We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Never again whoever gave the 5 stars must have drove out in a renault megaine.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again whoever gave the 5 stars must have drove out in a renault megaine.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

If you are prepared to book please ensure you request a room away from the air conditioning units. Plan to visit somewhere in town where there is entertainment. Don't eat in Molly Darcy's. Definitely don't order a pint glass of ice with your vodka as they put my vodka in the glass of ice. For a 5 start hotel the service and food (apart for Reception and the Spa) was unacceptable. I complained to the Duty Manager and the following morning at breakfast he completely ignored me. I sent a letter to Bill Cullen/Jackie Lavin and got a reply from the Manager in the Hotel to thank me for my comments and offering me a discount of 33% on my next visit. I don't think so, but please do visit Kerry it is magnificient just don't stay in the Muckross Park. Coreen Malone Dublin.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coreen186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    221
    125
    46
    23
See reviews for
223
828
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Have given the Rooms and Sleep Quality 4 stars, as I didn't stay and want to give them the benefit of the doubt. However, we ate in the bar and spent the evening there. First impressions were that it was extremely dark. Some small tealights on the tables would have made a huge difference and given the place a bit of atmosphere. It was very difficult to read the menu due to the lighting too. The staff were very friendly and initially gave the impression that they were on the ball, but this was simply not the case. We ordered drinks and food but the drinks didn't come,even though the barman was standing 10 feet away chatting to another barman. I eventually went up to the bar and ordered the drinks again. My partner's food was cold (mine steak was lovely, but for the money, it could have come with proper vegetables included (instead of just a few mushrooms and onions) or the waiter could have suggested I order some. When we asked for the bill, we were instead brought somebody else's change. We pointed out the mistake and they took it away but still didn't bring the bill. We had to ask again! Our waiter also quickly forgot about us after bringing our food and we reverted to going up to the bar for extra drinks a couple of times. All in all, I think the management was to blame. The staff were very friendly but needed direction. The toilets hadn't been cleaned recently either and the waste towel basket was overflowing. All in all, we were very disappointed that they let themselves down so badly in a time of recession, when every business has to step up to the mark if they want to survive. This is a nice place but they need to cop on.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeney45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Upon arrival we were greeted by Ted the concierge who was very helpful in assisting us throughout our entire stay. We stayed in a suite which was very spacious, clean and had a very comfy bed. The turn down service provided added that extra touch. Complimentary water and fruit provided. Mini bar access also.
It was noticable that families are catered for, as during our stay the hotel organised an easter egg hunt for children. The spa was fantastic, especially the outdoor hot tub. It is definitely worth visiting to escape from it all. We left there each day feeling completely relaxed. The buffet breakfast each morning was plentiful and staff were only too happy to cater for individual choices from the cooked breakfast menu.
The hotel is located directly across from Killarney National Park and its also along the route for visiting many of the scenic spots eg Torc Waterfall, Lady's View. The hotel is located near Killarney town centre and is only a short taxi journey away. We would definitely recommend staying in the Muckross Hotel and cannot wait to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rollonthehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We arrived down with a free upgrade to a suite!
Talk about getting spoilt..it was out of this world and Ted the head concierge was a gent, pure genuine and really made us feel at home. He is worth his weight in gold :)
The GB restaurant there was gorgeous and food and staff again were impeccable!
Monkfish and prawns, yum!
Setting is amazing , right at the foot of the National Park and just a few mins in a taxi to the town centre,.
We will def be back there, well done Bill & Jackie!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed at the Muckross Park to celebrate my husbands birthday, so chose it because of its 5 stars and the Cloisters spa. We were upgraded to a suite and it was lovely, but unfortunately, not perfect. We could only see two other guests at this hotel, which did ring alarm bells. The hotel is located on the road to Muckross park, which is a busy area of Kilarney during high season. The welcome from the receptionist Jane, was very friendly, she showed us to our room. We arrived mid afternoon, which meant we only had an hour to use the spa facilities, as it closed at 6pm. The sauna was out of order, the outdoor hot tub was very relaxing and overlooks a peaceful riverside, the spa itself was very good too, but it takes a little while to work out how it all works! Part of the description of our stay was a turndown service, this didn't happen, we had to request the complimentary bottles of water, and dinner, while nice was nothing special. The bar, Molly Darceys was empty and lacked atmosphere, it was a very large barnlike space, an open fire and some cosy corners are whats needed there. My general impression of the hotel is that it was a 5* back in its heyday, but too many corners are being cut, it is obviously run with a skeleton staff at the moment, we counted 4 different members of staff during our stay. One for the restaurant, one for the bar, one for the reception area, and one in the spa area. That was it, apart from another couple who were guests we never spotted another soul there! Breakfast was VERY disappointing, the buffet part was very basic, our eggs benedict were to be very frank dreadful, with a slice of slimey ham (cheapest kind sold in supermarkets) on soggy bread and over cooked poached eggs. The coffee was weak, and for two coffee addicts not worth getting. I am sad to see such a beautiful hotel loose its grip due to lazy managment and ridiculous cost cutting measures, surely it would be wiser to up their game to compete with the other 4 5* hotels in the area? Having said this, I would give it another try, in the hopes that they take advice on board.

Room Tip: Eat elsewhere, lots of good restaurants around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monmacCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuckrossParkHotel, Manager at Muckross Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Dear monmacCork,

I am extremely disappointed to read of your negative experiences at the Muckross Park Hotel. We pride ourselves on our 5-Star service throughout all aspects of the hotel from our award-winning Spa right through to the cuisine served.

I would be most grateful if you would contact me directly at the hotel so that I might be given the opportunity to address your complaints in person.

It is only by receiving feedback directly from guests while staying with us that we can ensure our service remains at the highest standard thereby meeting the individual expectations of each and every guest.


Warmest Regards,

Daniel O’Connor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
3.9 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
2.6 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
1.7 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
7.4 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muckross Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muckross Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#14 Business Hotel in Killarney
#15 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#22 Family Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:5 star — Muckross Park Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellence surrounded by beauty - Muckross Park Hotel & Spa is uniquely located in Killarney's majestic National Park with magnificent mountains and lakes close by. The hotel is home to the renowned Spa at Muckross. Elegant, luxurious guestrooms and suites, award winning Yew Tree Restaurant and Monk's Lounge. The hotel has superb guest services and makes for a truly memorable hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muckross Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muckross Park Hotel And Cloisters Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Cloisters Killarney
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing