We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the best time!!!”
Review of Asgard Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asgard Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The Asgard B&B is located side by side with 10 B&B near Galway City Center & Galway College. We had no place to stay. Mary was the only host to answer the door at 1pm AND with a hugh smile. We had a great stay. A full breakfast each morning servered in a sunny glass patio filled with plants. Each morning Mary sent us ( Two Sister both business owners, age 52 & 58) off to see Galway! The tour guides know her.. We had fun!
So... Our bedroom was clean, nicely decorated and a warm shower! We were on the second floor. There are three floors. We did have help with our bags. All the bedrooms were nicely decorated with a closet , chester drawers & sitting chair.
We could walk to the city center in five minutes. The Tour companies pick you up but the
Center Station is a 3 minute walk. Great location. Great host & family.

My favorite memory... Mary cheering us on as we said goodbye ..." Two Americans trying to drive in Ireland with no experience! Thanks Mary. We are home safe. I celebrated with a good shot of Irish Whiskey!

Room Tip: Read tripadvisor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KennedyInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 320 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2011

They don't except credit card which was a shocker and luckily we had enough cash. The rooms were very tight but clean. Bathroom was a closet. :) The location I think was a ten minute walk from central Galway, but off in the suburbs so I'm not sure how safe it really was (we were there only one night and came back early...absolutley exhausted from the day....the host and hostess were sitting in their living room watching tv and made fun of us young kids for coming in so early :) ). Breakfast room is very cute with a fairly nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

You must stay at Asgard! Wonderfully warm and welcoming staff. Excellent location for the Connacht rugby stadium. Staff gave 12 of us a lift into Galway after we'd arrived which was very kind and very much appreciated. Rooms were clean, warm and very comfortable.Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was superb and Ron the owner was able to give us lots of advice about the town as well as making us feel exceedingly welcome.

We had a wonderful time in the many excellent pubs, the tented Christmas village and at the match. We look forward to going back to beautiful Galway and will definitely be planning to stay at Asgard again.

I thoroughly recommend this excellently run guesthouse and sincerely thank Ron and his brilliant team of staff.

Many thanks
Andy, (on behalf of the 12 Ospreys fans).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AndyWills612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stumbled onto Asgard Guesthouse, as a 'walk up" guest.. I had no prior reservation, however, I had a specific need for a ground floor room, as my traveling companion was elderly and has difficulty with stairs.

I was met by Mary, the proprietress. She did a little juggling to make it work out for us. Mary is really the star of this Guesthouse! She's charming, funny, caring, and genuinely dedicated to the needs of her guests. This really appears to be a labor of love for her . Had it not been for her, my rating may have been a tad lower.

The guesthouse itself is comprable to the many we have seen throughout the country. Its located very well, just a 1 min drive away from downtown. The Guesthouse itself, is nothing fancy, but clean and comfortable and homey. It has a pretty sunroom, where breakfast is served. I'm sure its even lovelier when the garden is in bloom. Breakfast was pretty substantial, freshly made, and Mary is very accommodating to your breakfast requests.

The B&B has a small parking lot out front, and Mary was there as necessary to assure that everyone's car would fit, and also to get out. She didn't skip a beat, directing us out one morning - even stopping the street traffic, so that I could exit!!

Mary was also a wealth of info regarding the area, local restaurants, and always gave us spot on driving directions as needed. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Guesthouse. Mary will assure you have a nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ABR-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This was a cozy Guest House for a weekend getaway to Galway. The house was lovely, the room clean and warm, and the glassed in breakfast room looking into the garden was a delightful start to a day of sightseeing. Delightful hostess and a delicious made to order french toast. Quick 5 minutes walk to Eyre Square and the bus station.

Room Tip: Ask for the back room off the diningroom; I had a great nights sleep on a Saturday night- no noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.3 km away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,085 reviews
7.9 km away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
888 reviews
2.8 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Balcony House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 km away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
746 reviews
2.4 km away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asgard Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asgard Guesthouse

Address: Asgard 21 College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: €56 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Asgard Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asgard Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asgard Guesthouse Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing