We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Getaway , In A Perfect Place,”
Review of Lake Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Hotel
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I Booked this hotel as a getaway for my boyfriends birthday and our anniversary also . as soon as i booked i was looking forward to travelling down to the lake hotel . was easy to find just few miles from killarney town out the muckross Rd , away from the town traffic its such a peaceful location .

From the moment we checked in we felt like we were at home and very welcome in the hotel. From the Reception (Breda and the Girls) to Bar & Breakfast staff they were great , and most of all they were all wearing a smile and happy to help with anything.

The view of the lake was amazing, really took my breath away, we will return later in the year.

Amazing hotel with superb staff . A1

louise

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank louisem2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,901 - 1,905 of 2,388 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

We had a 4 poster room that had the most amazing view. The bar, dining room and piano lounge all over look the lake. Comfortable bed, decor a little tired, and it was complicated to get to our room with luggage as there is no direct lift to the top floor. We had to take 2 lifts and negotiate 2 lots of stairs. The dinner in the hotel was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. Because of its location we wished we had stayed there longer.

Room Tip: The 4 poster rooms have the best view and have a little balcony, but the lack of direct lift may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosietat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We recently spent a few days of our honeymoon with our 20 month old son. The staff were all very helpful even tho we arrived a good 3 hours early. We returned from an afternoon our exploring to find they had left a large print of one of the paintings in the hall in our room as a wedding gift. The food was lovely, the setting, amazing. And the room was stunning. We stayed in the roman room deluxe suite and it was PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandora86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Traveling with our grown children to Ireland, we reserved three lake view rooms on the advice of fellow TripAdvisor reviews. We couldn't have been happier. The rooms were amazing. Beautifully furnished, large enough for our group to gather together in the evenings. We watched deer wander along the water and took walks around the grounds.

Our room was extremely large, with three separate areas, a dressing area (including a large armoire) with coffee station, a sitting area with wonderful arm chairs to relax and appreciate the view from, and an extremely comfortable bed with side tables. We were on the bottom floor, so we had sliding glass doors out to a patio area and could walk straight out to the grounds.

The hotel is a short drive from downtown Killarney, and well worth it for the peace and quiet, and views. It is on the way to the National Park, which is also really worth a visit, if only for a short hike to the waterfall.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the lake view room on the ground floor, so we could walk directly outside and enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waystogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our only regret - not staying longer. It was just lovely here. We enjoyed an evening stroll around the loch and then a nice peaceful meal. The reception staff were warm and friendly. The food was pricey, but the food and service were great. Free internet in the library. The breakfast was also good. A perfect stop over on our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.7 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,606 reviews
0.9 km away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,325 reviews
5.9 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
2.3 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,311 reviews
2.2 km away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hotel

Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#7 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#16 Family Hotel in Killarney
#16 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: €147 - €209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake Hotel is a friendly Family run hotel, Free Parking, safe secure, environmentally sound hotel on the lake shore in Killarney. The Ring of Kerry begins and ends at the Lake Hotel. We will give you a traditional Irish welcome from the Huggard Family and Staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Hotel Killarney, Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing