. The Brasserie at Ballygarry House offers casual dining daily from 12.30. This Kerry Hotel provides visitors with the perfect base to explore Kerry and The Wild Atlantic Way with plenty of attractions and activities nearby. No visit to Ballygarry Hotel Tralee is complete without a visit to Nadur Spa which offers traditional Irish Seaweed Soaks as well as hot tub, thermal suite & rejuvenating mud wraps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballygarry House Hotel Tralee
Ballygarry House Hotel And Spa
Ballygarry Hotel Tralee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing