We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's Guesthouse
Ranked #33 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Traveling to Killarney for two days in September '12 and decided that Murphy's would make a great central location to stay. We booked a couple of months ahead online without a problem. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and given a fantastic room. Murphy's is located in the heart of Killarney and all of the in-town shops are within easy walking distance which made Murphy's all the more practical. The room and amenities were flawless with a great bed, great linens, very clean spacious bathroom and wardrobe closet. The rooms were very quiet as well. We thought that the pub was very good and service was spot on. Morning breakfast was just right, and the staff continued with excellent service. We travel to Ireland often, and to be certain, we will return to Murphy's. Thanks Murphy's for the Fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingmoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Greetings from Killarney

Many thank for your kind words. It was great to read your review on your experience with us at Murphy's. I passed your compliments on to the staff who were delighted. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Murphy's on your next visit to Killarney.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

i stayed here for two weeks and loved it, friendly staff, great food and good value for money, i stayed in the lakes hotel and the glen eagle, i much prefer murphys.
its in the center of town great spot to base yourself for a short or long break

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craftypaddy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your resent review. It was great to hear your positive review of Murphy’s. We hope your experience will have us welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Visited this Pub a few times while in Killarney. stopped one afternoon for a light bite. food was very good. staff super friendly!!!!
Went back one night for entertainment. very crowded and loud. Could barely hear band with the crowd...but everyone was having a great time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Good Afternoon Debra

Thank you for your resent review. I’m trilled to hear you enjoyed your experience with us. We really appreciate your comments and will pass these on to our team in Murphy's.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Having spent three wonderful days in Killarney, we'd been to Murphy's several times this week for excellent, authentic Irish food, beer and late night music. Mr. Murphy himself poured our drinks last night and was very gracious. Tonight was different, and what Mr. Murphy needs to be aware of. My wife and I dropped in for an after dinner " dessert" drink of Bailey's and coffee. The bartender with a mustache gave my wife a look that basically said " are you kidding me, you are going to make me make you this drink" seriously, this guy was a total jerk and not only a bad representative for this fine business, a terrible example for Killarney. I've experienced service like this in Paris, but never in Ireland. Just thought I would pass this on. I will go back someday, but if this SOB is my bartender....it ain't going to be pretty.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Greeting from Killarney

Thank you for your resent review. I was very disappointed to read your review and apologise. We pride ourselves on friendliness and customer service here in Murphy's and value customer feedback so we can improve and learn from it. Your comment has been brought to the attention of the staff member and we hop to welcome you back to Murphy’s in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Murphy's is in an excellent location it is just a 5 minute walk from train station, the hotel itself was really clean, the beds were really comfortable! The food was excellent! Most of all the staff were friendly and went over and beyond the call of duty!!! My mum was down with my 2 kids and while out and about in Killarney she had a bad fall as she returned to hotel she got the best of care and the staff could not do enough and were extremely accomading when I had to go down and take her and the boys home, they accomadated myself with an extra bed in the room and no request was too much!!! I would really like to thank the staff for the care that was received by my mum, 2 boys and myself when I arrived down! We would definitley go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sabrina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianadmin, Owner at Murphy's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Good Afternoon Sabrina

Thank you so much for your great review and taking the time to post it. I passed on your kind words to the staff who were delighted with your comments. We hope to welcome ye all back to Murphy's in the future.

Kind regards
Sean Murphy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.8 km away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
560 reviews
1.2 km away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#26 of 38 in Killarney
1,314 reviews
0.1 km away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#27 of 38 in Killarney
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
786 reviews
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
0 km away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#13 of 38 in Killarney
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murphy's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Guesthouse

Address: 18 College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: €58 - €137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Guesthouse is a centrally located, comfortable Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Killarney Town. This accommodation is situated within easy walking distance of both train and bus stations and all local amenities. It is 8 minutes walk to the entrance of Killarney National Park. Our rooms are recently refurbished and lift access is provided to all floors. This accommodation offers tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi access and flat screen televisions in all rooms. We provide a choice of continental and delicious freshly cooked Irish breakfasts. Murphy's: A Sense of Tradition and The Warmest of Welcomes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Murphy's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Bar & Guesthouse Hotel Killarney
Murphy`s Bar And Guesthouse
Murphy's Guesthouse Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing