We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maldron Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Maldron Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I had a fabulous stay at the Maldron, beautiful, old style, really comfortable room. And a lovely dinner in the restaurant, reasonably priced. Breakfast was really good too. Grainne

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grainne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,452
    406
    126
    59
    19
See reviews for
551
815
51
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed in the Malton recently ( Feb 2012) with a group of friends, it was the quintesssentially perfect night away.Part of what made the trip so good were the staff in the hotel. The gang on reception were very friendly and attentive. The barman was great craic, and he memorised our drinks order for the rounds. The staff in the resturant were brillaint, nothing was too much trouble. The food was incredible, particlualrly the amuse bouchee - I can still taste those prawns!! The rooms were lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. All in all the perfect weekend break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

When going away for a short break, we always look for 4 things as a guide, Value, Food, Location and Facilities.
We got these in abundance at the Malton Hotel.
We stayed on a 3 night mid-week break on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast basis. Our room was large, and came with all the little luxuries that one could desire. We overlooked the spacious gardens, and despite being only 5 minutes walk to the town centre, and adjacent to the railway station, we never heard any noise.
The main ingredient of our happy stay was the great service and friendly staff. Dinner was a culinary feast, beautifully presented and served with a light professional touch.
The pool and spa, were used nightly as our pre dinner exercise, again great staff and spotlessly clean.
Please don’t take our word, just try this hotel you won’t be disappointed

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWRyan.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I attended a birthday celebration and meal at the Malton Hotel last Friday. I also stayed overnight in the hotel. The whole experience from dinner to breakfast was top class. The variety offered at breakfast really appealed to me as did the entire dining experience. I will be booking another stay in this hotel in the near future with my familoy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verenatarpey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

A group of us recently stayed in the Malton for my 40th. What an amazing night we had - the hotel staff really pulled out all stops!! We were all treated like royalty - at the dinner reception, dinner, breakfast the following morning. The hotel is Something Special!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeple40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.5 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
2.3 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
International Hotel Killarney
3.9 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Property: The Malton Hotel
Address: East Avenue | Town Centre, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton, built originally as a railway hotel has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The hotel is surrounded by six acres of mature gardens. Car Parking is available for a small fee on-site. The Garden Room Restaurant offers a classical setting with wonderful breakfast and dinner menus. Our guest accommodation provides a choice of bedrooms from standard, deluxe, junior suites and suites. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided in the lobby, meeting rooms and conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney
The Malton Hotel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing