We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Killarney”
Review of Carriglea House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carriglea House
Tyler, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Killarney”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We have stayed at Carriglea House several times and it is our favorite place in Killarney. The welcome mat is always out and if it's slightly worn looking, it's because so many people, like us, step in for a lovely, quiet, and relaxing visit. Eileen, John and their beautiful children provide old fashioned comfort and warm hospitality in their 150-year-old home overlooking the lakes and the National Park. A delicious Irish breakfast is served in the front dining room, beautifully decorated in antiques. Walk across the road and you're in the park which can keep both adults and children entertained with jogging, walks, cart rides, boating, house tours, old cemetery and church ruins, restored farmhouses, etc In busy and touristy Killarney, Carriglea House is an oasis of calm, quiet civility and is well located for touring other areas. Thanks, Eileen and John, for warm and wonderful memories. We hope to see you again!

Room Tip: For a view of the lakes, ask for a front room in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasKBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were thrilled with our 2 nights stay at the Carriglea House. We were greated by our gracious host who spent time wtih us to go over what we had seen and what we needed to see. She got out books and maps to help us. The rooms were wonderful and the breakfast was one of the best during our entire time in Ireland. I would highly recommend staying at the Carriglea House, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Irene was a wonderful host and made us feel very welcome to their beautiful old family home built around 1860. She also was very helpful as we planned our trips around the area and told us of places to visit that we had not put down on our itinerary.
Our room was at the top of the grand steps, and had a small verandah opening out to a view of gardens, National Park forest and a pet horse and donkey. The room was beautifully decorated as was the large ensuite adjoining our room.
Breakfast was delicious and kept us going for most of the day.
Thankyou Irene & John for your warm hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotti17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, NC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Carriglea House is located in a beautiful quiet setting. Unfortunately, we were quite disappointed with our stay and checked out after one night. Carriglea House needs a major upfit. When we entered the home we immediately noticed that the entry "welcome mat" was worn out and the walls were cracked and scuffed.The wallpaper and paint are peeling and the carpeting is threadbare. The guestrooms are no longer tastefully decorated but a collection of mix-matched furnishings. Our bathroom was quite moldy and the plumbing needed constant attention.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tpcotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boz4477, Owner at Carriglea House, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear TPCotter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and you are correct when you state that Carriglea is in a beautifull setting, indeed, one very successful travel writer once described it thus 'For sheer fantasy of setting nothing compares to Carriglea'. Carriglea is an authentic Victorian historic house at B&B prices, it is over 150 years old, we state this fact in all our promotions, web sites etc. As you were booked by a third party you may have been unaware of this important fact.

I have noted your comment about the welcome mat and it has been replaced. The carpet in your room was new and only fitted 4 months prior to your stay and is a quaility Irish wool carpet and could not have been tread bare.The mix matched furniture confuses me and I can only presume you are refering to the antiques, which are scattered throughout the house.We are the oldest B&B in Killarney, established in 1932 encompasing 4 generations of our family and have many repeat guests. Also new guests love its old world charm, the view and the huge grounds, the horse, donkey and wild rabbits on the lawn etc.The room you had is a much requested room with a beautifull view of the Lake and mountains, a unique room, a very romantic room.

You mention you had to leave a day early, when questioned at the time, was there a problem, I was told by your partner that you had to be in Cork and all was ok, therefore I am surprised at your review and why you choose not to voice your concerns at the time. Eileen, my wife checked you in and gave you some wonderfull advise about what to do and see, which you availed of, I note from your reviews of other premises that this was a big plus for them, but did not count at all with us, The reason you had to be in Cork did not surprise me as I had mentioned earlier that you had been booked by a third party and I had got the impression that your itinerary was messed up, You may be unaware that The Ring of Kerry tour which was prebooked for you by your agent, arrived a day before you did. I convinced the driver to return the next morning, which he did and you got to enjoy the tour unaware of the mix up. We care about our guests and are very approachable. Carriglea closes each Winter for maintainence work and reopens in late Spring. We work very hard to preserve this house which is considered by the Killarney locals as one of its treasures.

Kind regards,

John and Eileen Beazley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This B &B was definately the pick of our 22 days in Ireland. Just 2Klm from town but set back off the road (about 80 mts) on a slight hill with great views over the lake if you get one of the rooms overlooking the front of the property like we did.
Every thing about this place was excellent . Room, ensuite, breakfast,location (it overlooks the national park where Muckross house and gardens are located) and the hosts

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake ."Awesome"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greytravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,215 reviews
1.4 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,545 reviews
0.3 km away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
0.9 km away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
510 reviews
1.4 km away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#24 of 38 in Killarney
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriglea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriglea House

Property: Carriglea House
Address: Carriglea House Muckross Road | N71, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carriglea House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriglea House Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing