We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing pet farm- over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Muckross Riding Stables B&B
Ranked #76 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I didn't stay at the B&B but was a day visitor for the pet farm.I was very disappointed with the pet farm, 3 puppies, about 12 rabbits, a goat in a pen, sheep roaming that would run away when you approach, with regards to the larger animalas, an oschrich, 2 donkies 2 pot bellied pigs and a few duck might I add all penned in, and of course horses again all penned in. The advertsed free pony ride is only for about 3 minutes. Totally over priced €7 for adults and €5 for a child, the play area had alot of sheep and dog droppings and play tractors that the pedals don't work.Would not return to the place... the family are very friendly and the younger teenager who feeds the stock was very friendly and chatted to the children. I was talking to another lady there with her daughter she was told by the owner Paudie for an extra €2 he would give her an extra long pony ride !!!!!! the child got the same time as mine and I didn't give any extra money. The toilets are spotless as is the area where the few small animals are, but I feel for this price either more accessible animals like Kennedy farm in Killarney ...or reduce your price for the skelton pet farm. Visited last year but the pet farm was only started up so I returned this year expecting the pet farm to be fully stocked very disapponting day out.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank scorpiomallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Muckross Riding Stables B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We were pleasantly surprised about our reservation. The B&B is located adjacent to the Killarney National Forest and provides a very rural setting even though it's only 10 minutes to downtown Killarney. The Donovan's are excellent hosts. The rooms are very well maintained and well furnished. The breakfasts were ample and delicious. An added bonus was the adjacent rising stables, where wilth very minimal effort, you're able to enjoy a horse ride right into the forest. The petting animals also were the main attraction for our your boys who never wanted to leave. If we ever go back, we'd love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalshiesTBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Muckross Riding Stables. This a unique place because it is a working sheep ranch with a petting farm and stables and is located on the Ring of Kerry. Maureen and family were so friendly and welcoming and they made you feel like you were part of their family. Our accommodations were excellent - a large bedroom (great view of sheep and horses) w/bath --and a wonderful breakfast. Maureen was very helpful with directions for driving the Ring of Kerry and other visitor attractions in the area. We took a very informative one hour horseback ride with Pawdy into Killarney National Park, which is near the premises. It is a short drive into Killarney, which has great pubs and restaurants. This was our last stop and we really enjoyed our stay here. We used vouchers and had no problems.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trav2sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We loved staying here and would definitely come back. The bedroom was much bigger than the average B&B, and our view out the window was stunning. We loved seeing the horses out in the pasture every morning.

Not the fastest cooked breakfast in Ireland, but definitely one of the tastiest. Well-worth the wait.

They offer horse-back riding right on the grounds. We were disappointed that the rain prevented us from being able to go riding.

Maureen was most attentive to our needs. Our jeans were wet one day after being out in the rain, and when she came to clean the room, she had them dried out for us!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NSutrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We traveled to Ireland with our two daughters (18 and 21) and stayed in many places over our 12 day stay. This was, by far, our favorite place! We stayed for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The family room that we stayed in was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. Maureen was a wonderful and gracious host and gave us lots of tips on the best things to do in the area. The location was great for side trips to the Ring of Kerry, the Dingle Penisula, and the trails around the National Park. We started every day with a delicious Irish breakfast in a dining room that looked out on the sheeps, horses and other animals grazing. Thank you Maureen, we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4-Fore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#16 of 38 in Killarney
1,568 reviews
3.2 km away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#21 of 38 in Killarney
520 reviews
1.3 km away
Shepherds Lodge
Shepherds Lodge
#82 of 143 in Killarney
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Inveraray Farm Guesthouse
17.5 km away
Farmstead Lodge B&B
Farmstead Lodge B&B
#106 of 143 in Killarney
20 reviews
4.4 km away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Riding Stables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Riding Stables B&B

Address: Mangerton Road | Muckross, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: €73 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farmhouse set in a peaceful valley. Large warm comfortable rooms with panoramic views of the mountains, oak forest with red deer. Our area is considered a walkers paradise and of course perfect for riding. Short stroll to Muckross House and the Killarney Lakes.Pet farm avaible to gusts staying and pony rides avaible for small children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Muckross Riding Stables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Riding Stables Bed And Breakfast
Muckross Riding Stables Hotel Killarney
Muckross Riding Stables B&B Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing