We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Hotel Site
US$274
View deal
Traveluro
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,368)
Filter reviews
2,368 results
Traveller rating
1,090
609
278
194
197
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,090
609
278
194
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green room flesk restaurant backstage bar glen eagle kids entertainment balcony room leisure centre swimming pool family room great weekend food was lovely killarney town last weekend fantastic hotel enjoyable stay from start to finish national park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 2,368 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2021

Our first time staying at the Gleneagle and what a bitter disappointment it was. Poor food. Unfriendly staff - went to the hotel bar one evening at 9:50pm to find the shutters partially down. I asked the lady behind the bar if it was still open - she curtly replied “the shutters are down so the bar is closed!” I was travelling with an 88 year old and we’re were slightly late for our scheduled breakfast slot (8am
- we weren’t given a choice of time) and the meet and greet staff at breakfast weren’t happy. One of them said to the manager “what are we supposed to do?” to which I interjected that it’s a tad unreasonable to expect an elderly person to be summoned for breakfast at 8am. At that we were brought into the breakfast room and seated with no further complaints from the staff. Alas at that point the damage was already done - we won’t be back. An urgent overhaul of customer service skills amongst the staff - especially one particular female manager - should be addressed as a matter of priority.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ftg202110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We regret to hear that your experience was not what you had anticipated. We have had to introduce new protocols around breakfast times in order to ensure that we adhere to government guidelines on social distancing and we are sorry to hear that this impacted on your stay. May we assure you, that we are working very hard to ensure that all of our guests experience a friendly, welcoming and safe environment. Please rest assured that we have raised your feedback with both our restaurant and bar teams and we are using it as examples of how we can be more mindful in our communications with others.

Kind regards
The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

We arrived for Michael English in the INEC and we decided to stay in the gleneagle. We found that the reception staff were not helpful and when we arrived to check in we didn’t receive a friendly welcome whatsoever. When it came to the food service it was very poor. I felt like I was a nuisance to staff because i had a food allergen and the staff failed to explain some of the menu to us. Breakfast was also to the same poor standard. The food we got from both the kitchen and the buffet was ice cold and most of the staff didn’t seem to be helpful. As I have came to the gleneagle before and throughly enjoyed my stay I would confidently stay I will not be returning again.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Aoife L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

Dear Aoife,

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected but we are grateful for your insight and we will use it to inform our staff training. Providing an inclusive and welcoming environment for all guests is a core value of ours and so please be assured that we have taken your feedback on board and have taken steps to address your observations. As a repeat guest, we hope you appreciate that your experience on this occasion is not the norm and that you will therefore reconsider staying with us again.

Kind regards
The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

Myself and my twin sister stayed in The Glenegale Hotel on Friday 29th October as we were attended the smokie concert in the INEC. We arrived at 4pm to check in and they staff were up to their eyes with people checking in but they were so efficient and helpful and dealt with everyone so well. We didn’t have to wait long till they also had us checked in and we were heading up to our room. A few minutes later a staff member arrived to our bedroom door with a complementary box of chocolates and a card for a belated birthday greeting, what a lovely touch. We had dinner later in OD’s restaurant and were served by Alfredo who was a pure gentleman and couldn’t do enough for us and also by Monika who also was so helpful and both took the time to chat to us and ask us about our day. They are both definitely a huge asset to the hotel. The staff in the INEC were also top notch and so polite. After the concert which was fantastic there was music in the ballroom for guests of the hotel which was brilliant and finished off our night perfectly. Breakfast the next morning was also lovely and we were also served by a young guy who was also so helpful. All in all our stay was first class made all the better by the amazing staff. We can’t wait to stay there again. Definitely recommend a stay in this fantastic hotel in a fantastic part of Ireland. Thank you to The Glenegale and their amazing staff

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Origan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write about your recent visit to the Gleneagle INEC Arena and The Gleneagle Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it. Attending a concert here is a very special experience, especially when you stay onsite and enjoy the pre and post show dining and entertainment. We shall pass your compliments on to all the team here.

Kind regards
The Guests Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2021

Just returned from a wonderful night stay at the hotel. Was disappointing that there was nearly over an hours delay in checking in as our room was not ready. I do understand it was a very busy time of the year. But we were going to a concert and was hoping to check in at 4 and go to the leisure centre for an hour before going for something to eat, but unfortunately we were so late getting our room we did not get the time to enjoy that facility. The hotel is absolutely fabulous and congratulations on the new look. Our room had beautiful views of the mountains. I have to complement John the piano player for a fantastic nights entertainment, he got everyone singing and enjoying themselves. well done a great asset to the hotel. There was a very large queue for breakfast everyone seemed to have booked the 10:30 breakfast time. The staff were very helpful and very polite. Would highly recommend "THe Glen Eagle " and looking forward to returning again someday.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank breda53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

Hello Breda,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us and for posting this beautiful picture of the view from our Balcony Rooms. We feel very honoured to be located so close to Killarney National Park and to have such wonderful views. We apologise for the inconvenience of not having your room ready when you arrived. This is something we work hard to avoid as we too wish for our guests to settle in as soon as possible so that everyone can enjoy our great onsite facilities. Thank you also for complementing our new look - as you rightly point out we have been busy refurbishing our guestrooms and public areas and the feedback from our guests has been fantastic. A helpful tip to avoid waiting for breakfast on busy mornings is to opt for an earlier breakfast time or better again, treat yourself to breakfast in bed.
Thanks once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,
The Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2021 via mobile

Just checked out and seriously thinking of checking back in.

The experience was 5* from the moment Marina & Shauna dealt perfectly with the enquiry, through Fiona double checking everything was spot on few days before arrival, to lovely check-in by Eva and few days relaxing away from the hassle of the busy life.

Everyone we met had a brilliant smile and céad míle fáilte, every query answered with efficiency and nothing too much of a bother.

Lovely food, especially breakfast - delicious.

Room - spacious for family of four, beds very comfy.

Leisure Club, which needs to be book in advance also very nice.

We'll definitely return

Room tip: Plenty of parking to front and rear of the hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Fuegomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services Team, Guest Services / Front Office at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2021

Dear FuegoMas,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed it. Thank you in particular for complimenting the professionalism and hospitality of our team. Our family rooms are indeed a spacious option for families – as are our family suites and self-catering apartments. We simply love welcoming families to The Gleneagle and we hope to welcome you and your family back very soon.

Kind regards,
The Gleneagle Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews