We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Kerry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Kerry”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Kerry over the years and here is definitely the best.
We live in Cork and both I and my wife both work so a few weekends away in Killarney is a must for us throughout the year. Normally we stay in nice hotels 4 star plus and for location alone you can't surpass the Plaza. I know the hotel car park is small but as said in other reviews there is a public car park at the back of the hotel, so we never had a problem.
The lobby is very impressive, the residents bar near the restaurant is really beautiful and very romantic with a great cocktail menu. The night we stayed they had a piano player which was a nice touch.

The food we had was excellent, I had a duck starter which was infused in tea leaves and was 5 out of 5 for taste and presentation. I have stayed in other 5 star properties nearby in the Park and Aghadoe and the Food here as well as service surpasses them all.

The rooms are very clean and nicely done. The bed was very comfortable and they had Molton Brown shampoos as standard which again was very impressive.

The hotel is spot bang in the centre of the town so Nozaed0401 need for taxis. We ate in the Flesk the second night which is only a few doors away. This again was very good, the owner was an ex Vietnam veteran so the walls are full of American memorabilia.

All in all we had a great stay in Killarney so from my past experiences this hotel is definitely the best in town.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nozaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    305
    76
    31
    21
See reviews for
217
551
38
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

we went there for a shopping trip with another couple. great location and very peaceful and
relaxing. we will be back next year

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Meal & accommodation excellent. Good display of Irish produce for the breakfast. Only issue is parking - Hotel car park under hotel in very limited and narrow to access otherwise you have to park in the public car park at the rear of the hotel which is controlled by the local council.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Have stayed in quite a few hotels in Killarney. The Plaza was my next port of call. Yes the decor is eye catching and attractive.
The breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful.
I stayed from Thursday to Sunday so as you can imagine Saturday was quite busy.
We had the unfortunate luck to have a room beside a group of women as what I can assue was a hen. Blaring music from 9 till 10 at night..fine got over that..
however when I am woken at 2 in the morning with banging on doors and music blaring from next door I was not a happy customer.........constant replay of Rihanna's We Found Love will forever be etched in my mind for some time.
I do plan to return as the bar offers a wide range of cocktails but I will not let the influence of cocktails to cause me roaring outside other people's bedrooms.
Our room was facing the busy street so had the treat of listening to drunk people's rendition of Wonderwall outside....even with the windows closed.

So word of warning..ask to be located in a quiet area of the hotel....and the drunk outside....well if you can't beat them........

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Killarney Park tend to be quieter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Just back from the Killarney Plaza and had to write this review. I work as a bookings agent for a travel company and have never experienced such an amazing hotel as this one! From check in to check out, everything was amazing. We stayed for the anniversary break, checked into our huge room which had a massive bed, chocolate covered strawberrys, truffles, wine and water! also huge wardrobes and slippers and robe. shower was amazing great pressure. The spa products in the bathroom were gorgeous and got replaced on the next day which was a bonus! Breakfast was lovely all types and tastes catered for but go early as it's less busy and more choice of food. Everything from trad irish fry to continental to american waffles and pancakes! All staff were more than helpful and nice everyone from the cleaners to the managers stopped to say hello to us which was lovely. We had dinner inlcuded on the Saturday night in the main restaurant and the female manager there was just the nicest woman! So helpful and considerate! We had the nicest dinner I have had in a long time i had the salmon and 'himself' had the steak and both were the biggest I had seen - especially for free! A three course meal and then a large anniversary cake was given to us which was lovely - such a nice touch! They even wrapped up the cake for us to bring home with us. Everything in this hotel is made with the finest products from the furniture to the meals. Went to the leisure centre also, pool a little smaller than most but the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room definately made up for it.

in one word, the stay was magical and i can't wait to go again and would highly recommend this hotel. Have not stayed in any of the other O Donoghue hotels but if the Plaza hotel is anything to go by, then I am sure they are all great.

Room Tip: We Were on the second floor. Lovely view and could here the jaunting cars pass by...lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aweller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.3 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
0.1 km away
International Hotel Killarney
0.4 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
867 reviews
1.3 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,097 reviews
2.2 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa

Property: Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Address: Kenmare Place, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Killarney
#6 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Killarney Plaza Hotel reigns over Killarney Town with grace and glamour. It is located adjacent to Killarney National Park and the gateway to the Ring of Kerry. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, superb restaurants, bars, conference and banquet facilities and an exclusive and luxurious Sundari Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Plaza Hotel Killarney
Plaza Killarney
Killarney Plaza Hotel And Spa Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing