We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Howling Ridge on Aug 23 2016”
Review of KerryClimbing

KerryClimbing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kerry Climbing is family run and is the premier and leading Mountain guiding company of the region. A high quality provider of courses in Rock-Climbing, Mountaineering, Navigation + Proficiency, Winter Mountaineering and Skills and much more. We are the leading providers of guided ascents of the MacGillycuddys Reeks mountains in Kerry and of Ireland's highest mountain Corran Tuathail (Carrauntoohil) which stands at 1039 metres. We also guide all the other mountainous areas of southern Ireland. From leisurely nature walks in ancient oak forests to challenging roped climbs and ascents. From the Easy to the Extreme!!! Walking, Scrambling, Rock Climbing, Mountaineering and courses. We provide full and half day guiding options for individuals or groups and cater for ALL levels of fitness and experience. We also provide corporate team building days and training days for future adventures and peaks. You can be assured of an adventure for everyone!!! "Experience the Adventure"
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

I am a Canadian with experience climbing some of the prized peaks in Canada's Rockies. I accompanied my wife for a trip to Ireland for a Conference in Dublin and decided to use my spare time to get into some real Irish mountaineering. I did my research and decided to engage Kerry Climbing and Piaras to guide me up an Irish Classic - Howling Ridge. Kerry Climbing secured two other young climbers to join us to create a dynamic 4-some. A fantastic day - Howling Ridge did not disappoint. Some great climbing and amazing views. While not as high as Canadian Summits, the quality of the climb was top notch. What really impressed me was Piaras' focus on safety and making sure that our team did an authentic Howling Ridge climb (no shortcuts). I specifically noted the time Piaras spent educating our team on safety, alpine knots and methods and the history and geology of the area. Climbing is not a job for Kerry Climbing but rather a passion!

I would highly recommend Piaras and Kerry Climbing for both novice and experienced climbers and Trekkers. The commitment to safety, education and a fantastic experience was truly noteworthy. The trip to the top of Ireland was a memorable experience.

Thank you Kerry Climbing!

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank ian477ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi again Ian, great to read your glowing review of your hugely memorable day with us climbing the mighty Howling Ridge of Corrán Tuathail. You hit the nail on the head when you quoted so correctly that climbing isn't just our job...but indeed our passion and this is something clients notice and highlight time and time again!!! We realise we are extremely lucky and fortunate to live, work and play amongst these most magnificent of peaks and it gives me great pleasure to hear from someone who has climbed the majestic Canadian rockies that they had just as good a time and challenging experience on Ireland's little summit. Climbing and being guided by us is an adventure and experience we strive to make as safe, informative, exciting, invigorating and most of all "fun" as possible and to hear your glowing comments and to read your kind feedback gives us great pride that we are achieving those goals and giving a memorable lifetime experience. Our company motto is for all clients to - "Experience the Adventure"...and boy did your day live up to this. All the best for the future and thank you once again for taking the time out to leave your review and helping inform others.

Yours sincerely
Piaras and Catherine and all the KC crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kerry climbing"
in 356 reviews
"howling ridge"
in 62 reviews
"devils ladder"
in 68 reviews
"o'sheas gully"
in 18 reviews
"winter skills course"
in 11 reviews
"heavenly gates"
in 25 reviews
"safe hands"
in 22 reviews
"rock climbing"
in 28 reviews
"challenging route"
in 10 reviews
"highest mountain"
in 28 reviews
"mountain rescue team"
in 9 reviews
"great company"
in 20 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 34 reviews
"an excellent guide"
in 21 reviews
"experienced guide"
in 9 reviews
"highest peak"
in 18 reviews
"climbing experience"
in 8 reviews
Filter

324 - 328 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Great day ascending Ireland's highest by the classic mountaineering route, Howling Ridge!

Our guide Piaras was excellent and has a fantastic knowledge of the Reeks. Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Jimkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hi again Jim, Hope you are well and lovely to hear how highly you rated your day be guided by KerryClimbing up the classic Howling Ridge on Carrauntoohil. It was a super day and it was a pleasure to spend it with you all climbing this most stunning of routes. Thanks a million for going to the effort of leaving such a glowing review and for choosing KerryClimbing to guide you on this most amazing of climbing adventures.

Le Meas
Piaras & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Piaras guided us up and down Carrauntoohil and it was amazing. I would highly recommend Kerry Climbing.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Thanks so much for choosing us to look after you on your memorable day climbing Ireland's highest and for then taking the time and effort to review your day and pass on your thoughts to others thinking of perhaps doing the same. It was lovely to spend the day climbing with you and pass on the many snippets of info and tales of these spectacular mountains.

All the best and kind regards
Catherine and Piaras

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

Did a guided ascent of the classic Howling Ridge with Piaras and two other clients. Couldn't recommend Kerry Climbing enough..the day was thrilling while being safe. Learnt loads and got heaps of advice from Piaras. This is my second course with Kerry Climbing and it has hugely improved my confidence in more challenging routes on the mountains

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank 661bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hey there Bill, Delighted to hear from you again and to read how highly you rated your day with us on the mighty Howling Ridge. It gives us huge pleasure and a real sense of pride to hear such glowing feedback from our clients and this is quite obviously reflected when clients return time and time again as in your case. Great to hear that the courses completed with us have benefited your own personal climbing and confidence so much and we look forward to meeting you on some rocky ridge or icy gully in the months and years ahead. All the best with your trip to Scotland in January :-)

Many thanks for the excellent review and for taking the time to leave it.

Le Meas
Piaras & Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2016

100% recommend this guided trek. Piaras was a charming and informative guide. We had booked in advance and were advised by Kerry Climbing the day before that the weather forecast was bad and they were happy to reschedule but we decided to proceed, we were very glad of Piaras's expertise in guiding us up and back down Carrauntoohil in the fog, wind and rain. Would do it again ... on a much nicer day next time though.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Roisin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerryClimbingRocks, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2016

Hiya Roisín, Thanks for your kind review, for taking the time to leave it and for choosing KerryClimbing to share in your hugely memorable day. It was a joy and pleasure to meet and guide you both and it just shows that with a KerryClimbing guide it doesn't have to be a sunny dry day to have a blast!!! Congratulations and a MASSIVE well done on ascending Ireland's highest on such a damp day and for being so upbeat and positive throughout ;-)

All the best and many thanks
Piaras and Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed KerryClimbing also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to KerryClimbing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing