We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
158
90
25
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
90
25
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubmurphy's bargreat locationgreat traditional musictrad musicmiddle of townstay there againguest housetwo nightsthoroughly enjoyed our stayfull irishstayed one nightbreakfast was includednice roombed and breakfasteach morningireland
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2007

We had the pleasure of playing host to our American cousins who wanted to visit Killarney during their stay anxious to see the sights etc. We arrived in Murphy's on a Thursday and stayed for 3 nights. Great central location we had our day trips organised by the very helpful receptionist and were picked up from and dropped back to our accommodation. The rooms were spacious, clean and perfect for our stay. Breakfast in the morning was a feast and set us up for the day complimented by the service of very pleasant staff.

Our evenings were spent enjoying the traditional pub experience of Murphy's Bar where our Americans felt right at home with the locals. The Guinness was exceptional. We dined on our final night in their Restaurant Lord Kenmare's the food was exceptional and definately a restaurant we will return to again ourselves. So in all, our experience of Murphys and Killarney was a wonderful one. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phil40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

The guesthouse is a very clean establishment, with big and clean rooms.
Breakfast is great, and the service is unmatchable.
The guesthouse is in the very heart if the city.
The only letdown is the lack of parking, but there is plenty of cheap public parking around, so it is not a problem.
Another letdown is that all views from all rooms are non. From all windows you can see only walls and smell the kitchen of the restaurant, which closes at 10 PM, and maybe there are people that will be disturbed because of this.

All in all, a great guesthouse, which I can say is one of the best I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

I have stayed in Killarney several times and can honestly say this was the worst place I have ever stayed. They room smelled like an ashtray, cigarette burns on the filthy quilt, the walls were filthy. The towels had seen better days. It was also very noisy, there was a humming sound from an aishaft outside the window, The curtains were filthy, smelled of smoke, and when you touched them they were sticky and felt greasy. Only stayed one night. There are much better places in Killarney. The Oaks Hotel is fantastic, the rooms are spacious and clean. Food is also very good. Charlie Foleys Guesthouse is also very good and a reasonable price ( 70euro for a double room, Murphys is 110 euro).
A park bench would be preferable to this awful place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mallow06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

I have just returned from a trip to Ireland. After staying in many locations throughout this amazing country I would have to say that Killarney did it for me and my friend. We stay at Murphy's where we found every thing to be top class. From the minute we walked in the front door we were greeted by Una who made us feel right at home. Our room was good in keeping with the star rating. Great breakfast and we met some great locals in the Murphys Bar so all in all we can thank every one at murphy's for making our trip to Killarney an amazing one. Oh thanks to Una for recommending the Ring of Kerry tour great views good fun.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank Dreamer23309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2006

not impressed at all. yes i have been and bought the t shirt but not fully impressed.just does not do it for me.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wanderer38656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews