We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointing pet farm- over priced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #91 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Mallow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing pet farm- over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I didn't stay at the B&B but was a day visitor for the pet farm.I was very disappointed with the pet farm, 3 puppies, about 12 rabbits, a goat in a pen, sheep roaming that would run away when you approach, with regards to the larger animalas, an oschrich, 2 donkies 2 pot bellied pigs and a few duck might I add all penned in, and of course horses again all penned in. The advertsed free pony ride is only for about 3 minutes. Totally over priced €7 for adults and €5 for a child, the play area had alot of sheep and dog droppings and play tractors that the pedals don't work.Would not return to the place... the family are very friendly and the younger teenager who feeds the stock was very friendly and chatted to the children. I was talking to another lady there with her daughter she was told by the owner Paudie for an extra €2 he would give her an extra long pony ride !!!!!! the child got the same time as mine and I didn't give any extra money. The toilets are spotless as is the area where the few small animals are, but I feel for this price either more accessible animals like Kennedy farm in Killarney ...or reduce your price for the skelton pet farm. Visited last year but the pet farm was only started up so I returned this year expecting the pet farm to be fully stocked very disapponting day out.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scorpiomallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    35
    10
    11
    18
See reviews for
61
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We were pleasantly surprised about our reservation. The B&B is located adjacent to the Killarney National Forest and provides a very rural setting even though it's only 10 minutes to downtown Killarney. The Donovan's are excellent hosts. The rooms are very well maintained and well furnished. The breakfasts were ample and delicious. An added bonus was the adjacent rising stables, where wilth very minimal effort, you're able to enjoy a horse ride right into the forest. The petting animals also were the main attraction for our your boys who never wanted to leave. If we ever go back, we'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalshiesTBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Muckross Riding Stables. This a unique place because it is a working sheep ranch with a petting farm and stables and is located on the Ring of Kerry. Maureen and family were so friendly and welcoming and they made you feel like you were part of their family. Our accommodations were excellent - a large bedroom (great view of sheep and horses) w/bath --and a wonderful breakfast. Maureen was very helpful with directions for driving the Ring of Kerry and other visitor attractions in the area. We took a very informative one hour horseback ride with Pawdy into Killarney National Park, which is near the premises. It is a short drive into Killarney, which has great pubs and restaurants. This was our last stop and we really enjoyed our stay here. We used vouchers and had no problems.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav2sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We loved staying here and would definitely come back. The bedroom was much bigger than the average B&B, and our view out the window was stunning. We loved seeing the horses out in the pasture every morning.

Not the fastest cooked breakfast in Ireland, but definitely one of the tastiest. Well-worth the wait.

They offer horse-back riding right on the grounds. We were disappointed that the rain prevented us from being able to go riding.

Maureen was most attentive to our needs. Our jeans were wet one day after being out in the rain, and when she came to clean the room, she had them dried out for us!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We traveled to Ireland with our two daughters (18 and 21) and stayed in many places over our 12 day stay. This was, by far, our favorite place! We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The family room that we stayed in was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Maureen was a wonderful and gracious host and gave us lots of tips on the best things to do in the area. The location was great for side trips to the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Penisula, and the trails around the National Park. We started every day with a delicious Irish breakfast in a dining room that looked out on the sheeps, horses and other animals grazing. Thank you Maureen, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4-Fore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 km away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
1.2 km away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 km away
Shepherds Lodge
Shepherds Lodge
#86 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Killarney Lakeland Cottages
Killarney Lakeland Cottages
#10 of 45 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.4 km away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#8 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 km away
Carriglea House
Carriglea House
#7 of 45 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Property: Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney
Muckross Riding Stables B&B Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing