We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2015 via mobile

Very nice hotel. Bedrooms and facilities very clean. Staff for the most part very friendly. The food at breakfast was very nice but the service was quite slow so make sure to get in early. The pool and jaccuzi are great and under 16s are to be accompanied at all times. The hotel is in a great location but do plan your trips before you arrive if possible. All in all I would definitely recommend the Gleneagle Hotel.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. We are sorry to hear you found the service to be a bit slow at Breakfast on this occasion, this is not something we hear on a regular basis.

Thank you for highlighting the other positive aspects of your stay and if we can be of any assistance in the future please contact a member of our Team at any stage.

Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

698 - 702 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2015

we stayed in the hotel on the 9 and tenth of January 2015 we went to a elvis weekend we had an absolutely phenominal weekend the hotel was amazing the staff and the food were fantastic and the room was so specious I had never been before but will definatly go back the best hotel we have ever stayed in thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: all rooms were very specious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank looseladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guests

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the Elvis Weekend with us recently. It was a great weekend and everyone had such an amazing time and were so complimentary on their departure it was fantastic to hear so many guests leaving with such positive feedback having had a great weekend.

It is so nice when people take the time to post their positive comments and write such a review and we wish to thank you so much from all the team here at the Gleneagle we all appreciate it and hope you visit us again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015 via mobile

Just back from killarney were I stayed in the fabulous gleneagle hotel for 4 nights the staff were lovely food fab had our 3 year old grandson with us he had a great time in the pool and activity centre music in the green room every night great atmosphere will be back keep up the good work thank you for our enjoyable few days xx

Stayed: January 2015
Thank linda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guests,

It is such a pleasure to read your review. We are truly delighted that your family had a great holiday and experienced what the Gleneagle is all about and that your grandson also got to have fun in the pool.

We are very grateful to you for taking the time to write your and share this feedback and we certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future and hope that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Back again for the fourth year, this venue is superb for hosting a major Cue sports event and the staff are tremendous and look after our every need,
The apartment blocks are spacious and the facilities are excellent.

Room Tip: Not stayed in the hotel rooms, just the seoarate apartment blocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Desperado_Snooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guests.

On behalf of the team here at the Gleneagle we wish to thank you for your very generous review complimenting our Apartments and Staff. It is our pleasure to always offer the best service we can and it very much appreciated when we receive positive feedback.

Hope we can be of assistance in the future and that you get to return soon again.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2015 via mobile

Firstly I have stayed in this hotel a few times. I knew what the hotel was like before I booked and I was very happy to book it. My issues started with on check in we asked to book a table in the restaurant to be told it was closed. This was a very special weekend for the two of us and had planned a romantic meal on both nights. We did eat in the residents bar but it just wasn't the same. The room was lovely and very comfortable. I had requested a balcony room and I did get one however the balcony was not useable as it was flooded. We were on the second floor and I looked down the line at the other balconies. They all had water (which to be fair you would expect at this time of year) but we seemed to be the only one flooded. The bathroom needs serious updating. The bath wasn't very inviting. It was clean but very old and grubby looking. My biggest problem was the full length mirror on the inside of the bathroom door. The mirror was directly opposite the toilet so you were looking at yourself when you used the facilities. Not very appealing. The toilet was between the wall and hand basin which was a tight enough spot. The next afternoon I had a friend visit with her new born baby. Unfortunately the residence bar was closed so to have lunch we had to go to O'Ds restaurant which is located just off the back stage bar. While the food was beautiful it was hard to get in with a buggy. We had 3 different sets of steps to climb each way. We had dinner in the restaurant the following night which was beautiful and the big plus for me was the staff. Every staff member we came into contact with was a pleasure.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Shyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2015

Dear Guests

Thanks you for your balanced review, for highlighting both the positive and negative aspects of your stay.

While we are disappointed that you did not fully enjoy both nights of your stay, we are appreciative of the fact that you highlighted the positive aspects that you did enjoy.

I am sorry that the Restaurant was not open for both nights during your stay and for the inconvenience you encountered with your friend with the baby up the steps up to OD’s Restaurant and your issues with the balcony in your room.

I certainly appreciate you informing us of your complaints, however just wish we could have known about your issues when you were here so we could have offered some assistance in trying to make things better for your special weekend.

Should you have the occasion to stay with us in the future please inform us immediately of any inconvenience you may incur, there is a wonderful team here more than happy to help turn a negative into a positive or please let me know in advance of your next arrival so I can ensure you are allocated a nicer room for your occasion.

Kind Regards

Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,386 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
612 reviews
1.6 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#24 of 38 in Killarney
482 reviews
0.6 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,321 reviews
2.9 km away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#31 of 38 in Killarney
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: €91 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing