We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience KerryClimbing
from US$77.85
More Info
Reviews (1,180)
Filter reviews
1,180 results
Traveller rating
1,164
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
1,164
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kerry climbing devil's ladder heavenly gates mountain rescue team highest peak guided hike local history ascent carrauntoohil safety summit knowledge pearse crampons geology peaks skills
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 1,180 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Great day ascending Ireland's highest by the classic mountaineering route, Howling Ridge!

Our guide Piaras was excellent and has a fantastic knowledge of the Reeks. Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Jimkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi again Jim, Hope you are well and lovely to hear how highly you rated your day be guided by KerryClimbing up the classic Howling Ridge on Carrauntoohil. It was a super day and it was a pleasure to spend it with you all climbing this most stunning of routes. Thanks a million for going to the effort of leaving such a glowing review and for choosing KerryClimbing to guide you on this most amazing of climbing adventures.

Le Meas
Piaras & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Piaras guided us up and down Carrauntoohil and it was amazing. I would highly recommend Kerry Climbing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank ryanmE5662PG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Thanks so much for choosing us to look after you on your memorable day climbing Ireland's highest and for then taking the time and effort to review your day and pass on your thoughts to others thinking of perhaps doing the same. It was lovely to spend the day climbing with you and pass on the many snippets of info and tales of these spectacular mountains.

All the best and kind regards
Catherine and Piaras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Did a guided ascent of the classic Howling Ridge with Piaras and two other clients. Couldn't recommend Kerry Climbing enough..the day was thrilling while being safe. Learnt loads and got heaps of advice from Piaras. This is my second course with Kerry Climbing and it has hugely improved my confidence in more challenging routes on the mountains

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 661bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hey there Bill, Delighted to hear from you again and to read how highly you rated your day with us on the mighty Howling Ridge. It gives us huge pleasure and a real sense of pride to hear such glowing feedback from our clients and this is quite obviously reflected when clients return time and time again as in your case. Great to hear that the courses completed with us have benefited your own personal climbing and confidence so much and we look forward to meeting you on some rocky ridge or icy gully in the months and years ahead. All the best with your trip to Scotland in January :-)

Many thanks for the excellent review and for taking the time to leave it.

Le Meas
Piaras & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

100% recommend this guided trek. Piaras was a charming and informative guide. We had booked in advance and were advised by Kerry Climbing the day before that the weather forecast was bad and they were happy to reschedule but we decided to proceed, we were very glad of Piaras's expertise in guiding us up and back down Carrauntoohil in the fog, wind and rain. Would do it again ... on a much nicer day next time though.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hiya Roisín, Thanks for your kind review, for taking the time to leave it and for choosing KerryClimbing to share in your hugely memorable day. It was a joy and pleasure to meet and guide you both and it just shows that with a KerryClimbing guide it doesn't have to be a sunny dry day to have a blast!!! Congratulations and a MASSIVE well done on ascending Ireland's highest on such a damp day and for being so upbeat and positive throughout ;-)

All the best and many thanks
Piaras and Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I can't thank all at Kerry climbing enough for the best experience! 37 of us took on a night time climb via the Devils Ladder for an amazing charity, Féileacáin. From responding to my many many emails straight away, to taking care of us on the mountain, everyone involved were top class. We were all very nervous and from the get go Piaras, Gerry, Keith and Mike put us at ease. We set off and we're given loads of info about the mountains and surrounding areas throughout all the breaks. We were so well looked after and we had such a laugh between us and with the lads that it made the experience so much more enjoyable. Iv also learned that there's nothing like the feeling of turning off your head torches in the middle of the night half way up the mountains to listen to the waterfalls and watch the moon shine across lakes. We were able to take in the lights of Killarney from a height and it was unlike anything iv done before.

I can't thanks them enough for all they done, including take care of me when I needed to sit and catch my breath on the descent! With a guide to the front of the group, the back and to each side, there was no way we were gonna go wrong. If I could give more then 5 stars I would! Thanks again guys x

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Lyndsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi Lyndsey - A huge congrats on your groups achievement and for such a worthy cause too, we applaud you! We were delighted to facilitate your group in summiting Irelands highest at night and definitely lucked out with the weather window! Being amongst these magnificent mountains is just super special at night and we had great craic and really enjoyed being part of the event.
Thank you for your review and for choosing KerryClimbing. Hopefully we will see you all again soon.
All the very best regards,
From all at KerryClimbing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews