We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful scenery”

The Dingle Peninsula
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.81*
and up
Dingle and Slea Head Day Tour from Killarney
More Info
US$32.27*
and up
Full Day Tour of The Dingle Peninsula Slea Head and Inch Beach
More Info
US$77.68*
and up
Dingle Peninsula Private Tour from Kenmare
Ranked #4 of 383 things to do in County Kerry
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
“Beautiful scenery”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The Dingle is gorgeous, packed with history and really narrow roads.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kristine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    82
    13
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Walking Guide for the Ages”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Colm Bambery took us on two different walking tours (Mt. Eagle and the Pilgrim Route (19K)) and helped us see the Dingle Peninsula in ways that we would have experience on our own. He has genuine love of Ireland and this region in particular. His understated knowledge of the history, architecture, and ruins were shared with a freshness that seemed that he had just learned about it the previous week.
As a testimony to his "beginner's eyes" at the conclusion of the Pilgrim Route we came upon a petroglyph that he had never seen and resembled ones we had seen at Newgrange. Subsequent investigation have tentatively authenticated it to 3,000BC.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank djamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Ring of Kerry only quieter”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

On the road from Killarney to Dingle there's a huge beach with a surfer's hut and cars can drive to the edge of the ocean. Dingle a typical Irish town with lots to see and do. The Sleigh Head drive is terrific and can't be missed. Beautiful vista of coves, water, and hills. Take the road out of Dingle to the Conner Pass but be sure its clear at the top, you don't want to drive it in the mist , rain or fog especially going down the north face. The views are breathtaking with some very isolated beaches on the road to Trallee a town that is completely worth missing. Be advised all road signs are in Gaelic so have a GPS or a good map

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank scottmaryellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and great customer experience!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were driving between Cork and Dingle and stopped on both journeys to have lunch at the Phoenix wholefood restaurant between Castlemaine and Inch on the R561. (The second lunch was after a freezing and probably ill advised swim off the spectacular Inch beach with the sea still shuddering from the final chills of Hurricane Katia. We arrived shivvering and they let us hang up our wet swim clothes on their washing line while we ate!) The food is fantastic - real, organic and wonderfully seasoned. We had generous portions of tortilla, a vegetable bake and a really satisfying sweet potato and chick pea curry with all the trimmings. The space is relaxed and comfortable and the customer service at the Phoenix is second to none. They even have traditional caravans for guests dotted around their abundantly stocked gardens. Well worth breaking your journey for. O yes, and on both occasions we had the apple crumble. Eat the apple crumble!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DenisioC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Look for Fungi the Dolphin”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

During our vacation in Ireland one of our stops was going to be the Ring of Kerry. Because we were travelling with young children, a local suggested we go to the Dingle Peninsula as it is just as beautiful and would be less time consuming (as the ring would have been a 6/7 hour event....keeping our kids in mind we opted in the Dingle Peninsula). Along our drive we stopped at one of the many blue flag beaches. The scenery was amazing, the long sandy beach was was fun for the kids to play in and dip our toes in the refreshing water. In the town of Dingle there is excellent shopping. We were told a story by many of Fungi the dolphin that lives there in the bay. I though it was an Irish tale but indeed this is not the case. There are charter boats that take you out into the bay where Fungi lives and makes an appearance for the spectators to see. Although we did not take the charter, we have heard from many that it is a sight to see!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Michiganmama72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dingle Peninsula also viewed

Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
County Kerry, Province of Munster
 
County Kerry, Province of Munster
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 

Been to The Dingle Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing