We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
13
19
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
19
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We stayed here one night on our 3-peninsula walk in southwestern Ireland. It had everything we needed: clean, warm rooms, super showers, a little store which sold necessities (including beer), a kitchen in which to prepare breakfast. A good hostel, for sure.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bambery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Stayed here with 5 friends while hiking in the MacGillycuddy Reeks. Susan was so accommodating and friendly from our first contact by email. The hostel facilities were exactly was we needed, with a nice lounge and well equipped kitchen. The hostel has a BBQ which is really handy for good weather and Susan was kind enough to lend us some charcoal, really going the extra mile! Friendly advice for hiking was also on hand while we were there which was handy. A great base for hikers!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank leaffoney101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We did not stay here but its service must be noted. We were doing part of the Kerry Way on Monday last, when for the final hour of our walk the weather worsened considerably and we were drenched. Our plan had been to finish our walk in the black valley and get a taxi back to killarney. Unfortunately we were unable to get a phone signal and the lady at the hostel very kindly rang for a taxi for us. She then invited us in from the inclement weather to have a cup of tea while we waited. This was most welcome and greatly appreciated.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My boyfriend and I have stayed here in Black Valley Hostel for 3 days. We hired the private room which was a good deal paying 46euro per night for both of us. The room was en-suite and was kept clean. The owners were very friendly and made us feel comfortable. The hostel is located on the Kerry way so it's surrounded by mountains and lakes. This place is a perfect getaway for those looking for quite and some quality time together. Situated nearby the beautiful Gap of Dunloe and Kate Kearney's cottage. The only main thing we found difficult was the phone reception and there was no wifi at all even in the main hostel. We had to drive up to the nearest city (about 30 minutes away) to get wifi access and reception. The road going into the hostel is very narrow so one has to stop for the other traffic/carriage to pass through. Overall, would recommend this place to everyone. Loved it there and would come back again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I went on a hike with a friend. The hostel was lovely, the owners very friendly and the beds were comfortable. The hostel had excellent wifi. The drying cupboard was great for drying wet boots and socks. The only inconvenience was the lack of sockets and phone signal. The bedroom had no sockets and I couldn't find any in the living room. Other than that, we had a great stay and met some very interesting signal.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Zumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews