We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,576)
Filter reviews
3,576 results
Traveller rating
2,631
617
199
88
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,631
617
199
88
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room restaurant beautiful hotel reading room junior suite old world leisure centre top class old style kids club from start to finish bar food would highly recommend this hotel beautiful room fantastic stay last weekend second to none scones
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 3,576 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2022

Upon arriving at the Great Southern, we were treated like the most special guests. The hospitality was second to none. From Evelyn the knowledgeable concierge to Sean the engaging doorman (who also had the best recommendations) to Martina the longest serving person on staff who sang of hospitality to the attentive Robert, the operations manager - and all the other welcoming team at the Great Southern, we never lacked for a friendly face, a sincere inquiry, or a spot on suggestion.

The room was luxurious - turn down service, plush towels, a tub to soak in, windows to open for a fresh breeze, a view of the garden path, quiet, regularly filled bottle of spring water, spacious.

We dined in the Garden Room restaurant for both a dinner and a lunch - a gorgeous setting with careful service, good food and no rush (found the ability to linger over a meal very common in Ireland).

The wine experience with Massimo was delightful - and yummy!

The spa treatments were divine. The facial with Lana made my skin feel softer than it has in years! Her advice and tips were a bonus. My husband said his massage was so relaxing he fell asleep several times :)

The location made walking to other meals, the Killarney House and around town most accessible and inviting. We walked to Murphys for lunch, Treyvauds and Bricin for dinners - highly recommend these.

All in all, my only regret is having only 3 nights there. We will be back!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ginny Bass C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Great Southern. We are delighted to hear that you received such a wonderful welcome from our team. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team including Evelyn, Sean, Martina and Richard. We are also thrilled to hear you found the bedroom to be so luxurious, your dining experience in The Garden Room to be wonderful and the beauty treatments divine. It would be our absolute please to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2022

The Great Southern has been on my list of destinations in Ireland for thirty years. At the end of May, we finally arrived--and it was worth the journey, worth the wait. In the heart of the visitor-friendly town of Killarney, the Great Southern has five-star accommodations, food, and location with a relaxed, welcoming style. The room was similar to similar rates at Ashford castle, Adare Manor, and other hotels in this rank, with a beautiful view of the gardens and the town. The Garden Room meals were all I expected, the staff was helpful, and the location is convenient to shops, restaurants, and attractions in town. For couples and for families, an outstanding choice.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank timothyoF7773YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are delighted to hear that you finally had the opportunity to visit Great Southern and that it was worth the wait. We are indeed quite fortunate with our town centre location and that you found your welcome to be relaxed and welcoming. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2022 via mobile

My family and I have the pleasure of staying in the Great Southern Killarney recently.We had the most Amazing experience from start to finish.From check in to check out everything was beyond perfect.The team are so professional and the warmth and welcome just make you want to stay longer.The attention to detail is exquisite and the charm of the Great Southern is beyond compare!The dining experience’s are a delight,just delicious!!It’s absolutely magical.Thank you to Everyone in the Great Southern Killarney for making our stay such a wonderful experience.We cannot wait to return and see you all again

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 284SharonF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Dear Ms Fitzpatrick

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family and we are delighted to hear you had such an amazing experience from start to finish. We are also thrilled to hear you received such wonderful service from our team, that you found the attention to details to be excellent and the dining experience a delight. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2022 via mobile

Just back from a family wedding at the Killarney great southern. Two wonderful days. It's been a while since we could all come together and wow did you guys pull out all the stops. The hotel itself it very central. Where class meets neighbourly charm. Every staff member greets you. The service was exceptional. The rooms - clean , fab bed, duvet , pillows. As a wedding venue is is superb. The drinks reception area is lovely with a flower covered hallway to walk through. Food was also very good. All In all a great day at the great. And we will be back. Thank you

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank claregal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for takign the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay for your family wedding and that you were so impressed with the location, service you received from our staff and bedrooms. We are also thrilled to hear you found our wedding offering to be of such high quality from the drinks reception to the food. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2022

What a beautiful place to spend a day or two This was an absolutely gorgeous place. The staff were very nice and informative. Our room balcony overlooked the garden. It was a wonderful view to wake up to and have a coffee or tea just overlooking the area. The included breakfast was also very good. We did the whiskey tasting that evening and Lorenzo at the bar was fun and informative. When we mentioned we had tasted the one whiskey he brought out, he quickly replaced it with another brand. Five stars all around.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleenc537
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are delighted to hear you were so impressed with the hotel, that you received such wonderful service and were so happy with your view from your bedroom. We are also thrilled to hear you were happy with your breakfast and the Whiskey tasting. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Lorenzo. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews