We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way!!”
Review of The Invicta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Invicta
Ranked #43 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Invicta the second weekend of September and it was fantastic! We are outdoorsy people and Killarney National Park was within 5 minutes walk, Gap of Dunloe was a 5 minute drive, and plenty of other fantastic hikes! The breakfast was fantastic...Mary greeted us with coffee/tea and awesome cookies and cakes when we arrived and sat down and talked with us and helped plan our trip around the Killarney area. She truly cares about what she does! Her brown bread in the morning was the BEST I had during my entire stay in Ireland! You can not go wrong staying at the Invicta. The peace and quiet and gorgeous views of the lake and mountains are phenomenal!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4 and had awesome views of the mountains!!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for The Invicta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was a great part of the trip and host were so welcoming. They were very helpful and so kind to us. Breakfast was excellent, probably the best throughout the trip. Great distance away from the main town of Killarney and the rest of the national park, and also a good midpoint to get the Dingle. Very warm and inviting place. Highly recommend it!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tombo270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

My sister and I had a twin room at The Invicta and loved it!

It is clean and cozy. The crisp clean sheets had a fresh laundry scent which we found at a lot of B&Bs in Ireland. Our room was a lovely twin room that felt like home.

Mary is a wonderful laid back and the kindest host. We very much enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend to anyone planning to stay in the area.

It is easy to find The Invicta as well, because they have very convenient signs to direct you.

Breakfast was great!

The Invicta was also conveniently located close to Tomie's woods (a short walk away) which has a very beautiful walk round to O'Sullivan's Cascades. It is also close to Dunloe Gap, ring of Kerry, and Killarney National Park.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank EconConferenceGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Mary and Sean are wonderfull hosts, genuinelly friendly, welcoming and helpful to spend the best time ever in Killarney, we felt at home.
Home made cakes on arrival with lovely tea and coffee, great help to organize boatings and transports toward Gap of Dunloe, excellent knowledge of the area and good tips to enjoy yourself during your stay and after.
Great confort in the bedroom and bathroom, extremely comfortable beds, the very best we have had during our tour of Ireland, altogether well Worth a four star BB !
It was very sad to depart such a friendly familly home but we'll be back for sure !
Many thanks to you both Sean and Mary, look after yourselves !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I can only agree with everyone who has already given The Invicta 5 stars (or circles). We arrived late, partly due to having a problem finding it. (We thought it was at Beaufort, but it is at Tomies, not far from The Gap of Dunloe and Kate Kearney's Cottage.) However Mary assured us it wasn't a problem and produced tea and cake for us.
I suspect we had the nicest room, at the front with a balcony overlooking the lake. Beautiful. Unfortunately with only 2 nights there, we had too much to do to sit too long enjoying the one view. Breakfast was cooked to perfection. The highlight of our 12 day Irish trip was The Gap of Dunloe, which we did on horse and cart - a truly memorable experience. We did not know about this until Sean warned us not to take the car up during the day. We did, in fact, manage to find our way down it by car the second evening. Still lovely. But if you're going to do that, make surre you have a GOOD map. We got lost several times first.
I would definitely recommend The Invicta and we hope to return as there are so many things we didn't see. And I have only found out since we got back that Sean has boats that we could have hired! I apologise for being very late with this review, but I wanted to include photos that we had lost, even though they do not do it justice.

Room Tip: I think they are all nice, but the front one with the balcony had a wonderful view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kirbyminder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
7.7 km away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
422 reviews
2.4 km away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
7.2 km away
Gleann Fia Country House
Gleann Fia Country House
#19 of 143 in Killarney
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Dunloe View Hostel
Dunloe View Hostel
#1 of 2 in Fossa
243 reviews
6.2 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#2 of 47 in Killarney
91 reviews
7.9 km away
No photo provided
Fairways Bed and Breakfast
#103 of 143 in Killarney
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invicta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invicta

Address: Tomies | Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: €88 - €134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Invicta 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Invicta is situated on a beautiful setting overlooking Killarney's Lower Lough Leane, known for Salmon and Trout fishing. Boats are available from the proprietor to enable you to enjoy both fishing and touring the beautiful lake. The house is within walking distance (300 metres) to Tomies Oak Wood and O'Sullivan's Cascade. The Invicta is also just 5km from the famous Gap of Dunloe. It is an ideal base for golfers as there is a choice of 9 or 18 hole courses in the area. Recommended by "Le Guide du Routard." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Invicta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Invicta Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing