We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diner on Golftrip”

Cellar One at The Ross
Ranked #8 of 203 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$45
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The stylish Cellar One Restaurant is at the heart of The Ross with truly individual design features. Leading from the Pink Lounge down the elegant stairs into Cellar One Restaurant is impressive, and from here on your evening will continue in this same vein. Chef Ian McMonagle has beautifully combined local produce with international influences which will fall nothing short of offering gastric delight. As well as great creative flair there is a clear understanding of food & flavours evident all the way through this menu. From the Cromane Mussels steamed in coconut milk with lime and ginger to the Roast Peppered Breast of Skeghanore Duck served with braised red cabbage, baked apple, honey & orange sauce the creative flair and clear understanding of food is evident all the way through this menu.
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Mooi ingericht restaurant over 2-3 verdiepingen met bar gedeelte
Goed gevarieerde kaart met 2of 3 gangen menu to choose. Food is good but can be better
Winelist could be longer and more variated
Good en fast service from the Staff

Thank marcelr685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Good food, wide variety on Menu. Service was very good, very friendly and fast. Woukd highly recommend this place and will definately be returning again.

Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, General Manager at Cellar One at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Louise C,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your dinner with us.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Cellar One at the Ross has more than a little flair, a creative yet delicious menu, and outstanding service.

Cellar One is very conveniently located in the center of Killarney. As the name tells you, it's below street level in the Ross Hotel, which is itself a very contemporary hotel with lots of personality. You come down the cool circular stairway. The dining room mixes elements of traditional (stone walls and hard wood floors) with some off-beat design elements. Some of the photos on this site seem to accentuate the brighter colors - they are certainly there, but are more of an accent to the rest of the decor. The actual look is very chic - kind of the place where you can see a key scene in a movie being filmed.

The food is lighter than much of the fare in the area, but extremely well prepared and artistically presented. Everything we had, from the scallop and arancini appetizers to entrees ranging from stone bass to pork to chicken was outstanding, and came with nicely cooked vegetables to boot. It will be hard, but save room for dessert, as they are also terrific (our table shared sticky toffee pudding and baked Alaska, which had ingredients like Madeira and Italian meringue. The presentation for all of the dishes, as reflected in part by photos on this site, where artistically and creatively presented.

There are many bottles of wine mixed in with the decor. The wine list seemed to be well chosen. We had both a sauvignon blanc and a Sancerre, which complemented the food nicely.

We liked this restaurant in absolute terms, but it especially stood out for a bit of a change of pace from other restaurants in the area (both in terms of the menu and ambience) and for the impeccable presentation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, General Manager at Cellar One at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Elaine & Greg,

Thanks so much for your feedback.
We are delighted with your detailed review which we have shared with our team here.
I am glad you loved our interiors and that the food presentation stood out for you which we really pride ourselves on.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Ciara Treacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

Our food was delicious. We did the midweek special, which is 2 courses, with a glass of wine, and an after dinner drink in the Lane Cafe Bar. Very modern feel and fun atmosphere with good service.

Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRossHotel, General Manager at Cellar One at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Sarah,

Thanks for your review.
Brilliant to hear you enjoyed our midweek treat....come again soon!

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Even though we came in less than 30 minutes before closing, they accommodated us. We are a vegan and pescatarian, and both of our meals were really good. Extra yummy sides and everything was well-presented. This is a very trendy and modern place, which was a nice change from the very local pubs and eateries (which were all great).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pegasus528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cellar One at The Ross also viewed

 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Cellar One at The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing