We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have been warned - is your car comfy for a nights sleep???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #59 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I was well warned by previous reviewers that the landlady might be difficult but I am still gob smacked a month later.
Firstly I didnt actually stay at the hotel so read no further if thats what you want to know.
I found a reasonable rates on june bank holiday for rooms for our party of 16, we needed 5 rooms one of which would be for a party of 5 - so i checked directly with landlady.
No problem - book direct on my website she said. I have a big familly room - Great I said
Problem - her website rates were 15% higher - an extra €500 for the party overall
(ring ring) No problem I'll send you an email
wait; wait; wait; , (ring again) - sorry very busy - wait; wait; wait;
2 1/2 weeks later - hooray email
thanks for your enquiry, here are my best prices.
She only went and raised her prices on all the websites including her own , now looking for an extra €600 for the group.
HUH???? Is this woman completely [--] nuts!!!!!
Found a different hotel.
Verdict - book the first and best rate you find and be warned, she might not honour the price and she might lose your boking if the other reviews are anything to go by - on your own head be it - you have been warned....... (again)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
Thank Ostman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2008

Both myself and my husband stayed for one night at this over priced B&b. The landlady is sooooooo rude she did not even greet us and seemed unsure if she even had a booking for us. She placed us in a back twin room which needed to be re-modernised with a small packet of shower gel and a bar of soap which reminded me of something from the 80's.

Her dog barked away in the back garden we passed her outside to go out for the evening without a greet.

Would we return........never

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bridthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

This place is an average enough B& B but the landlady is a complete nightmare - avoid at all costs

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank Easygoing064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2007

After doing some research this B&B looked like one of the nicest ones we could find. The address was in Salthill, the beach area of Galway. However, you need to realize that Rusheen Bay is an inlet of the large Galway Bay and is located just north of Salthill. To get to the heart of Salthill you need to drive. I'd recommend a B&B on Upper or Lower Salthill Road or on the Seapoint Promenade near the Tourist Bureau.

Although we did get the Rusheen Bay view room we requested, the services and quality of the B&B were disappointing. The hostess was pleasant, but we seemed 'processed' rather than 'welcomed.'

Our room was decent size and there was plenty of hot water. However, it would have been nice for the B&B to let us know the water in that part of Galway was contaminated and under a 'boil water' order from the city. The B&B did provide bottled water to brush our teeth with and to drink, but knowing this bit of information ahead of time would have been nice, especially since they've known about the situation for a few months.

Probably most disturbing was that fact that upon entering the B&B we felt like a could of cigarette smoke engulfed us. Although the host that welcomed us was smoking in their private quarters it spread throughout the B&B. To make it worse, our room was over their private quarters and the smoke continued to permeate through the floor and into our room. When we went into Salthill that evening, we attempted to find another B&B for our stay, but since it was summer time the other B&B's were booked. We ended up staying for 2 nights at this B&B, but would not return, nor would we recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2007

I have just returned from a trip around the west coast of Ireland. It is a wonderful place to visit, and we stayed with several quality establishments.

Rusheen Bay House is definitely not one of them.

Although the B&B was clean, this was the only thing really going for it. The location is next to a main road. The shower head in our room was broken. There was next to no hot water. And the breakfast was very average.

On top of this, the owner of the B&B was not at all friendly or accommodating.

I would not recommend this B&B to anyone who wants a nice relaxed stay in Galway. There are _loads_ of other B&B's in the area. Any one of them surely cannot be worse than Rusheen Bay House.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phlipside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.7 km away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
4.9 km away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#42 of 189 in Galway
232 reviews
4.9 km away
Asgard Guesthouse
Asgard Guesthouse
#10 of 189 in Galway
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Cashelmara Lodge
Cashelmara Lodge
#29 of 189 in Galway
140 reviews
0.1 km away
Seashore Lodge
Seashore Lodge
#69 of 189 in Galway
82 reviews
12.6 km away
Hillview B&B
Hillview B&B
#4 of 9 in Oranmore
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Rusheen Bay House 8 Cashelmara | Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: €44 - €136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rusheen Bay House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing