We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Killarney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2007

We have stayed at several places in Killarney and Murphy's is our favorite for several reasons. The rooms are very nice, and the restaurant serves outstanding food. You have your choice of the best pub food in all of Ireland or for fine dining you can visit Lord Kenmares. Sean Murphy and his staff are very accomodating and will go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one.
There is no better place to stay in Killarney than Murphys.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collinsjcc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 245 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2007

We had the pleasure of playing host to our American cousins who wanted to visit Killarney during their stay anxious to see the sights etc. We arrived in Murphy's on a Thursday and stayed for 3 nights. Great central location we had our day trips organised by the very helpful receptionist and were picked up from and dropped back to our accommodation. The rooms were spacious, clean and perfect for our stay. Breakfast in the morning was a feast and set us up for the day complimented by the service of very pleasant staff.

Our evenings were spent enjoying the traditional pub experience of Murphy's Bar where our Americans felt right at home with the locals. The Guinness was exceptional. We dined on our final night in their Restaurant Lord Kenmare's the food was exceptional and definately a restaurant we will return to again ourselves. So in all, our experience of Murphys and Killarney was a wonderful one. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Phil40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2006

The guesthouse is a very clean establishment, with big and clean rooms.
Breakfast is great, and the service is unmatchable.
The guesthouse is in the very heart if the city.
The only letdown is the lack of parking, but there is plenty of cheap public parking around, so it is not a problem.
Another letdown is that all views from all rooms are non. From all windows you can see only walls and smell the kitchen of the restaurant, which closes at 10 PM, and maybe there are people that will be disturbed because of this.

All in all, a great guesthouse, which I can say is one of the best I have ever been to.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

I have stayed in Killarney several times and can honestly say this was the worst place I have ever stayed. They room smelled like an ashtray, cigarette burns on the filthy quilt, the walls were filthy. The towels had seen better days. It was also very noisy, there was a humming sound from an aishaft outside the window, The curtains were filthy, smelled of smoke, and when you touched them they were sticky and felt greasy. Only stayed one night. There are much better places in Killarney. The Oaks Hotel is fantastic, the rooms are spacious and clean. Food is also very good. Charlie Foleys Guesthouse is also very good and a reasonable price ( 70euro for a double room, Murphys is 110 euro).
A park bench would be preferable to this awful place!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mallow06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London England
1
Reviewed 30 May 2006

I have just returned from a trip to Ireland. After staying in many locations throughout this amazing country I would have to say that Killarney did it for me and my friend. We stay at Murphy's where we found every thing to be top class. From the minute we walked in the front door we were greeted by Una who made us feel right at home. Our room was good in keeping with the star rating. Great breakfast and we met some great locals in the Murphys Bar so all in all we can thank every one at murphy's for making our trip to Killarney an amazing one. Oh thanks to Una for recommending the Ring of Kerry tour great views good fun.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.8 km away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
560 reviews
0.1 km away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,048 reviews
1.2 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
786 reviews
0 km away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
1,496 reviews
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: €58 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing