We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Valley Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$240
US$223
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
US$271
US$263
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eviston House Hotel(Killarney)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
US$270
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
US$206
US$200
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
US$321
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
11
19
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
19
4
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My boyfriend and I have stayed here in Black Valley Hostel for 3 days. We hired the private room which was a good deal paying 46euro per night for both of us. The room was en-suite and was kept clean. The owners were very friendly and made us feel comfortable. The hostel is located on the Kerry way so it's surrounded by mountains and lakes. This place is a perfect getaway for those looking for quite and some quality time together. Situated nearby the beautiful Gap of Dunloe and Kate Kearney's cottage. The only main thing we found difficult was the phone reception and there was no wifi at all even in the main hostel. We had to drive up to the nearest city (about 30 minutes away) to get wifi access and reception. The road going into the hostel is very narrow so one has to stop for the other traffic/carriage to pass through. Overall, would recommend this place to everyone. Loved it there and would come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I went on a hike with a friend. The hostel was lovely, the owners very friendly and the beds were comfortable. The hostel had excellent wifi. The drying cupboard was great for drying wet boots and socks. The only inconvenience was the lack of sockets and phone signal. The bedroom had no sockets and I couldn't find any in the living room. Other than that, we had a great stay and met some very interesting signal.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Zumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We had a 4-bed dorm which was bright and clean. Fresh white cotton sleeping sheets and pillow cases were provided. Bathrooms were spotless and showers were hot.
Susan and team gave us a warm welcome and provided us with a delicious dinner (€12 for salmon) that evening and continental breakfast (€4.50) on the following morning.
Would recommend this hostel for anyone hiking the Kerry Way, anyone who wants an extended visit to Lord Brandon's Cottage nearby or anyone who just wants a quiet night away in a beautiful remote location.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Have taken cycling group here on a few occasions, Susan and family are great hosts and in the business for years. Comfortable beds and nice dorms. Spacious kitchen with good facilities. Fine fire in stove, on arrival to keep us warm after cycle late on a Friday evening up through gap of dunloe.
The hostel is on the Kerry way, it's surrounded by mountains and has lakes nearby. If you want a quiet hostel in beautiful surroundings this is for you. small shop open during season adjacent to hostel, new shed to store bikes or hang wet gear in.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank maggymayKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2015 via mobile

A group of us approx 20 people cycled from Cork last Sat.We got the ferry from Ross castle.The day was very wet so on arriving at the Hostel we were soaked.We were told to leave all our wet clothes on the ground outside the door which we did.We were told they would be dry for us in the morning.We then proceeded to the room my room was 14ft × 9ft approx that had 8 bunks crazy.It had no ladder to get to top bunks or no rail.We had very little space to put our clothes.I then went for a shower which was far from hot it was gone cold for the people after me.To cap it all our wet clothes were never dryed so if you had only one set of rain gear your problem.I have Hosteled a lot and this Hostel to me was not good .They might be just small thoughts but it would make a big difference to just put an extra bit of work into it.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews