We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Terrific Tralee with Maureen!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maureens B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maureens B&B
Ranked #38 of 56 Tralee B&B and Inns
Meriden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrific Tralee with Maureen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

Excellent location--very convenient to shops, pubs, etc.. Maureen was very helpful, welcoming, and friendly. Rooms were clean and comfortable!! Great location, great breakfast!!

  • Liked — friendly hostess, close proximity
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CTsojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    9
    1
    9
See reviews for
10
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We were recommended this B&B by the B&B across the street and we were well satisfied with the change. The accommodation was spotlessly clean with all the usual facilities. SKy TV was available in a very pleasant TV lounge downstairs. We were greeted with a nice cup of tea and biscuits anf the breakfast the next morning was excellent. We did not need lunch that day!!

She recommended an excellent retaurant, Porters, which provide good food at a very reasonable price.(she even had a sample menu to show us). The hotel across the road whilst very pleasant was very expensive.

Although we were on a main road the B&B was well insulated and quiet!! Well rcommended!!

  • Liked — The accommodation and the beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NIRS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2008

My mother, my sister and I stayed with Maureen earlier this month. We travelled from Dublin on a girls weekend.
Maureens had been recommended to me by a friend.
Maureen greeted us on arrival with coffee and biscuits.
She was most helpful with making suggestions on how to spend our weekend, where to eat , etc.
Her house is a credit to her, its so clean and welcoming.
It has a lovely hotel just across the road which was so handy for us. We really enjoyed our stay in Maureens. She is a lovely warm kind woman and she was no nice to us and helpful to my mother (who can be fussy). Also the breakfast was top class.
She offered us a great selection of food, but we stuck with the traditional irish breakfast ,which was delicious and well presented with loads of warm toast, tea and coffee.
If we are ever back in Tralee there is only one place I would stay and thats at Maureens.

  • Liked — The beds were so comfortable and the food was fantastic
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DublinJoanna71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2008

I stayed in Maureens in June of this year with my husband and two kids. I must say we had an excellent stay and found Maureen to be very kind and helpful to us at all times.
She made us tea and cake when we arrived and made us very welcome. She has a lovely home in an excellent location.
I find the last ladys review very hard to believe as our experience was totally the opposite. We cant wait to go back.

  • Liked — The Hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandSiobhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2008

I booked my first and second stay at Maureen's back in March 2008, the first for 6 people/4 rooms including 2 singles for May for 3 nights, the second for 3 singles in June for 3 nights. Maureen assured me before arriving, when I sent a confirmation e-mail, that the first rsvn for 4 rooms was set.

However, when we arrived we were given 3 rooms instead, and told with a shrug it was a mistake that could not be rectified. I suspected she'd booked additional guests in the extra room to make extra money but I let it drop and we made the best of it. Other than that, the initial stay was satisfactory enough.

However, I'd booked a second visit for 3 days to accommodate two friends flying in from France June 2008 on their very first visit to Ireland, who wanted to see Kerry. Despite confirming several times that we had three single rooms booked, I was careful, considering what happened the first time, to send a cheery, final confirmation four days prior to our arrival.

To my dismay, a mere 18 hours prior to our planned arrival, I got a cursory e-mail from her that she was sorry, she couldn't honor our rsvn and that I should contact the tourist board for other suggestions.

Here it was the height of season and despite having my personal contact info, she had not bothered to telephone me, instead clearly not caring if I got her cancellation or not which, considering how last minute it was, was incredibly unprofessional and utterly thoughtless. I was stunned as I'd been sure to leave on excellent terms on the prior visit.

Maureen did not indicate she'd made any attempt to secure us alternate accommodations, merely suggested I call the tourist bureau to for suggestions on other places to stay. Since her e-mail arrived after the tourist bureau closed on the Thursday, we would have had to call Friday morning for 3 rooms starting that night for the weekend in high season.

We could not find accommodations despite talking to many lovely B&B owners who each referred us to subsequent possibilities. It was the opinion of two of these B&B owners who knew her that she'd likely dumped us in favor of double room bookings which would bring her in an extra 30 euros per room per night. After what I'd suspected on our first visit, this supposition seemed likely.

Frankly, considering I was repeat business from the month before and her assurances that she was looking forward to my return, I was disgusted by her indifference to ruining our holiday. Needless to say, my friends arrived from France only to have to give up the focal point of their trip as there were no reservations to be found for a Fri-Sun night in June anywhere that we called, from Cork to Kerry.

I could never in good conscience recommend a hostess who could be so cavalier about canceling reservations made months in advance without so much as a single call made to help us secure alternate accommodations. Her indifference was appalling. I'm just glad this is not typical of my Irish B&B experiences as my stays in other B&B accommodations have never been less than delightful. Maureen has a lot to learn.

  • Disliked — being stood up!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
5 Thank smg2ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tralee hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tralee hotels
1.0 km away
Benners Hotel
Benners Hotel
#9 of 14 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.3 km away
Tralee Townhouse
Tralee Townhouse
#13 of 14 in Tralee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.1 km away
Denton B & B
Denton B & B
#2 of 56 in Tralee
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Saint Martin's
#48 of 56 in Tralee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.3 km away
The Willows
The Willows
#3 of 56 in Tralee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.3 km away
Green Gables Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maureens B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maureens B&B

Property: Maureens B&B
Address: Oakpark, Tralee, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tralee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Tralee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maureens B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing