We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, hostel”
Review of Railway Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Railway Hostel
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Good little hostel right near the bus station. Really good HOT showers which is always nice, although they are those push ones that only last 10seconds or so. Good kitchen and good free breakfast (cereal, toast etc) The only negative is the lck of storage in the room. With 9 people in a dorm and 9 bags it a bit cramped. But otherwise a good, cheap, clean option.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hstewart2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 125 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

I would agree with Gerry S on what he said.I along with a group of friends came in while they were arguing about a deposit.To say this woman was ignorant is an understatement.She referred to us as troublemakers.She said that there were decent people staying there trying to put accross the fact we wernt decent people.We didnt cause any trouble.Im not sure if gerry S and his group did.but we also got no deposit back for being too noisy.Iv never met a more ignorant person in my life.A proper witch.Stay away from the place id ather look at sleep on the street than look at that big puss behind the counter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ivormcsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Location is grand,price is ok but the Staff are woeful,arrogant & ignorant as they come. Very heavy set strong woman with black hair at reception with a face on her like a wet November Monday morning would want to brush up on her social skills doing nothing but throwing dirty looks & barking out order's & warning's even though we just came through the door, the only time i saw a smile on her moody face was when she arrogantly expressed her delight about us losing our deposit over a smoker in the room,continuing on to shout at us in front of other guests describing us as ''Rats''.Claiming our deposit that she was keeping was being used to pay for the room to be cleaned, when asked, would it not be cleaned anyway regardless of the cigarette's she refused to answer, it was clear the compensated €90 was going no where only into her pocket. She gave off the impression she was a manic depressive who was extremely sexually frustrated. Very un-pleasant rude, obnoxious, disgusting human being who i hope i never have the misfortune to set eyes upon again. Stay well clear of this dump!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay clear of this place, hundred's of other Hostel's around much nicer cheaper & friend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed here November of last year. A tiny walk from the town on a slight hill- but the hill may be diffucult climbing in heels!! On the night I stayed there the Guards were called for an incident was a bit scary but was dealt with quicky. The rooms have cute names in relation to animals. The receptionist was helpful and nice-he gave my friend an extra pillow for the night! The bunk beds are hard to climb!! Im 5'7 and needed to pull over a chair to climb on the top bunk!! Room was very hot aswel and needed the window open all night. Rooms are exceptionally small aswel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

- very loud during the whole day & night
- too many people
- very dirty
- Not enough dishes in the kitchen! Couldnt drink a tea in the morning!
- Nearly impossible to take a shower in the dorm - no temperature regulation
- experienced a doublebooking, had to change the room at two o'clock in the morning. There was someone laying in my bed. Was not my fault.
- .....

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaffeemitsahne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
781 reviews
0.9 km away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#3 of 46 in Killarney
103 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
1.6 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hostel

Address: Fair Hill Cottages Railway Lodge 12 Fair Hill, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range: €19 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Killarney Railway Hostel is situated across the road from the Bus and Train stations in the heart of Killarney Town. It is close to the famous Killarney National Park and an ideal base from which variousother beautiful destnaions may be explored. The Hostel has everything one would need for a pleasant vacation including complimentary breakfast, self catering Kitchen, 24 hour recepton and FREE Wi Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Railway Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Railway Hostel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing