We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get better!!!!!!!”
Review of The Invicta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Invicta
Ranked #48 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2014

If you want a quiet peaceful place to rest, fish, walk the Gap, or just take a quiet stroll, The Invicta is the place. Sean and Mary Sweeney make you feel at home and relaxed from the minute you arrive with coffee, tea, and small treats. You notice their Bed and Breakfast is absolutely clean and friendly. The rooms are en-suite and perfectly immaculate. There is no detail that is over looked from cleanliness to the Full Irish Breakfast included in a moderate price. If you want just a fried egg and toast, no problem, order what you want or enjoy the cereal and fresh fruit.
Sean has 5 clean and well kept boats to take out on the lake. Mary and Sean can tell you great places to eat, sites to see, walks or carts up the Dunlow Gap, or jet sit and have a pleasant conversation with two of the greatest hosts you could ever wish for.
If I could rate this bed and Breakfast I would give it 5 stars and if I had to describe it with one word it would be PERFECTION!!!! Feel the real Irish hospitality!

Room Tip: You will love every rooms Mary and Sean make sure every detail is PERFECT!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at The Invicta for 2 nights in late July 2014. We were warmly greeted by Sean and made to feel very welcome with tea and coffee and some freshly baked cakes. The B&B is right near Lough Leane and has beautiful views of the lake and the surrounding mountains. It turned out to be a perfect location for exploring the Gap of Dunloe, the Ring of Kerry, and the Dingle Peninsula.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were all very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious (cereal, fruit, eggs made to order, toast, and/or a full Irish breakfast).
Sean and Mary are friendly, gracious and wonderful hosts and their home is awesome!! We would definitely recommend The Invicta to both family and friends.

Debbie

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Invicta for 2 nights in late June 2014. We originally were only going to stay for 1 night, but liked it so much we stayed for another. We found them on trip advisor and liked the location to the ring of Kerry and Killarney (about a 15 minute drive). This B&B is nestled between the mountains and Lough Leane and gave us a peaceful escape where we could enjoy nature and each other's company. The view from our window was breathtaking. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Sean and Mary are friendly and gracious hosts. Breakfast in the morning was delicious (full Irish, eggs made
to order, toast, OJ, coffee and tea, cereal, and fruit). We hung out in the living room during the evenings and watch the World Cup with Sean and talked about current events in Ireland. I would definitely recommend The Invicta to friends and family. Definitely a great value!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Kelsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We found this b&b by coincidence and we loved it from A to Z. It is located at 100m from the lake. You have very nice things to do around in the Nature and the owners of this b&b are fantastic. You will feel at home there. We had the best breakfast we tried in Ireland during our holidays. We also enjoyed the boat and the fishing. Thank you for all ! (Do not focus on the picture of their ads, because the place is much better than the pictures)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Damien M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Mary was awesome and so was her home! It is in such a beautiful area and the house was spotless! It is right across from a lake and has awesome views! She suggested an awesome restaurant and breakfast was perfect the next day. It was in the perfect location for the Ring of Kerry. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jwguaraldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
4.4 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.8 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,325 reviews
2.4 km away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
7.4 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Invicta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Invicta

Address: Tomies | Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: €30 - €45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Invicta 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Invicta is situated on a beautiful setting overlooking Killarney's Lower Lough Leane, known for Salmon and Trout fishing. Boats are available from the proprietor to enable you to enjoy both fishing and touring the beautiful lake. The house is within walking distance (300 metres) to Tomies Oak Wood and O'Sullivan's Cascade. The Invicta is also just 5km from the famous Gap of Dunloe. It is an ideal base for golfers as there is a choice of 9 or 18 hole courses in the area. Recommended by "Le Guide du Routard." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Invicta Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing