We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$302
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/05/22
Preferred Hotels
US$245
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/05/22
Trip.comUS$272
PricelineUS$318
Lol.travelUS$374
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,547)
Filter reviews
3,547 results
Traveller rating
2,610
613
195
88
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,610
613
195
88
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room restaurant beautiful hotel reading room junior suite old world leisure centre top class old style kids club wedding reception from start to finish bar food would highly recommend this hotel beautiful room fantastic stay last weekend second to none
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
220 - 225 of 3,547 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2020 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay in the Great Southern Hotel. From the first greetings from Sean (Concierge) and Anna (Reception) we felt at home. Precautions taken for Covid-19 were extensive but unobtrusive. Our room was really nice with a full bath in which to relax. Housekeeping kept up the high standard throughout our stay. We ate in both restaurants and the food was superb in both of them. It was always a pleasure to see so many smiling faces among the staff, easily recognisable despite the masks. A special mention should be made of Robert in Browne's and the lovely lady who served our complimentary Tea & Scones one afternoon. (Sorry we didn't ask her name)
We really intend to return soon.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank caspar24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2020

My wife and I were celebrating our 41st wedding anniversary, our wedding reception was actually held in the magnificent Garden Room, I believe it was the last one to be held there before the new facility was opened.
It was wonderful to be back again, the service, the food were top class as always, even in these strange times.

Room tip: We had the most wonderful room, 212, it made our stay even more special, thank you Claudia.
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P8626UCjamesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend did a 3 night ring of kerry staycation. The great southern Killarney was our hotel for our first night and all I can say was this beautiful hotel has the most amazing staff I have ever come across in any irish hotel. From Sinead in reservations to Sean at the front of house, Williams’s at reception and the gentleman who was running the bar (didn’t get his name) everyone was just a pleasure to talk to and really made our stay. My only regret is not staying longer! I will without a question be returning to the great southern in Killarney for their wonderful hospitality and fantastic facilities.

Date of stay: September 2020
Thank nikral94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Spent two lovely days in The Great Southern Hotel Killarney. It is s really beautiful building steeped in history. Many old and new photos displayed on the walls inside are very interesting. We had a lovely room overlooking the beautiful gardens. Room was very hot with no air conditioning. Dinner and breakgast in the restaurant was delicious and served by very pleasent and attentive staff. I have taken onepoint off as we had a minor hiccup regarding reserving a table in the restaurant (which was part of our package) but the situation was dealt with in a very prompt and professional manner. I will definitely return to the Great Southern. It is full of luxurious little touches and perfect for a relaxing break.

Date of stay: September 2020
2  Thank notanothercruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020

Excellent experience. Super location in the heart of Killarney. Staff excellent, professional and friendly. From start to finish, every aspect of mini break was brilliant. Every precaution taken by hotel and staff during these challenging times. Thumbs up to chefs. Dinner was a beautiful experience. We will be back !

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Margaret Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews