We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wonderful host.”
Review of Claremount House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Claremount House
Ranked #37 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2016

We did not plan on Galway so we had not arranged for a place to stay. I read good reviews about Claremount and Anna, so we took a chance. This is in Salthill, outside Galway. They advertise about being next to a golf course but the real bonus was being next to Galway Bay. We arrived at 11 AM and of course we were unexpected. We were greeted warmly by Anna who said that she had one room left. She let us in and gave us coffee and scones while she got our room ready. The room was clean and well appointed. the view was not the best but this was her last room. the beds were the most comfortable that we slept in the whole trip. I liked being just outside the city with a bus to take us in and back. The meant we did not have to drive in the city. If we return to this area we will stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bkmnedwards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Claremount House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016

I am still dreaming about that bed. OMG. If I could say anything bad about the b&b, the beds were so comfortable -- I never wanted to leave! haha.

All I want to do is go back there. Right now.

Anne, I meant to thank you before I left - but THANK YOU for drying my clothes for me! (I washed my clothes in the sink and they weren't drying very well in my room. So Anne clearly let them dry on the line outside. Then they smelled fresh Irish spring air!)

Sigh. Anne -- thank you for your amazing life advice and for making me feel so loved and welcome. Your husband compliments you well too! Props to both of you for making me an amazing breakfast. I have never been treated so well in a place I've stayed.

Have already recommended your place to my friends. Can't wait to come back and just spend my entire time at Claremont!

xoxo
Leah

Room Tip: Get the room with the sea view -- its gorgeous!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

We stayed just one night in this B&B, but it was really nice. Anna is a very lovely person, very friendly. Everything is very clean. The room and the bed are very comfortable. And you can eat an excellent breakfast in front of a beautiful view !!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank anthonyln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Anna & Steven were wonderfully helpful throughout our stay in Galway. The B&B is very homey with some of the most fluffy and comfortable beds and robes that you will find in Europe. The food was incredible each morning and we really felt at home in the evening cuddled up on the couch watching TV. Grateful for an awesome stay, highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and I have to say it was the most comfortable and relaxing stay in a b&b that I have had experienced. The room was spotless and the bathroom was as well. The shower was most welcome after a long journey. Anna and Steven were our hosts and they were so welcoming and accommodating. Nothing was too much for them. The bed was comfortable that I want to go back straight away. The breakfast was so fresh and hearty that we skipped lunch. Wonderful people and wonderful stay. Definitely recommend this place. No doubt!!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Fergal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 km away
Salthill B&B
Salthill B&B
#23 of 188 in Galway
63 reviews
2.3 km away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 188 in Galway
229 reviews
0.3 km away
Fourwinds Lodge
Fourwinds Lodge
#82 of 188 in Galway
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
Marian Lodge Guesthouse
#52 of 188 in Galway
147 reviews
0.7 km away
Claremont
Claremont
#47 of 188 in Galway
28 reviews
2.0 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claremount House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claremount House

Address: Galway, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: €97 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Claremount House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing