We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star Hotel!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Killarney Park Hotel
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

It was our 1st visit to this hotel I was so looking forward to it as had heard so many good reports on it.....Arrived Sunday check was ok, nice girl brought us to our Room - Standard Room - Basic old world bit dated - Bathroom small - Old Tv which we had problems with and had to call reception to get sorted......view was looking out to a big extractor fan.....
Bed was so hard and pillows too we both had a very restless sleep....
Went for a swim was looking forward to the Hot Tub - not open it was all covered up....asked why this was closed after our swim and was told 'oh I don't know'
So looking forward to breakfast as also heard it was the best ever......it was not busy that morning I ordered a small fry and hubby ordered Omelette without ham....it arrived my fry was under the lamp for a while all dried up and Omelette arrived with Ham...surely this could have got this right!!!!!!
What more can I say this is just not acceptable for the price of this 5 Star Hotel!!!!
We are well travelled and like our comfortst I was so disappointed with this hotel........

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BERROCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, Manager at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear BERROCA,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Further to our conversation in The Drawing Room on the morning of your depature I would like to apologise again that you didn't enjoy your stay in The Killarney Park Hotel Hotel recently. We do genuinely strive to enhance everyone's experience in the hotel so it is disappointing to us that we were not able to live up to your level of expectation.
TV - You are absolutely correct, the screen colour did need to be adjusted and our Porter Jerry rectified this the minute you alerted us. However more care should have been made to check the tv before you checked into the room.
Breakfast - we are sorry this was not as you expected when you ordered and my offer of a complimentary lunch was to acknowledge your disappointment and our regret.
The mattress in the room you stayed is memory foam, and considered to be in good condition. We are sorry that it was not comfortable for you and will consider and discuss this with our suppliers when we are replacing mattresses in the hotel.
The Hot Tub cover is left on when it is not in use in order to maintain the high temperature, and I'm afraid we don't know who would have given you the flippant response. My colleague Darren was on duty on this evening, and wasn't able to shed any light either. He doesn't know who said this. None the less we apologise all the same since it meant you understood that you were not able to use the hot tub.
As you will no doubt have read some of the other reviews on Trip Advisor I would wish to again encourage you to return for a visit, so that we may have the opportunity of changing your opinion of us. In the hope that you will consider a return visit I will look forward to hearing from you personally
With kind regards,
Lorraine Horan
Senior Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,179 - 1,183 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

This is a must stay hotel. Right in the middle of beautiful Killarney you are coddled in gorgeous rooms and you are treated like royalty from the time you enter the hotel until you leave. Book your stay there with confidence-you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Any room is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Where to start... I LOVED this hotel.

Arrival; hotel easy to find and location is amazing.

Check-in; Warm welcome by 3 very friendly staff members; complimentary upgrade to a Suite, don't mind if I do! Escourted to room by the lovely receptionist - no sea view ; )

We had the classic style Suite; lovely furniture, fireplace, 2 queenbeds (just in case you fight ha) and you could not complain about the space, huge!

I honestly could not spot one peice of dust in the room, it was spotless. Bathroom was a great space with his/hers sinks, bath and 2 types of shower.

Bar Food; great service from the very friendly bar man, food was beautiful.

Breakfast; Again great friendly and helpful staff that were great to chat with, food was a great set up for the day with lovely coffee.

Pool; clear pool with nice outdoor hottub (I would just say the bar at the end of the pool in the shallow end makes tumble turning a tad awkward but sure not to worry)

Library; good selection of books, Charles Dickens shelf - great idea.

Two days in this hotel flew by, between great wine, food, losing a few games of chess, going for swims, it was a hard place to part with.

The staff are exceptional, genuinely nice people that are happy to chat away and share their knowledge of the area.

Would I return? In a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KPH-Kerry, Director of Sales at The Killarney Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Dear garydon,
Thank you so much for your fabulous review, we're most importantly so delighted that you both enjoyed your stay so much, that you improved your game of chess, got some exercise in the swimming pool, wined & dined so well, and then decided to share with TripAdvisor.
With thanks again, warm regards to you both, and looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Niamh Burns

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We absolutely love staying in this hotel. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a deluxe suite which contains a lovely sitting room with a lovely fire.
It's 5* treatment from beginning to end. The dinner is wonderful. The bar food is delicious and the treatments in the spa were a great treat. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cork2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I and 4 friends had a most wonderful w/end to celebrate a special birthday recently. The staff all without exception were just WONDERFUL! The perfect place for happy memories! Can't wait to return! Both restaurant and bar food excellent.

Room Tip: for a special occasion get a suite, it has a lovely sitting area with a fire!! Ours even had window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary123-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 km away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,314 reviews
4.8 km away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
2.2 km away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
International Hotel Killarney
3.8 km away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
4.1 km away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Killarney Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Killarney Park Hotel

Address: | Town Centre, Killarney V93 X3VW, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#2 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#7 Family Hotel in Killarney
#9 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: €190 - €350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Killarney Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Five Star Killarney Park Hotel, a Leading Hotel of the World is wonderfully situated in the picturesque town of Killarney - Ireland's premier tourist destination - celebrated throughout the world for its magnificent scenery, attractions and welcoming people. Reflecting its town centre location, the only 5* hotel in Killarney Town Centre offers guests the ultimate in luxury, in comfortable yet contemporary surroundings, whilst at all times offering flawless service and "Warmth Beyond the Smile". With 67 bedrooms and suites, a full service Spa offering Elemis Treatments together with our exclusive BIOTEC Facial & Health & Fitness Suite, the Park Restaurant, Garden Bar and our welcoming Garden Terrace in addition to the attractions, Killarney National Park, world class golf courses available in Kerry, the Killarney Park Hotel is your natural choice for a pleasant, luxurious and relaxing stay. Complimentary Car Parking and Free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Killarney Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Killarney Park Hotel Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing