We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Connacht Hotel(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maldron Hotel Sandy Road Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clayton Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flannery's Hotel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
US$260
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maldron Hotel Galway(Oranmore)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway(Galway)(Great Value!)
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
680
326
123
51
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
326
123
51
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorla kielyhen partiesspanish archcar parkhen nightquay streetlatin quartercocktail menulovely hotelreception areadeluxe roomcentral locationlocation is excellentloved this hotellast weekendstayed here for one nightgalway city
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I have stayed in Galway many times but never considered this end of town- however the House Hotel was a hidden Gem.

A lovely boutique hotel, down by the Spanish Arch, with modern rooms, comfortable beds and seconds from Shop Street.

The bar was a little quiet but the cocktails were pretty good. No concierge service but still a very nice and pleasant place to stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
Thank AnnieLu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed for one night in early December in a delux room with a camp bed for our 7 year old son.
Check in was easy and friendly. The lounge area is quirky and colourful and I feel the nicest part of the hotel. There was a beautiful Christmas tree and a festive atmosphere.
We had booked a delux double room (€169) with an extra bed for our 7 year old son. I was disappointed with the room. The extra bed was at the end of the bed and in fairness was using up most of the spare floor space,generally making the room feel cramped. There wasn't much space each side of the main bed which in fairness was large and comfortable.
The bathroom was a fair size with lovely toiletries but very little counter space.
Breakfast the following morning was lovely and the waiting staff were friendly.
We called back the following night for a drink and there was a great atmosphere in the bar. The hotel is very central so was very busy.
All in all I will definitely be back to the bar/lounge part of the hotel but not to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LilacGerber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night. When we arrived we decided to have some Lunch and availed of the 3 platters for €21. Was very very poor. The prawns were cold when they arrived and were taken back. They came out again and some were lukewarm and others cold. Left hotel to eat elsewhere. The room was standard although the toilet was very small, shower was good. Breakfast again was truly not at all good enough. When we arrived there were no bowls for cereal , fruit, no water in the jugs and no table set. There was two flies in the apple juice jug.I had to ask behind the bar for a menu for the hot breakfast food. When bowls eventually came out there was residual water from the dishwasher on all of them. I noticed a lot of people had to go up to the bar and ask for things.
I stayed in this hotel about two years ago and had a wonderful time . But this experience was not one bit enjoyable and it appears that this hotel's standards have considerably decreased .
I understand that it was New Year's Day night and that a lot of staff might have been off after a busy Xmas . Regardless,standards should be kept. Would not recommend , for 129€ was not worth it at all.

Stayed: January 2017
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

This was a seriously awesome stay in Galway. The hotel was filled with friendly staff from reception to the restaurant, and our room was great. The room had plenty of space and the bathroom was huge! Everything was clean and not too much noise at all - I think the location of the hotel is superb. The breakfast was very very good and again, friendly staff. I would really recommend this place to anyone visiting Galway if you're looking for an easy walk into city center while also being able to get some shut-eye. I'd stay here in a heartbeat again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordanhogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Four of us stayed at then end of November.
Adorable, fun hotel. Beautiful rooms. Great location in Galway. Wonderfully convenient amenity in room with foreign electricity switch plates (great for travelers and haven't seen in any other hotel). Wonderful and accommodating staff! We arrived just as breakfast was finishing and they were extremely gracious to seat us and feed us which was completely not necessary. Would definitely stay again!!


Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank HarrisClan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galwayguests, Manager at The House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to The House.

Thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and our staff.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Marta Normantowicz
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews