We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
261
121
31
14
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
261
121
31
14
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast bag latin quarter quay street nespresso machine dyson fan great location bar downstairs bars and restaurants your doorstep street noise heart of galway city night life car park spanish arch rooms are small great room hotel bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2021 via mobile

Have to say this was a big disappointment for us as this was always our go to hotel in galway but unfortunately it won't be anymore, as our 2 night wasn great, the heating wasnt working ( we're told the heating doesn't really work on the r 4th floor) the offered us a twin room, for a couple now it was not acceptable, secondly we requested extra toiletries as it was 2 night stay and we didn get them, and the fresh towels we'll 1 had blood all over it....,

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jennacQ3149CF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Curran, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2021

Dear Jenna,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor,

As you can see from previous reviews from the hotel we are regarded highly in terms of comfort and cleanliness and your experience while staying in the hotel was highly unusual!
We have a perfectly functioning heating system in the hotel, in actual fact we often have complaints that the rooms are a little on the hot side, that works on a timer. The receptionist on duty explained this to you and immediately set the system to constant. Again, please accept our apologies for any inconvenience that this caused to you.

We are running a green initiative here at The Residence hotel and have discontinued the use of individual, single use plastic toiletries so we couldn't supply you with something we don't have. The accommodation team checked and fully re filled your shampoo and body wash when they serviced your room.

I have spoken with the relevant departments to discuss the issues you raised, to ensure our guests experience the high standards that TripAdvisor reviews attest to.

Take care in the future

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2021 via mobile

All I can say is WOW.
OK.from the outside,the entrance could easily be missed cos it's narrow but from the time you set foot inside,the feeling of being at home realty kicks in.
Tiny reception area but very friendly staff.
The room itself is very clean,very well decorated.Our room had 2x 4 ft beds joined together plus a 3 ft single bed.
Most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.. plenty of pillows.
A full size coffee machine with never ending supply of coffee.
Tea and kettle snugly stored in a cupboard.
Safe in room.Ironing board, hairdryer.Nice view over Quay Street.
Entertainment in the bar downstairs.
Full size Dyson air humidifier in room..no extra cost.
Discount in Bynes yard car park for guests of hotel.
Cannot recommend enough.
3 star?? Nope..more like lower 5 Star!

Room tip: Avoid rooms ending in 01 as they are right next the lift
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Curran, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2021

Dear Joe,

Thank you so much for the 5* review. I'm delighted to hear how great everything was during your stay in The Residence Hotel and that our staff displayed the level of customer service on which we pride ourselves.

To hear that you will be returning very soon is one of the highest forms of praise we can receive from our guests, and the whole team will be delighted to welcome you back when you do.

Warmest regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021

I knew it was a nice hotel and the location great, but was surprised by the history! The hotel has one of the original city walls in the 1520 pub. It is easy to miss, but really cool to see.

Also, all of the staff of the hotel and 1520 were lovely. We especially were thankful for Brenda and Julia at the front desk. They were informative, but also so friendly and playful with our 3yo. Julia was so excited to see her whenever we would come in and they would just chat and play. Really lovely experience.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amandan210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Curran, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear Amanda,

Thank you so much for the gorgeous review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. Welcoming guests such as yourselves and especially Aurelia is why I come to work every day. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you all and I hope that we will have the opportunity to look after you again in the future.

Give my love to Aurelia and her elephant baby.

Warmest regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021 via mobile

When we chose Residence Inn for our 3 night weekend in Galway, we didn't expect the fabulous experiences that were in store.

Firstly, we were warmly welcomed by Liam.

Our room was spacious, and beautiful, with a top Nespresso coffee machine that kept us well caffeinated for our excursions throughout Galway, including the Spanish Arch, Salthill Promenade, the Christmas Market!! and our day long tour to the breathtaking Mohar Cliffs.

Comfortable beds awaited us after frequenting the 1520 Pub located with adjoining door!
A true gem in the heart of the Latin Quarter. Even though we were facing the street, our room was relatively quiet.
Friendly and helpful staff.
Thank you for the memories and hope to see you soon. Slàinte

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank YolandeT_218
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Curran, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear Yolande,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here in The Residence Hotel! I'm so happy to read how much you enjoyed your time in the hotel and in particular how the 1520 restaurant & bar stood out in providing you with somewhere to relax in style in the evenings during your stay, and that our staff displayed the level of customer service on which we pride ourselves.

The whole team will be delighted to read your comments, and we will all certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2021 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with 5 other couples ,staff were so friendly and very accommodating with tables etc, great location just a step away from bars restaurants and shops only downfall room a bit small would definitely recommend and will return.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dinner428
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia Curran, Guest Services / Front Office at The Residence Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the 5* review. I'm delighted to hear how great everything was during your stay in The Residence Hotel and that our staff displayed the level of customer service on which we pride ourselves.
I'm sorry that you were unhappy with the size of your room but all of our doubles are the same size. Should you visit Galway again reach out to us and we can organise one of our family or triple rooms for you as these are a little roomier.

Looking forward to looking after you again in the future


Warm regards

Julia C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews