We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem right on our doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Although local I hadn't been to this hotel for a wedding before. It was superb. The room where the wedding was held was huge and there was lots of space. The area behind the bride and groom had a curtain of lights and it looked so special. The food was great and the night went off without a hitch. We stayed in room 112 and the matress was the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Breakfast was a buffet so we could have a little of everything. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. A little gem right on our doorstep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretta49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 368 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights bed and breakfast and 1 dinner. We had a lovely time, the hotel is modern and the room was very comfortable. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly. The hotel is quiet and therefore the stay was very relaxing, it is in a nice location only a short drive from the town and from Muckross House and gardens. It was our second time staying there and I would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernadette48Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stay away from signs like this. I've never tasted food so saturated in oil and over cooked. I had fish and chips and it wasn't even worth €5. The foid stayed in my gut for many hours afterwards making me feel very unpleasant and bloated. Will not go back here again. Didn't stay here this time just passing through but have stayed before and found it a weak average but had returned for lunch as we were in the area as I felt the food hadn't been that bad when we had stayed but it has taken a tuen for the worst now.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hollyandfredfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear Hollyandfredfred

Feedback from our customers is always welcome and we take all comments into consideration so that we may improve the experience of our guests.

However the Food and Beverage team were shocked to hear that you had a negative experience in the Acorn Bar. Had you brought this matter to our attention on the day we would have rectified the matter immediately.

Our lunch special consists of a choice of one of 10 main courses for 10 Euro. This menu is extremely popular with locals and visitors and fish and chips is one of the best sellers on our Lunch Special Menu.

Our chef sources the fish for our fish and chips locally and it is freshly prepared on a daily basis. It is cooked in a crispy batter at a hot temperature so that the fish, when served, is so light it will melt in your mouth. We regularly get very positive comments on the taste and texture of the fish.

We are very proud of the standard of the cuisine in the Killarney Oaks but will use your comments constructively with our team.

our best regards


Richard Halpin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I booked this hotel on booking.com they took €170 out of my account through visa which is unusual. I presumed the stay was payed for but when we went to check out they wanted another €170 which is ridiculous because at that they had €340 belonging to us. Reception told us once we pay the €170 the other €170 would be put back in my account. It's been days later and I still havent received the money. We rang reception and they were no help telling us that shouldn't of happened and they would try to fix it. It's the worst system I have ever dealt with.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iangranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Dear Iangranter,

Thank you for your feedback. We always use customer comments to further enhance our service for our discerning clients.

The problem you experienced seems to have been one of misunderstanding.

At the Killarney Oaks Hotel when we receive a booking from booking.com we preauthorise the credit card to firstly ensure it is the correct number and secondly to ensure there are sufficient funds to settle the booking.

When we preauthorise the bank acknowledges that amount in your account and puts a hold on it for payment for one to five days. At no time did we take any money from your account .

Perhaps you should discuss the delay in re-establishing funds into your account with you bank.

with kind regards

Richard Halpin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We had a fab time @ the Killarney oaks, staff were excellent , value for money. We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.6 km away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
536 reviews
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
590 reviews
1.4 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#20 of 38 in Killarney
529 reviews
2.7 km away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#25 of 38 in Killarney
314 reviews
0.7 km away
Gleneagle Hotel
Gleneagle Hotel
#28 of 38 in Killarney
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: €75 - €162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Oaks Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing