We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tralee Benners Hotel(Tralee)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$186
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tralee Townhouse(Tralee)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$140
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,635)
Filter reviews
1,635 results
Traveller rating
1,312
238
56
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,312
238
56
19
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrooks restaurantrelaxation roomthe outdoor hot tubthermal suitetop classbeautiful hoteldrinks receptionfrom start to finishwedding receptionfamily weddingsuperior roomsteam roomwould highly recommend this hotelrelaxing breaksecond to nonefood was amazingboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
1,415 - 1,420 of 1,635 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Reception staff very nice and friendly. Room was very comfortable and spacious and dining room comfortable and food was good. However, attention to some areas of cleaning needed work. The bar area which serves more casual food options was very small and was crowded and the staff were under pressure to seat people. For such a large hotel this needs improvement. Food in the restaurant was very nice but at €40 for the set menu I thought it a bit pricey. Breakfast was very nice but there was no encouragement to take the irregular options of fish. We were not offered a menu for breakfast and only knew there were other options by studying the menu in the foyer before entering. We were there over the bank holiday weekend and there was no entertainment of any kind in the hotel. For Kerry, which is so into tourism, I thought this unusual. For a 4* hotel I would have expected better. Cannot fault the staff though, they were always courteous and kind but definitely no small talk from anyone other than the reception staff. Didn't use the spa so cannot comment on that.

Room Tip: We were at the front of hotel facing the main road but once you closed the windows it was perfectly fine and I don't like noise so I would imagine anywhere is fine as long as you aren't over by the wedding venue but I think maybe there weren't any rooms there anyway.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCBunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear DCBunty,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you were overall happy with your experience. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, our staff and our food and to read that there were aspects of these that dissapointed you is unfortunate. As a destination for Spa breaks and restful stays we have found from previous experience that our Hotel guest enjoy the peace that our bar has to offer.

Kind regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I stayed in Ballygarry House Hotel and Spa with my friend for a special occasion. We stayed on an offer which included Bed, Breakfast, Evening Meal and Treatment. From start to finish the night was was wonderful. The staff were extremely friendly. I had emailed the hotel before we arrived and told them of the occasion and when we arrived at the hotel we were given a suite which as fab. The views over the Kerry Mountains were terrific. The dinner on the night we arrived was excellent and the glass of champagne before dinner was a lovely touch. Breakfast was also excellent. We had our spa treatments on Sunday morning. The whole experience in the spa was wonderful. The relaxation room was the best I have ever been in and the views over the Kerry Mountains were terrific. I would highly recommend Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa to couples looking for a romantic getaway or for friends just looking for a break. I will be returning!

Room Tip: The suites are large and bright. Do book a treatment during your stay.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Trish1959,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay for you special occasion. The Spa is always such a lovely treat and is always a great way to celebrate something special.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us in the future.

Best wishes,
Padriag McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had a lovely time at this hotel at the weekend for 3 nights, attending a family wedding on Friday 09-03-12. What stood out most was the excellent staff and the service, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very modern, large, comfortable and had everything we needed. The wedding meal was lovely with extremely large portions. The gardens are very nice and I can imagine that in summer they will look stunning.

What chance of having roast potatoes, jackets or new potatoes on the menu for next time. Not a negative, but would like more choice.

Overall a fantastic time was had by all. Thanks to all the lovely staff at this hotel.

Tess & Tony

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear on the first floor - excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Teresa M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the wedding reception here at Ballygarry House and that you enjoyed your overall stay. We are very proud of our staff who carry out their duties with the utmost of service and attention that we always pride ourselves on, and it is always a great boost when they are acknowledged for this.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After two glorious nights at this beautiful hotel, we are full of admiration for the amenities, friendly staff, excellent food, a comfortable and spacious room and great surroundings. It is a really nice place to stay.

Room Tip: A room with a perfect view of the Slieve Mish mountain range.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Liam F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope that you will get the opportunity to return again soon.

Best wishes,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is one of the finest 4 star hotels in Ireland. A warm welcome greeted us last Sunday night - a dark Winter night., followed by the offer of help with our bags., which we declined.

Our room was spacious, and very well appointed. The housekeeping was without fault, and every night our bedroom was turned down. Courtesy and Care are the hallmarks of the staff at this elegantly appointed hotel. They could not do enough for you.

The food, be it in the bar or restaurant was the best we have experienced in an Irish hotel. One afternoon, we sought tea in the bar, and we were encouraged to try their ‘ Caring and Sharing’ dessert as well. This was just beautiful and to die for! The Seafood Chowder and the Mushroom Sauce are brilliant. With the latter. It can be difficult to get the flavours right, but they did, and both were freshly prepared like everything else.

Ballygarry House Hotel sets the standard, for others to aspire to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeadarGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PMcGillicuddyGM, General Manager at Ballygarry House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear PeadarGalway,

I would like to sincerely thank you for your very kind words and review of your stay with us. We are thrilled with your positive feedback and I have shared all of our recent reviews at our head of department meeting last week. The sharing dessert is a popular choice- I do hope you will return to sample this again.

Kindest regards,
Padraig McGillicuddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews