We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel!”
Review of The Malton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Malton Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This is one of the old railway hotels that are scattered around the country. Now called the Malton this place still has the sheen of Victorian charm about it. Staff were friendly and the rooms were large and offered great value. Breakfast was great too. My only crib is that wifi is only available in reception. A small gripe though as parking is free. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Spend an extra night.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yezir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,234)
There are newer reviews for The Malton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,968 - 1,972 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

We were lucky enough to stay in the self catering suites at the Malton at the start of December 2011. These are situated behind the Malton in blocks of what appeared to be holiday flats and residential accommodation.
The apartment was set over two floors - on the first floor we had three bedrooms (2 doubles and a single) a family bathroom and an en-suite and a large kitchen/diner. There was also a washer dryer in a cupboard in the hall.
On the second floor there was an enormous lounge with wall mounted TV and DVD player (bring the DVDs with you), 3 sofas and plenty of room to keep our little girl occupied. The only downside was that as there were no stairgates we had to improvise with an upturned dining chair to ensure she was on the floor we wanted her!
We used the hotels swimming pool a couple of times and the spa once and spent the rest of our visit mooching around Killarney a few minutes walk from the apartment - in fact if we hadn't fancied a drive to pick up a M&S meal deal we wouldn't have needed the car at all.
The Malton is conveniently located next to the train station, so you could let the train take the strain and not drive if that were an option.
There was no wi-fi in the apartment, but i believe that's the same in the hotel also - there is a phone to the main hotel. I guess if you wanted to you could have take out delivered if you didn't want to cook.
The only other thing we weren't too happy about is the noise that travels from the Malton's function rooms can be heard in the bedrooms until early in the morning - it's not really loud but if you were a light sleeper you may want to bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eastender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My Husband and I stayed at this fab Hotel for a very special & festive occasion, couldn't fault it in anyway. Food & service in the Restaurant was top class. Hotel ideally located as only mins walk into Killarney & to the beautiful parks. Cant wait to return again next Christmas!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDuggan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed here while attending a wedding. Super from start to finish!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I have stayed in several hotels in Killarney. This is my hotel of choice. I stay here 3 times a year. Excellent location, super friendly & efficient service. Great value. Also has the best steak in Ireland. Cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tararjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,258 reviews
2.3 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,300 reviews
3.9 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.1 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,426 reviews
1.6 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malton Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 R866, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#13 Family Hotel in Killarney
#17 Business Hotel in Killarney
#17 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: €132 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Killarney town centre, The Malton Killarney has been welcoming visitors since 1854. The Malton is a beautiful four star Victorian hotel located in Killarney town centre yet on its own private gardens of 6 acres. Guest accommodation includes 172 bedrooms; choose from a variety of suites, deluxe and classic rooms. Our restaurants include The Garden Room & Killarney Wine Rooms, unique dining experiences with delicious food & friendly service. The Punchbowl, is a cosy and relaxing bar to enjoy a light snack, drinks or taste some Whiskey. Car Parking is available complimentary on-site. The hotel's leisure facilities include 15 metre swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium and two outdoor tennis courts. Complimentary WI-FI is provided throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Malton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malton Hotel Killarney
The Malton Hotel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing