We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best Breakfast in Ireland and best scones in the world.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 196 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Breakfast in Ireland and best scones in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

This was our first stop of a two-week tour and we arrived late afternoon ragged from traveling. Mary's warm greeting was just what we neeeded. You wan't find a more inviting B&B anywhere and breakfast was a real treat. The location was very convenient. We took the bus outside the door or hailed a cab and a few minutes later were in downtown Galway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danjok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

The reviews we read before going to Ireland in April, 2009 helped us to select this wonderful B&B in Galway which was very easy to locate by extremely tired travelers! After parking our rental car right in front of the entrance, we were warmly greeted at the door by Mary and Roddy.We were delighted with their hospitality, good food and conversation while we were there. The rooms were very clean(we're very picky), and we had a nice large bathroom. This was the only B&B we stayed in on our trip which offered us use of their computer to send emails back home to West Virginia. The location was great and Mary and Roddy were very helpful with directions and suggestions for the evening. This was our first night in Ireland after a long overnight flight and day of sightseeing, and we so much enjoyed the restful night and teriffic breakfast the next morning! Thank you Mary and Roddy-we will definitely stay with you on our next trip to your awesome country!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janranwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

Mary and Roddy were most helpful to us during our 2 night stay at Auburn house. The location was a bit far out of town , but for us with a car it really did not matter. The room was a bit small and there really was nowhere to put our suitcases. We unpacked everything and put the stuff in the closet. The bathroom was quite small too , but we are not large people so it was fine. If someone was bigger it could be a problem.

The room and the bathroom were meticulously clean and although the room faced the road , we were not bothered by the traffic. It was cool out and we kept the window closed though.

Whenever we wanted directions , Roddy would draw us a map and send us on our way. Both Mary and Roddy were really helpful to us while we were there.

Breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty of everything. All in all we were very satisfied with our stay there and would not hesitate to go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2oldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

We showed up late, no problem for Mary (she greeted us upon arrival). Broken flip flop, no problem for Mary (she loaned us a pair). Lost our luggage, no problem for Mary (she loaned us pajamas). You will find no better hosts in Ireland. Recommended we visit Connemara, which became one of the highlights of our trip. We absolutely couldn't have been happier with the accomodations, food, or hospitality. Worderful!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Unbelievably nice people, very reasonable rates, great breakfasts, directions/maps
to wherever you want to go. Will stay there agaain on our next trip

bob goodwin
yardley pa

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcgoodwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.0 km away
Almara House
Almara House
#10 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
5.5 km away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 11 in Oranmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
5.6 km away
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
Abbeylee Bed & Breakfast
#26 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Cappa Veagh Bed & Breakfast
4.5 km away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#11 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
4.8 km away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#18 of 196 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Merlin Gate, Merlin Park, Dublin Road, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Auburn House B&B)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Dublin road, 5 km from Galway city center. Bus to city center 50 meters from our front door. Free private parking and free WiFi in every room. Each room comes with breakfast included. We have a guest computer and a free printing service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ostrovok and Agoda so you can book your Sea Mist Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing