We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See what a difference a stay makes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Just after another return visit to the Plaza Hotel Killarney. We stayed in Suite 401 (well worth the treat of upgrading) The room was luxurious, spacious, immaculately clean with beautiful views of the mountains & national park. There was also something magical about hearing the gentle trot of the horses & jaunting cars outside our window in such beautiful & relaxing surroundings. Fabulous power shower & jacuzzi bath with twin sinks. The shower alone was like visiting a hydrotherapy suite! The location is ideal as you are in the centre of the town, this saves you on transport etc. We also had cocktails, highly recommend sampling! We ate in the restaurant & again it comes highly recommended. I thoroughly enjoyed a 3 course meal, & breakfast the following morning, my compliments to the chef. The staff really go above & beyond expectations. From dealing with Siobhan for the telephone reservation, Amy in reception on arrival & another gentleman. (Apologies I cannot think of the name) Aaron who was most gracious with room service. They made our stay most enjoyable & pleasurable& were always greeted with a friendly smile. We CANNOT wait to return! We also enjoyed the Spa which sent us home relaxed & revived. This hotel has the art of exceeding your highest expectations. Would be thoroughly deserving of a 5 Star rating *****

Room Tip: Book a suite, soo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Limarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2015

Dear Limarsh,

Thank you for your lovely review on your experience with the Killarney Plaza Hotel & Spa.
It is heart warming to read about your experience and your wonderfully detailed review on our food offerings, cocktails (recently revamped menu), facilities and services. It really sounds like you loved your return stay with us.
We highly recommend our suites too, the are simply beautiful!

I am so glad that you found our staff knowledgeable, helpful and welcoming. This really makes the difference when you travel away.

Kindest Regards,
Orla O'Driscoll
Guest Relations Manager

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

Been here many times and always enjoyed it but but had very disappointing experience. Understaffed. ..staff very unorgsnised..2 hour's for a main course and a coffee. 40 mins waiting for the coffee. .. won't be going back

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank sunshinegirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlazaManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2015

Dear Sunshinegirl72,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and your experience with us.
I am deeply disappointed to read about your experience, I can assure you this is not the usual experience for our guests. At times when service is especially busy, for example, especially on a day like yesterday, Munster Final day in Kerry, our services may be affected by waiting times etc. We do try our best to offset the negative affects of such days but invariably there will often be waiting times and staff under some pressure.

I do sincerely hope you will consider coming back to our hotel again in the near future.
If you would like to discuss this issue further please do not hesitate to contact me on 0646621100 or managers@odonoghue-ring-hotels.com

Kindest Regards,
Orla O'Driscoll

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2015

We travelled her with our two teenage girls and we had two rooms. Our room was extremely large and there room was a normal size hotel room. Our room was on the corner of the hotel and we had windows on both sides which made the room very bright and airy with the drapes opened. E had a nice size desk, separate sitting area and plenty of closet and draw space. When we first entered the room we couldn't figure out how to turn on the lights but I saw this device that looked like you put your room card key in and it worked the lights came on. When you left the room you took you key and the lights and A/C went out. The pool was big enough to do laps if you didn't do a flip turn so it was nice to get some laps in while in Ireland which I didn't count on. Bring a bathing cap as they make you were one while in pool. If you forget the will provide one for 1.75 euro. We had breakfast each morning at the hotel and it was very good. The service was excellent and the room was large and comfortable. It closed at 10am but it looked like they gave a 15 minute grace period. If you showed up at 10:00 there was still plenty of food out and you could ask for anything and they would provide. Staff was great and the hotel ad several bar area's and eating area's.
If you drive the entrance to the parking garage is in the back of the hotel. I would come back again and you really cant go wrong here.

Room Tip: ask for the corner room on the 2nd or 3rd floor that provides views from both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank valwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015

We stayed in the Killarney Plaza from Thursday to Saturday. The place was very clean. The staff were courteous. The breakfast buffet had a good variety, and the chef was very accommodating. Several members of our party kept raving about the porridge so I had to try it on the second day. I never had porridge before but it was very good. The chef was kind enough to share his secret, too! We had dinner at the bar and the restaurant-food was excellent.
My only complaint was each time we went back and forth to the elevators, there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke. I checked-each room had a no smoking sign and the floor itself was a non smoking floor. I went to the front desk to complain and I didn't feel like the woman at reception wanted to deal with the problem. Yes I understood that because I couldn't exactly pinpoint the room they couldn't go around accusing guests. But she could have at least reassured me that there would be an attempt at an investigation. I was mostly afraid that whoever was smoking in their rooms would set the place on fire.
All in all, however, we would come back for another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlerph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here for 2 nights at the plaza lovely staff beautiful rooms and the food was lovely I would love to stay again anytime the hotel is in an ideal location and the staff go the extra mile to be helpful i would highly recommend the plaza to anyone to stay

Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank celtic m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
International Hotel Killarney
0.4 km away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,492 reviews
0.3 km away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#11 of 38 in Killarney
1,008 reviews
3.9 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Address: Kenmare Place | Main Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#21 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: €124 - €180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry and in the heart of Killarney town centre. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Spa and private Leisure Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney
Killarney Plaza Hotel And Spa Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing