We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
238
21
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
21
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park ring of kerry home baking homemade treats books and dvds great recommendations for restaurants breakfast was delicious minute walk from the centre recommend this b b to anyone ireland trip beautiful killarney every evening recommend staying here would definitely stay here again beds were comfortable room was spotless visiting killarney
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at Sika Lodge in early August for 3 nights, I can only praise the professionalism and hospitality that both the hostess and her husband showed in not only making us feel like we were home, but also for the precise, helpful information on the many the excursions available and generally any information from shopping to eating out. The room/en suite were immaculate and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is a treat( but not the only ones), a fantastic menu with a nice variety to suit all. It is extremely tasty and certainty set you off for a day's discovery of Killarney and the surrounding area.

Overall we would highly recommend Sika Lodge for a trip to beautiful Killarney!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Roger5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This the proprietors refuse to accept credit card payments. It is unreasonable these days to expect guests to show up with hundreds of Euro in their pocket to cover their entire stay. I try to go cashless as much as I can during my travels.

Otherwise, the room and bath were clean although the shower did not maintain a constant water temperature while running. The breakfast choices were traditional Irish breakfast, smoked salmon bagel or potato waffles. The proprietor was pleasant.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank iixii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sika Lodge K, Manager at Sika Lodge B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2016

Hi IIXII! Many thanks for your review. I feel I must repsond to the disappointing rating, to clear up the credit card issue. To get such a low rating is very unusual for us, especially as we offer facilities that other B&Bs do not, such as fresh water in rooms, biscuits & tea and coffee facilities in room, DVDs, and different freshly baked sweet treats on arrival daily, to name but a few.
We did not 'refuse' to take credit cards, we simply do not have that facility. We are a young family running a part time business and like so many part time Bed & Breakfasts, cannot pay for the year round rental of a credit card terminal.
All guests who book with us are made aware of this at time of booking. It is noted on our information page also on Booking.com, and guests are made aware of this during the booking process when booking directly with us
Furthermore prior to arrival I email Booking.com guests to remind them, in case they missed it at the point of booking.
We also offer bank transfers for guests who want to pay in advance of their stay.
Therefore, had you read the booking information at the point of booking, or the email I sent prior to your arrival you would have already known that we do not have a credit card terminal. Guests are free to cancel their reservation at any time, if this does not suit.

If I recall correctly your booking was for one night and therefore did not cost hundreds of euro, not even one hundred in fact. Had you voiced your concerns with me prior to your stay or during your stay we could have come to some alternative payment arrangement, instead nothing was said other than you had a pleasant stay, and then you take to social media....
Exaggerated and unfair reviews like this is the reason for my honest and frank reply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Located in Ballydowney along the N72 is a quaint five room B&B, a short 3-5 minute drive to the center of Killarney. It is exceptionally well furnished with a comfortable sitting room which you'll want to spend hours cuddled up with a book, exceptionally clean & functional rooms, and a lovely hostess/proprietor (Serena) who takes great pride in ensuring her guests are well taken care of. The morning breakfast is made to order consisting of a full Irish Breakfast, eggs, sausages, puddings, Irish Bacon, or options such as Salmon on a bagel with cream cheese, or a double meat option, continental, porridge, whatever you'd like. Serena is an accomplished Chef who lovingly prepares the breakfasts each morning. In addition she is exceptionally knowledgeable on the local sights, restaurants, hidden gems & made reservations at two wonderful restaurants for the evening. The Sika Lodge is a B&B that you'll want to come back to time & time again. A final note, Serena could charge twice of what she is asking and the property would continue to be fully booked each evening. Book early!

Room Tip: Recommend rooms on the back side away from the N72. Book early, the lodge was fully booked each of the four evenings we stayed.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manbyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at Serena's. Everything is done for you to have a nice moment in Killarney. Very warm welcome, lots of good advices on Killarney and the Ring of Kerry. The place is beautiful, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfast is excellent... In a word we totally recommend it!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank X318XIsarahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We felt very welcome at this family run b&b. Serena our hostess could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had a well decorated,very clean and comfortable room. The breakfast was great and we were given good advice on local services and our planned activities. The only downside was some traffic noise which I understand is being addressed soon.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank bestnestgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews