We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$275
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
Trip.com
US$298
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Preferred Hotels
US$248
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
PricelineUS$299
TraveluroUS$297
Lol.travelUS$374
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,547)
Filter reviews
3,547 results
Traveller rating
2,610
613
195
88
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,610
613
195
88
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room restaurant beautiful hotel reading room junior suite old world leisure centre top class old style kids club wedding reception from start to finish bar food would highly recommend this hotel beautiful room fantastic stay last weekend second to none
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 3,547 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2022 via mobile

A beautiful ambience. Stunning room, very comfortable bed. We had a package which included dinner and breakfast which was great value. We were looked after exceptionally well by everyone but a mention to Sean and Stephen, you both have excellent people skills and we felt you looked after us brilliantly. We look forward to returning soon.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Innishannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are delighted to hear you were so impressed with the ambiance of the hotel, the bed and bedroom, the value of your package and the service you received from our staff. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Sean and Stephen, they will be delighted to have received special mentions. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2022 via mobile

Our second time staying in the Great Southern and it won't be our last. The staff are excellent. Breakfast was very good and the hotel itself it charming. Great location too as in the town and yet can walk into the National Park within 5 minutes. A great base for a stay in Killarney.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katietrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and that you were so impressed with the staff, breakfast and overall hotel. We are indeed quite fortunate with our town centre location within 5 minutes of Killarney National Park. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2022

The Great Southern is perfectly located in Killarney, within walking distance of town and lots of amenities. We spent a wonderful night there with our two young children, and every single staff member we met were just so friendly and professional, from reception, to the bar, to the pool staff and the beauty rooms. Everyone was amazing, it was such an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank joannegQ1744OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2022

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are indeed very fortunate with our town centre location and within walking distance of all of the amenities Killarney has to offer. We are thrilled to hear you and your family had such a lovely stay with us and that you were so impressed with the service you received from our staff members throughout the hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2022 via mobile

The Great Southern was built to accommodate tourists arriving at the nearby railway station 165 years ago. It is just at the edge of Killarney town and a short walk to the centre. There is a delightful old world feel about the place but it doesn’t lack in modern comfort. Locals use the hotel for family and social occasions which is always a good sign. Our room was comfortable and clean. Food is exceptional with prompt and attentive service from the friendly staff. We had a delightful weekend and will be back soon!

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Muiris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. We are always delighted to hear when our guests appreciate our history which we are very fortunate to have. We are also very fortunate with our town centre location within a short walk of Killarney town centre. We are thrilled to hear you found your bedroom to be so welcoming and the food of such a high standard. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon and until then please take care.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2022

My parents have been staying at the Great Southern Killarney for many years. They have passed their tradition to my my family. We have had many lovely stays at the Great Southern. The family room we had our last trip was fantastic! Christmas tree an added bonus in all bedrooms. Staff are very helpful, obliging. Food fantastic! Thank you everyone from reservations, to front desk, to accommodation to dining staff.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Cleanliness
Thank Purr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Manager, General Manager at Great Southern Killarney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2022

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Great Southern. It is our pleasure to have welcomed your family for so many years and that you are now continuing on the tradition. We are delighted to hear you have had so many lovely stays and that you were so impressed with the Christmas tree in your bedroom on your most recent trip. We are also thrilled to hear the staff and food were of such a high standard. I will pass on your lovely words to all members of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm Regards
Kamile Lyne
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews