We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porridge with Baileys--best breakfast ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Crystal Springs B&B is a warm, welcoming place to stay. Eileen, our hostess, was charming and so helpful. We stayed for three nights in March and had fantastic weather--strange in Ireland. Since we were three adult women, we had a very comfortable room with three beds with a wonderful view of the horses in the yard of the nearest house. We drove the Ring of Kerry and stopped many times for great pictures and views. Additionally, we shopped and ate in Killarney. We were delighted to find traditional music for two nights!!! One concern in Killarney-- if you want to change American dollars into euros, don't bring $100. bills; we went to four banks before we found one that would convert our money. The piece de resistance at Crystal Springs is the Eileen's breakfast!!! Many items to choose on the buffet table, but the Porridge with Baileys was out of this world; the best porridge we had on our 12 day trip!!! We asked for small portions because we also ordered another hot dish, but Eileen has difficulty with "small" but we loved every bite of it! We were able to get WIFI (as opposed to another review). My only small criticism was that the nights were cold and our room never heated up well. I like to sleep in a cool room, but getting up in the morning was brrrrr. This was probably due to the great weather we had and the windows being open all day. We even sat in the sun in the beautiful back yard on the edge of the river. It was very peaceful and we loved watching the horses in the pasture across the river. Tranquility all over! If in Killarney, Crystal Springs is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 173 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

A very warm welcome and a full load of advices to Killarney & surrounding areas. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Bathroom could have benefited from a better heating/insulation as they were cold.
Breakfast : fair number of choices in a very nice location overlooking the river.
would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fti74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Eileen our hostess was so welcoming. Crystal springs is clean and fresh and comfortable. Close to Killarney but you'd need a car which we had. She was so helpful with maps and advice on where we should go and what to see. Breakfast was lovely and the view from the breakfast room so pretty. Feel confident spending time here in Eileen's capable hands. Shame wifi wasn't included as everywhere else we travelled it was. That was the only criticism .

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room and the noise from people above was loud as they moved about so maybe ask f...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notafusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed here last September 2011 for 3 nights and it was a WONDERFUL experience. Eileen was the perfect hostess. She makes the best breakfast we had in Ireland. The Oatmeal with Baileys was to DIE for. I have been wanting some ever since. The place is extremely well kept, clean, very well furnished. We stayed on the bottom floor in a very nice room. Eileen was very helpful in deciding on the tours we would take and the bus stopped right in front of the B&B for the Ring of Kerry tour. She has lots of information on what to see in the area and all the good places to eat menus. We spent 8 days in Ireland and this was one of my most memorable experiences. I hope to go back and stay here in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. You can't go wrong with any room you get.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickiedga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We spent 2 nights here while over in Ireland to climb Carrauntohil 1038m. A Highly Recommended B+B - in fact its almost a small hotel. We had a huge room for the 3 of us with large bathroom and good views. Eileen serves a terrific breakfast with the most awesome porridge, you really must try it!

But the excellent selection for breakfast would really suit the most picky of palates - you can't be disappointed. Other good points? Eileen the owner's friendliness, the large car park, afternoon tea and cake, an annotated map in the room to take into town with all the best eating places marked, VERY comfortable beds, fridge and wine glasses in the room and spotless cleanliness. Absolutely tip top.

Any bad points? None at all really....

If I had to say anything, it would be that its a little too far to walk into town comfortably so I had to drive and drink Coke in those wonderful Irish pubs. Also the room was a little cold and that made it hard drying our mountain clothes that got soaked on the hill. Also there is a 3% charge for all cards, even debit cards, so make sure you draw out some cash unless you don't mind the charge.

Have a lovely stay and say hello to Monty the Dog.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 km away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
1.3 km away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
428 reviews
2.8 km away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#18 of 143 in Killarney
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#25 of 143 in Killarney
310 reviews
1.2 km away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#17 of 143 in Killarney
468 reviews
1.3 km away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#34 of 143 in Killarney
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast

Address: Crystal Springs Ballycasheen Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: €93 - €133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal Springs, Killarney, Co KERRY. All rooms are with private bathrooms, TV, radio, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryers, iron press, mini fridges, direct dial phones and wireless internet. All are non smoking. Superior Deluxe Double rooms, Kingsize Double or Twin Bedded rooms, Family Triple rooms, Quad Rooms. LOCATION: Our GPS location is N +52 3' 10.47'' W -9 29' 15.77'' We are located on the peaceful banks of the River Flesk which flows through our back garden, where you can relax on the deck. Just a 20 min. walk to Killarney Main Street town centre and also to local Bus and Rail Station. Kerry Airport is 20 mins drive from Killarney. Cork Airport is 1 hour 15 mins, Shannon Airport is 2 hours drive, Dublin Airport 4 hours. RATES will include an extensive breakfast menu. Afternoon Tea/coffee and Free Parking, Breakfast served from 8am to 10am, early breakfast Pcaked Lunch on request, Light Bite Menu available all day. If you wish to confirm a reservations you may do so by E-mail or By phone call or directly with us for (no fees or no deposit taken). as payment is on departure, Check-in between 2pm and 6pm. LOCAL SIGHTS: We are close to The Lakes of Killarney, National Park, Ross Castle and on the Ring of Kerry route.and the Beautiful Wild Atlantic Way. Other local attractions include Muckross House and Gardens, Torc Waterfall, Ladies View, Moll's Gap, the Gap of Dunloe and Kate Karney's Cottage, Killarney Golf and Fishing Club , We are 1 hour drive from Dingle Bay, Waterville, Blarney and Ballybunnion. Local information, Maps and guidebooks are available with refreshments on arrival. Ample safe parking (off street) is available ,Golf Courses, Riding Stables, Mountain Walks, Bicycle Hire and Launderette are close by. Fishing on location in the river Flesk (at the end of our Garden) no license needed. Live Entertainment nightly in Killarney's popular Traditional Bars and Restaurants. Bus tours and Day Trips arranged from here to pick you up and drop you off at our front door daily from 10.30am to 5pm return, to (Ring Of Kerry )(Gap Of Dunloe) (Dingle Bay) For our best rates , rooms with a view, Superior King size new rooms, just call or email us to Book Directly (no commission fees) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Crystal Springs Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Springs Hotel Killarney
Crystal Springs b&b
Crystal Springs Bed And Breakfast Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing