We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay in Gleneagle , Killarney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gleneagle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gleneagle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family stay in Gleneagle , Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here on 5th and 6th of March 2012. Although it is an old hotel, the rooms and corridors had been newly refurbished, the hotel in its entirety was spotless and service was faultless. We stayed in a Suite on the 5th Floor which was very comfortable with beautiful views. We had our 2 year old son with us and the staff were all very accommodating. The hotel is only 5-10 mins drive from killarney town and about an hour from Dingle. We had breakfasts and one dinner in the hotel itself and the food was lovely and served without any delay. The one thing I would suggest would be that the beds should have Duvets rather than Throws as it got cold during the night but other than that I honestly couldnt find any fault at all in the hotel or staff and will definitely be staying here for many years to come and will recommend this hotel to anyone travelling with a young family and looking for a family orientated place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coneill80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Guests,

It is such a pleasure to read such balanced and honest opinions voiced on Trip Advisor. We are truly delighted that your family had a great holiday and experienced what the Gleneagle is all about….

I would like to complement you on putting their your opinion across in such a fair and rational manner. I am delighted you highlighted the Food & Service in the Restaurant and that you enjoyed your meals.

We are very grateful and many Thanks for taking the time to write your positive feedback. We certainly look forward to welcoming you in the future and that you continue to enjoy your holidays with us.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    332
    152
    120
    115
See reviews for
378
350
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed here on 6th and7th of march,in bad need of refit,musty ,lacking of freshness,food poor,expensive,all over shabby,just old.Food looked like it was made up for days,salads not fresh,breakfast all tined fruit no fresh fruit,fry up fairly basic,overall not good,would not stay there again.Looked at other Hotels and overall far better in every way,hotel needs total revamp.

Room Tip: look for newly fitout rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

The rooms were awful. They were old and dull and rather disgusting. The bathroom consisted of a toilet and a shower and a sink, nothing at all nice about it. Then there was the rest, the hotel in general was nice, although its a bit of a maze. The breakfast was awful. The dining room was old and cramped, the food was just thrown out, oh and the food was greasy and horrible too. Overall it has the potential to be a nice place, but the old fashioned decor of the hotel in general brings it down. Oh I almost forgot, the heater was broken in our room so we were very cold all night.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
On behalf of the hotel I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the fact that this customer had such negative feedback on your recent stay with us and that you found the Hotel to be so disappointing.

I am aware that we are not to everybody’s satisfaction, we are a 3 star Hotel however we are constantly striving to improve and have already commenced with our long term plans for redecoration and refurbishments in corridors and bedrooms.

I am however surprised at comments about the food. We always get very positive feedback about our food. Clearly is was not to this customers satisfaction on this occasion and it’s a shame they did not highlight their issues to us while they were staying as we would have done our best to ensure they left with a more positive experience.
Should these customers ever have the occasion to visit Killarney in the future and wish to return to our Hotel, I would gladly ensure they have a better stay next time and are thouroughly satisfied.

With Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Went to the Coronas in the INEC. Stayed in the hotel. cole, damp, dark, dreary and dirty is my opinion. the lobby looks lovely but the rooms are a different kettle of fish. dont stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
In response to this review we would like to say that the Hotel is neither of the above mentioned and it’s a shame these customers had such a negative overall opinion of our Hotel.

I wish to say to anyone reading this, not to believe everything you read….
I think if we were as stated above we would not be such the successful company that we are.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I would personally like to thank everyone @ the Gleneagle Hotel (especially Ann @ reception) for extending such a warm & welcoming stay to my parents, who were celebrating their 40th Wedding anniversary @ your Hotel. They are still talking about how great their week away was and due to the high level of customer care and attention to every aspect throughout their stay, I am delighted to say that they will be rebooking again for next year. That to me is a very high recommendation!! Well done to all..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank temperest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Gleneagle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
We are delighted to hear your Parents enjoyed their stay with us for their 40th Anniversary. It is so nice when people take the time to post their positive comments. Thank You so Much from all the team here at the Gleneagle we all appreciate it and Ann is delighted also…..

Should your parents have any special requirements for their next visit please do not hesitate in contacting me prior to their arrival.

Kind Regards
Caroline Papin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#36 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.8 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.4 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#24 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.6 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.0 km away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleneagle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagle Hotel

Property: Gleneagle Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleneagle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gleneagle is a family owned hotel which has been in business for over fifty years. We continuously strive to improve our hotel and facilities, all the while maintaining a warm welcome for our guests. Our location, overlooking Killarney National Park, inspires us to create memorable and amazing experiences with a level of service and standard of hospitality second to none.The Gleneagle Hotel is Ireland’s leading leisure and entertainment destination. Where else can you find such extensive leisure facilities, world-class entertainment and genuine hospitality without having to step beyond our front door? Like all the great things in life, it’s best to experience it for yourself and with this in mind we hope to welcome you to The Gleneagle Hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HRS, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gleneagle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gleneagle Hotel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing