We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$138
Priceline
Official Hotel Site
Destinia.com
eDreamsUS$138
FindHotel
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,365)
Filter reviews
2,368 results
Traveller rating
1,090
609
278
194
197
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,090
609
278
194
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green room flesk restaurant backstage bar glen eagle kids entertainment balcony room leisure centre swimming pool family room great weekend killarney town last weekend fantastic hotel enjoyable stay from start to finish national park top class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
521 - 526 of 2,368 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Back from one night stay and good and bad things about stay.God hotel huge lots for kids, great magician for kids , food nice and price ok. Some staff friendly but others in o d’s rude and also in main bar. Room big but needs improvement old type bathroom dirty cracks tiles and carpets in common area near room dirty, also bedroom door someone had drawn an obscene picture. Some improvements with up keep and decor as stayed previously in Breton much nicer

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 100racheal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay.

I am glad that the children enjoyed the Kids disco and the food a good quality and priced fairly.

During the mid Term break the demand for family accommodation increases and we do offer a number of options from Family rooms. Family suites and the self Catering apartments. Most of the family rooms have a Bath and shower combination. Our sister Hotel, The Brehon is a four star hotel and is priced accordingly. I have spoken to the Housekeeping manager to investigate the items highlighted in your review.

The public areas have been recently renovated including replacement of carpets and tiles in the lobby area. We do employ staff to look after these areas however during the Mid Term Break when there is an Irish Dancing Competition running they are kept very busy.

Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff. I have spoken to the Bar manager and Restaurant Manager to speak to all staff and to highlight the importance of customer service .

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Guest Relations






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

Our family room had a hole under the carpet every time u opened and closed the curtains u went down in it , the double bed was so noisy u were afraid to move Incase u woke the kids ,the bathroom was in bad need of up dating with cracked tiles on the floor and walls with grout missing in many places , being on the ground floor the noise outside our window would wake us (adults) with botel bins being filled, beer kegs moved around cars and vans coming and going. Service from the staff in the restaurant above the backstage bar was terrible, restaurant was not busy, had to leave my seat on several occasions to ask staff for service or to get drinks, after that experience we ate outside of the hotel. Breakfast was a cattle mart waiting to get you room number called to get a seat, queue to get your toast, hot breakfast and so on. One thing I can say is the food was good when we did get it. Overall experience disappointing for my family (many areas of the hotel grubby and tired needing a good make over). Some staff were very rude.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Guests,

We are sorry to hear you felt you did not have a positive experience with us on your recent visit and more so that you did not bring your complaints to the attention of any of our team so that we could have tried to make things better for you.
I have looked into your comments and checked with the Restaurant Manager and her team regarding the food and Service in the last month and they had no recordings of anyone bringing this complaint to a member of the team.

If a guest is not satisfied with their meal or any aspect of their stay we are here to help and to try rectify a problem and offer an alternative option, however we can only do this if an issue is brought to our attention or highlighted to us while you are actually here in the Hotel. Unfortunately it is too late when you are gone. Therefore we are disappointed that we were not given the opportunity to try make your stay more comfortable and leave having had a more memorable experience.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

We stayed for just one night during the Irish dancing championships and were so glad we did as it's an ideal hotel for immediate access to the INEC. Reception staff were quick and friendly. The room we got was ideal with a lovely balcony and clean. The only negative I'd have to say is that the lighting could be better in the room as it's too dark when getting ready in the evening or early in the morning.

Bar was nice and busy but expensive. Food is just ok, I'd definitely suggest eating lunch or dinner elsewhere. Breakfast is fine and staff were very nice in the breakfast room.

Requested a wake up call that was a half hour late, just to be aware.

The kids (young teens) loved it and for that reason, and the pool, we'd return as they were able to go and get dinner in The Diner themselves. Felt very safe with all the families and kids around.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank celcor_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Guests,

Dear Guests

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are thrilled that you highlighted so many positive points you found and that your family all enjoyed themselves. I hope that the late wake up call did not spoil your enjoyment. We have something to suit everyone and just hope you get the chance to return to visit us in Killarney soon again

We are most grateful and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

Stayed for two nights during mid term. Expected more from the rooms, they could be doing with being updated. Staff were helpful and friendly. Hotel was fully booked which meant you had to Q for breakfast before getting a table and Q again once inside for food. Liked the option of the take away box though and portions were generous.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sofiprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay. We are delighted that you found our team helpful and friendly.

It does get busy during Breakfast time, especially after 10am. I am sorry if you had to queue. There are signs in the lobby and elevators noting the quieter and busy Breakfast times. There is also the option of having your breakfast delivered.

During the mid term break there is a higher than usual demand for Family accommodation. I am sorry you felt the room needed updating. There are a number of options available for families staying with us. These include Family rooms, Family Suites and our self catering Apartments.

We hope to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2019

We stayed 2 nights for the Irish Dancing World Championships, we were given a family room in the older part of the hotel. It was a very small room for a family room. Friends of ours were in the newer part in a double room which was huge in comparison to ours. The venue being part of the hotel is convenient but there was only one area open for food. The main restaurant wasn't open which was strange, with such a huge crowd of people attending. This was a disappointment especially if your child was late dancing it was very limited in getting something to eat. We are in ODs on our first night and while we didn't mind the long wait for our meal, it was thrown at us and told "sorry for the long wait but we're very busy" and our food was luke warm. We didn't eat there the 2nd night.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1234Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at The Gleneagle Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Guests,

We are sorry to hear you felt you did not have a positive experience with us on your recent visit and more so that you did not bring your complaints to the attention of any of our team so that we could have tried to make things better for you.
The Main restaurant was closed during some nights of the Irish Dancing. This was because of the timings of the competitions and most Dancing Competitors wanted to either get something quick between practices or have a less formal meal without having the need to book. I do accept that the entire hotel is busy during the Irish Dancing Weeks and I apologise for any delay in service.

If a guest is not satisfied with their meal or any aspect of their stay we are here to help and to try rectify a problem and offer an alternative option, however we can only do this if an issue is brought to our attention or highlighted to us while you are actually here in the Hotel. Unfortunately it is too late when you are gone. Therefore we are disappointed that we were not given the opportunity to try make your stay more comfortable and leave having had a more memorable experience.

Kindest Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews