We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Killarney Heights Hotel,”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“First time in Killarney Heights Hotel,”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

January 28 2012.
We booked to stay through one of the Lidl breaks for one night, dinner, BB for four. From the minute we checked in at 4 in the afternoon until we checked out we all truly enjoyed our stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was excellent both the dinner and breakfast. Rooms comfortable and very clean. Will be back again and will be reccommending this hotel to friends. We requested 1 smoking and 1 non smoking room there was no problem. There was entertainment in the bar which enjoyable. Lou.

Room Tip: Specify what your requirements are upon booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    121
    55
    20
    20
See reviews for
87
146
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I was working in Tralee the day I stayed and on route to Wexford. I just pulled in as it was along my route and was wrecked. My room was very comfortable. I had a little problem with the shower but within minutes the staff came to look at it and allowed me to shower next door. I was impressed with this as I had to get going for work. I am sorry I didn't get the name of the woman who was there serving food on January 24th and 25th...I believe she would be a manager...she was so attentive and professional. She was there for dinner and breakfast and was lovely. I really have to say for the 45 euro I spent for bed and breakfast I was very happy...best sleep I've had in awhile...I have three small children at home so it was lovely to be comfortable and get good rest!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennieDGorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 8 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Possibly the coldest, draughtiest place ever!! The Bars,Restaurant and Breakfast room are full of open spaces that leave a lot of cold air in! The breakfast room alone has 4 or 5 sets of double doors that are never closed.Food was dissapointing,and lukewarm at best.
There is a damp smell from the carpets and it is quite old.
Give it a miss, there are much nicer warmer and welcoming hotels in killarney.
I spent the next few days in bed recovering from flu after my visit!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TansyMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Dear Annl39
I would like to thank you for submitting a review to trip adviser, however i am dissapointed that on this occasion you did not enjoy it, i would have hoped you would have brough this issue to the attention of management or reception upon check out but as i did not recieve a complaint regarding your stay before now i am presuming that you did not mention it on checkout. i am quite shocked that you found our food "only ok and luke warm at best" as we really are always complimented on our food quality and presentation and thankfully have a very good reputation for food. i am very sorry that you felt so dissapointed over your stay here, i do feel that you should have brought this to the attention of the Hotel on checkout where managment could have dealt with the problems directly as apposed to writing a review on a website one month after checkout.
Should you like to contact me directly to speak to me regarding your stay here then please do as i would be delighted to try and rectify any complaints you had.


Noreen O Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

If you're relying on public transport then The Heights is not going to be suitable for you as it's at least 1 mile from the town centre if not more.

Reception always seemed understaffed and very busy, but (with 1 exception) they were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Bar staff were suitably cheeky without being at all rude and I would highly recommend the restaurant for excellent meals, however I wouldn't get a glass of wine to accompany dinner at over 5€ a glass. There was one waitress in particular who offered outstanding service.

The room was adequately sized, clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that the television in the room only received RTE1 and RTE2 and these were both snowy/wavy. The bathroom was sparse, very cold and lacking in amenities. The water pressure was terrible in the shower that rinsing my hair each morning became a chore.

I was impressed by the breakfast choice each morning and the food was plentiful and nicely cooked.

Overall, I would stay here again if I found another good offer but would probably choose a more central hotel otherwise.

TIP: If you forget anything, there's a large Tesco just down the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas2Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Dallas2,
Many thanks for your recent reveiw and i would like to thank you for your feedback. we do appreciate your valuable comments in order for us to improve in what we do.
we are very happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, and since reviewing some difficulties regarding the tv channells in your room we are happy to report that this issue has now been resolved. once again we would like to thank you for your feedback and i do hope we will have the pleaure of your company again in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards
Noreen O Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stay here for in August 2010 midweek and got a very reasonable rate on the double room per night (60 euro a night). The hotel is located a bit out from the town center so need to get a taxi or drive in. Room was a bit old but it was very clean no complaints there. Would stay again no problem.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloonacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen O, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Cloonacoo,

Many thanks for your wonderful feedback, it is very nice to hear that you were satisfied overall with your stay at the Heights Hotel

We look forward to welcoming you back again i hope.

Kind regards

Noreen O Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.2 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,257 reviews
2.4 km away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
412 reviews
1.9 km away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
476 reviews
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
570 reviews
2.2 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel
The Heights Hotel Killarney Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing