We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hostel”
Review of Neptunes Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Neptunes Hostel
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cute little hostel”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Irish hospitality means a warm welcome, friendly staff and a homey atmosphere and Neptunes is the epitome of Irish hospitality.

I stayed in a 6-bed dorm during a Shamrocker Tour and found the rooms to be basic yet comfortable and cosy. My bed was great and the location of the room was a bit further from the street so we slept without a sound.

The hostel is set in the perfect spot right in amongst restaurants, bars and clubs, there's also a Tesco 2 minutes walk away.

Free wifi was great in the common areas. Kitchen is huge. Plenty of space to relax and read a book or chat with fellow travellers.

Staff were lovely and made sure you were well looked after.

Overall, very happy with this hostel. Will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    130
    74
    23
    13
See reviews for
27
73
75
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cashel, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

the hostel seems to be divided into two parts. the rooms to the left of reception are a bit old and depressing. the ones to the right are brighter and cleaner. i think these are the ensuite dorms so if booking ask for an ensuite dorm. staff very helpful about the region.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank helens044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

we booked a room over the phone with neptunes one week before arriving.. spoke to two different staff and gave visa card details.. arrived on the day to be told they had no record of us or our booking.... and had no available rooms on the night.. guy behind desk also said it was the third time it had happened that day... no apology or any consession was given just a VERY vague list of possible other hostels in kilarney...

found they didn't care about the fact we were stuck with no where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cork1987Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights while traveling through Ireland and were very pleased with the service and price. For a hostel Neptune's is quite good, and we had an excellent and clean little private room with our own shower/bathroom. The breakfast was a nice touch, and the we received great advice from the staff members about where to go and what to see in the area. For the budget travel this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlpineExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I can't say enough good things about this hostel. To me, the most important quality that a hostel can have is a warm and welcoming environment and the ability to easily meet fellow travelers. Neptune's has all of these qualities, and then some. The staff are unfailingly friendly, and full of suggestions and recommendations if you're looking for them. I decided at the last minute to visit the Gap of Dunloe, but I had missed the tour by 30 minutes. The woman at the desk helped me arrange alternate transportation, and called ahead so that the boat would wait for me until a quarter past 2. I noticed this level of service between the staff and other guests as well. They clearly want to make sure that their guests have the best possible time in Killarney, and it shows.

Yes, the rooms are small and the showers don't have the best water pressure. But I have to say, I slept great in my little bunk and the comforter was awesome. The communal kitchen is amazing. It's huge, with 6 large burners and an oven. There are plenty of pots, pans, cooking utensils, dishes, and glasses. Everyone seemed to cook their meals here, which made it really easy to meet and connect with fellow travelers. There is also a really cute little common room with a TV, board games, and a decent library. The free breakfast of toast, cereal, coffee, orange juice and tea was great. They also offer free wi-fi. The location is perfect, nestled right in the heart of town and close to everything. I really didn't want to leave, and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cerrizle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
0.3 km away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,484 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,217 reviews
0.3 km away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
908 reviews
0.2 km away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptunes Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptunes Hostel

Property: Neptunes Hostel
Address: Bishop's Lane | New Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cheap, Cheerful, Clean and Green!! Low prices, friendly and knowledgable staff, all the amenities you could ask for, free breakfast, free internet/wi-fi, satellite TV, clean and secure, and now as green as the landscape around us. We have recently received a Silver rating from Green tourism, an organization dedicated to reducing our impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Neptunes Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neptunes Hostel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing