We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Final stop on ring of Kerry”
Review of Genting Thai

Genting Thai
Ranked #42 of 172 Restaurants in Killarney
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 21 September 2020 via mobile

Arrived without reservation,but we were made very welcom,it was 6.45pm.We decided to have the early bird which on top of being excellent value was also exceptionally good.1 had the house soup followed by Sweet n Sour pork and to finish I had White Chocolate Cheesecake.My buddy had chicken Skewers followed by Beef with cashew nuts and sticky toffee pudding.We also had coffee,coke and 1pink gin with mixer all for less than €65 TOTAL.Lovely ambience,wonderful met're D,very professional staff with great adherence to the Covid restrictions.20minutes after we arrived there was only 1 free table and I'm not surprised. Top Notch guys and well done.

Date of visit: September 2020
4  Thank johnpm2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

Fabulous setting but that's about it. Food arrived quickly but the sweet and sour was sickeningly sweet and the chicken wasn't crispy at all. Egg fried rice looked closer to pilau or plain basmati with a bit of turmeric in it, certainly no egg in it anyway. Also very pricey, mains are €13.50 which is fair enough but rice etc is separate and minimum €3 extra, "egg" fried rice was €4 extra, and for a small enough portion. Even at some of the fancier Asian places I've eaten at I've never seen more than €2 extra for fried rice. Took a half hour to get someone's attention to get our bill, not the fault of the waiters may I add, it looked like there were two waiters between 20-30 tables, they were run off their feet. Arrived with the bill but not the card machine, which we were another few minutes waiting for. Tables also very close together, basically no social distancing although waiters were wearing visors at least.

Date of visit: September 2020
3  Thank rebeccabkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2020

My husband and I visited Genting Thai last Monday and it was so good we went back again the following night.
The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated, nicest interior ever seen in any Thai we’ve been in. It was bright, spotlessly clean and social distancing regulations firmly adhered to. The manager welcomed us and showed us to our table and his friendliness and helpfulness was mirrored by all his staff.
Tasting platter was amazing as was the chicken satay and over the two nights I had both the red Thai curry and the green Thai curry. My husband ate the Gai phad med Mamuang with chicken and on the second night the same dish with tiger prawns. Drinks were excellent also but bar service was a little slow each night. Sorry, want to be truthful.
We will definitely visit again when in !Killarney and will look forward to it.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greecefanatic-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Great food and lovely staff. Food was all very good! We had the prawn red curry which was very tasty

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank lauramP3114NI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2020 via mobile

Having been recommended to visit from a local friend we booked in and we were not disappointed. I have always been a fan of Thai food and this was the best I’ve ever had. Fresh ingredients, cooked to perfection. My personal favourite was the beef with chilli, nice and spicy but with other beautiful flavors too. Great drinks options too, with very good cocktails. Service was also very good, albeit maybe a little bit too eager at times.

Date of visit: September 2020
1  Thank helenhH499RJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Genting Thai also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Genting Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.