We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“New Years Eve” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the House Hotel with our 5 month old daughter and other members of our family. The staff are extremely helpful and go above and beyond. They organised a babysitter for us at the last minute on NYE who was such a lovely girl and also managed to get us a last minute reservation at a local restaurant. They could not do enough for us.
Rooms are a little small but very comfortable. The hotel is in a great location only a short walk from the Main Street. We would stay again for the location.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ciaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    278
    102
    41
    18
See reviews for
111
458
35
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in Galway many times but never considered this end of town- however the House Hotel was a hidden Gem.

A lovely boutique hotel, down by the Spanish Arch, with modern rooms, comfortable beds and seconds from Shop Street.

The bar was a little quiet but the cocktails were pretty good. No concierge service but still a very nice and pleasant place to stay.

Stayed December 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in early December in a delux room with a camp bed for our 7 year old son.
Check in was easy and friendly. The lounge area is quirky and colourful and I feel the nicest part of the hotel. There was a beautiful Christmas tree and a festive atmosphere.
We had booked a delux double room (€169) with an extra bed for our 7 year old son. I was disappointed with the room. The extra bed was at the end of the bed and in fairness was using up most of the spare floor space,generally making the room feel cramped. There wasn't much space each side of the main bed which in fairness was large and comfortable.
The bathroom was a fair size with lovely toiletries but very little counter space.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely and the waiting staff were friendly.
We called back the following night for a drink and there was a great atmosphere in the bar. The hotel is very central so was very busy.
All in all I will definitely be back to the bar/lounge part of the hotel but not to stay.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LilacGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. When we arrived we decided to have some Lunch and availed of the 3 platters for €21. Was very very poor. The prawns were cold when they arrived and were taken back. They came out again and some were lukewarm and others cold. Left hotel to eat elsewhere. The room was standard although the toilet was very small, shower was good. Breakfast again was truly not at all good enough. When we arrived there were no bowls for cereal , fruit, no water in the jugs and no table set. There was two flies in the apple juice jug.I had to ask behind the bar for a menu for the hot breakfast food. When bowls eventually came out there was residual water from the dishwasher on all of them. I noticed a lot of people had to go up to the bar and ask for things.
I stayed in this hotel about two years ago and had a wonderful time . But this experience was not one bit enjoyable and it appears that this hotel's standards have considerably decreased .
I understand that it was New Year's Day night and that a lot of staff might have been off after a busy Xmas . Regardless,standards should be kept. Would not recommend , for 129€ was not worth it at all.

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a seriously awesome stay in Galway. The hotel was filled with friendly staff from reception to the restaurant, and our room was great. The room had plenty of space and the bathroom was huge! Everything was clean and not too much noise at all - I think the location of the hotel is superb. The breakfast was very very good and again, friendly staff. I would really recommend this place to anyone visiting Galway if you're looking for an easy walk into city center while also being able to get some shut-eye. I'd stay here in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordanhogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
0.1 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#9 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#11 of 47 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
2.5 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 47 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House Hotel

Property: The House Hotel
Address: Spanish Parade, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Galway
#11 Romantic Hotel in Galway
#19 Family Hotel in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the House Hotel, a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of Galway City. The House Hotel represents the ideal "Home away from home" with its cosy atmosphere, chic style, excellent facilities and personalised service. Features of the guestrooms include flat screen TV's with internet access, safe and crisp white linen that will guarantee you a comfortable night sleep. The Parlour Bar & Grill specialises in modern and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The House Hotel Galway
Galway The House Hotel
House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing